We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Midst of the Medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Les Bougainvilliers

Save Saved
You added Riad Les Bougainvilliers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5, derb Ben Amrane | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Midst of the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Would absolutely stay there again and again. This gorgeous little Riad is wonderfully located close to everything in the heart of the Medina. The staff are so accommodating and helpful and went above and beyond to ensure our stay was comfortable, relaxing and truly amazing. The insight the staff gave us into local customs was priceless and allowed us to find the best Marrakech - from food to rugs to bartering, they gave us the tools we needed to avoid the usual tourist pitfalls. So Close to the main square, what really surprises you about this place is the quiet, a perfect antidote to the Medina hustle and bustle. The gorgeous plunge pool is the place to be in the heat of the afternoon and the staff will provide you with all you need (including alcohol if you require). This wonderful Riad and it's staff made our stay in Marrakech amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    41
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
40
109
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent 7 days in this Riad in the heart of Marrakech's Medina during July's top summer heat. We found this beautiful architectural setting the perfect place to relax after wondering about in the Medina. The staff is exceptionally pleasant and discreet. The building very quiet and cool. Coming back to it everyday felt like coming home.
We wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Les chambres au 1er etage sont probablement les plus calmes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

In our two weeks in Morocco this was the best place we stayed in. A brilliant location in the medina close to the main square, the riad was clean, roomy, cool, relaxing, beautifully furnished, and had exceptional staff. The plunge pool was a bonus and provided welcome relief from the June heat. If you have spent hours trawling the internet looking for accommodation you can now relax, your job is here is done :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

we had a wonderful time in marrakech in June 2013. the Riad we stayed in is located in a side-alley off Rue Riad zitoun el Khedim, which leads you to Jamaa el Fnaa in a 5 min walk. whereas the square is really busy, noisy and exciting, it is great to come back to a quiet place with extremely kind and helpful personel. everything was perfect: the room, the bathroom, tasteful dining area, etc.
I would recommend Marrakech and especially Riad les Bougainvilliers to anyone. We had diner in the Riad twice prepared by Hanna which was excellent, and enjoyed the spa. A small pool on the groundfloor and a wonderful spacious rooftop terrace. Moncef guides us to places we could not find on our own...
If (more like WHEN) we go back to marrakech we would definitely choose this hotel again.
Nicolette and 3 friends

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We picked this Riad out after extensive research and it worked out fine. The best thing about this Riad was its location - just a few minutes from El Jamaa square. Also they had a great roof area for sunbathing and rooftop viewing, and a plunge pool at ground level. And it's lovely inside. Plus the staff are really helpful and friendly. Our room was absolutely fine; it was a bit dark due to the nature of a Riad (no outside windows) but was large and the bed was super comfy. I have to say that I was not quite appreciative of the Riad features - one significant one is that noise travels all around the courtyard due to the way they are set up so it can be quite noisy if people are talking in the central area late at night although this was not a major problem. We did not eat here in the evening here so cannot comment on the food really, but I thought breakfast was somewhat limited and a bit boring after a few days.
Note that the directions (from Jemaa el Fna) to the Riad on the website (www.riadlesbougainvilliers.com) are very good - although you need to translate from simple French - fairly easy online. We made our own way to the square and found the Riad quite easily once we had our bearings. What you have to do is find the Cafe Toukbal for the start of the directions - it's to the right of all the rooftop restaurants. And don't expect la rue Riad Zitoun El Kdim through the arch to be a road - it's just a narrow walkway, like a lot of the 'streets' in the medina. So just get a taxi to the square, and it's a few hundred yards from the arch and fairly easy to find with the directions.
At the end of our stay we thought it was a good choice to stay at this Riad, although to be fair we had nothing to compare it with being our first trip. Not sure we would come back to Marrakech; we were somewhat disenchanted by all the people here trying to extract money from you, often on the pretence of being helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

A lovely Riad in the heart of the chaos of Marrakech. A little tricky to find initially - down a twisting narrow alleyway (typical of the old city) - but behind the beautiful door you step into a quiet tastefully decorated courtyard which is a welcome respite from the outside world. Extremely friendly and helpful staff will take care of you and make you feel very welcome. Our twin room was simple but clean and had everything we needed.

I also recommend eating dinner there at least once - we found we did have to make sure we asked to book this at least a few hours in advance, but the food was delicious.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

An excellent find! Everyone could not have been any more helpful. The rooms very comfortable, breakfast delicious. The Riad is just beautiful and in a perfect position to visit any area. A truly relaxing haven within a busy, amazing place. Thank you everyone for making our first trip to Marrekech very memorable.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Les Bougainvilliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Bougainvilliers

Address: 5, derb Ben Amrane | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#67 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#94 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Les Bougainvilliers 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marrakesh 4-star Riad les Bougainvilliers, located in Riad Zitoune Lakdim, only five minutes away from the Djemaa el Fna square, offers a special holiday in Morocco, in one of the country's most enchanting cities, rich in souks, narrow streets, palaces, mosques, handicraft and Islamic Art Museums. Passed the Riad's entrance you will be fascinated by a patio hosting a flowered garden with banana and palm trees. A second patio hosts the swimming pool, while the indoor lounge and the terrace offer the ideal atmosphere to read a book and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Riad Les Bougainvilliers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Bougainvilliers Hotel Marrakech
Riad Les Bougainvilliers Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Les Bougainvilliers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.