We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kindness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samsara

Save Saved
You added Riad Samsara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Samsara
6, Derb El Aarsa | Tarzout -Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #37 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“kindness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We never stayed in this Riad but we just have good words to say about it and about the people who run it.
My husband and I were in Marrakech two weeks ago. We arrived at the Medina around 8 pm. It was a dark, cold and rainy evening. We got lost and some teenagers approched trying to get a few dirhams from us it they led us to the hotel. In the end, there were the four of us who were completely lost in the small alleys of the Median. And, by mistake, we knocked on this Riad door. It wasn´t our Riad but they took us in as if it was. They shoo away our "guides" and treated us as a customers, offering green tea while they were calling our Riad and asked them to come to pick us up. They were very very kind to us. And, what we could see from the Riad, the hotel was just amazing. Next time we go to Marraesh, we will stay there. No doubt about it! Highly recommended..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dears,

We would like to thank you for your lovely comment that you have posted regarding us on Trip advisor

We really appreciated it, we too were very pleased to provide you our help

We wish we welcome you during your next vacation in Marrakech, it would be a great honor to have you among us for the next time

A very warm greetings from Marrakech

Khadija for Mrs Jacqueline Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
84
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

A very special place to rest in Marrakech.
Miss. Jacqueline, Kadjia, Miluda and all the staff make you fell really at home taking care of you!
The three rooms at first floor are simply delicious as are comfortable the two saloon and beautiful the courtyard in the middle of them.
We've been there twice and we'll be back soon...
Umberto

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Umberto,

Thank you very much for your great comments about our Riad.
We are delighted that you had a great time with us

You too you were such a very nice and friendly people and we as well have enjoyed your stay with us
Thank you again for choosing our Riad for your holidays in Marrakech and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you next time and count you among our many loyal customers

With deep respect

Khadija for Mrs Jacqueline Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our family spent 4 nights at Riad Samsara over Christmas. It was a wonderful experience. The place is magical.

We were warmly welcomed by Malouda ( the cook) and Khadija and immediately felt at home. The Riad was extremely elegant but unpretentious. The attention to detail in its daily operations ( and its furnishings) was impressive. And the food that Malouda prepared was to die for. - best leg of lamb I have ever had and the vegetables were cooked to perfection. The staff were extremely attentive to our needs, highly professional and respectful of our privacy. The rooms were spacious, private and comfortable. We would not hesitate to return. We have stayed in many top hotels over the years. I rank Rhiad Samsara up there with the best in terms of service, food, and comfort.

After spending four nights in Rhiad Samsara we ventured to Imlil valley about an hour and a half by car south of Marrakesh in the high Atlas mountains and stayed at douar Samara. All our transportation had been arranged through Khadija at Rhiad Samsara. Everything went like clock work. Our stay at douar Samra for 3 nights was also great. The flavor of douar Samra is more rustic than Samsara but with the same quality of service and attention to detail. Fireplaces in our room were lit while we were at dinner. And the food was again excellent. The rooms were warm, cozy and comfortable and the terraces/balconies off the rooms offered breathtaking views of the valley. The stars at night were spectacular. Mohammed was very kind, friendly and hardworking as were all the staff.


Hats off to all the staff at Rhiad Samsara (including Jade the cat) and douar Samara who made our family trip to Morocco so enjoyable and memorable. What remarkable places to stay.

Mark Wilson, Carol Hunter, Kate Wilson

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Mark,
First of all, we are delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you very much for the great feedback on our Riad (staff, service, restaurant, room quality ...).

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you next time at Riad Samsara Marrakech.

A very warm greetings from Marrakech

Khadija for Mrs Jacqueline Brandt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed for three nights Dec 16-18 2013. It was perfect, the proportions of the riad are exceptional and everywhere you find careful restoration and well chosen antiques, You feel that you are in the Caliph's guest quarters. The service from Milouda and Khadija was first class, Bravo to Jacqueline for creating this lovely place to stay. Don't hesitate to come when the weather is colder. There is nothing more romantic than an open fire in your bedroom!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Manager at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Nigel,

We would like to thank you for your kind words on the TRIP ADVISOR. It’s always a joy to hear that a guest had a wonderful stay with us and we are thrilled you loved our Riad SAMSARA .
You too were a such a very nice and friendly people, and we were very pleased to have you among us
Thank you again and we truly hope to welcome you back again one day soon!

Khadija for Mrs Jacqueline BRANDT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london baby
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I'm not sure how to put into words how special both riad samsara and douar samra are. The places themselves are beautiful, compelling and welcoming and the people and very much the same.
Jacqueline has done an amazing job of creating these inviting places with her love and energy, she is an extraordinary women who has made these places homes to everyone who enters. The people she has helped along the way with her friendship and employment is endearing and inspiring.
I have stayed in riad samsara 4 times and douar samra 3, each time who ever joins me falls equally in love with these places.
Riad samsara is a beautiful reconstructed riad in the northern area of Marrakech old town, the location feels like a welcoming local experience and is about a ten minute walk from the square. Milouda's mint tea is amazing and if you stay for dinner the courtyard and adjoining rooms are turned into a magical candlit setting with lovely food.
Douar samra is set in the Atlas Mountains which is such a peaceful, calming place to be which instantly bring a new perspective and rejuvenating feeling. Rachida is an amazing cook and will help you arrange any sort of walk, hamman, bike ride you might like to do. Mohammed will welcoming you with his charm and brilliant sense of humour. And then there the little puppies ... Soooo cute! I've seen everyone enjoy themselves here from young couples, families with children and those enjoying retirement.
I hope this inspires to people to visit both samsara and samra and hopefully be as touched, by both the places and people, as much as i have.
Xx

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Manager at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hello Katy,
Thank you for taking time to review your stays with us. We're thrilled to learn that each time you visit us you just fall in love with our places Riad SAMSARA & Douar SAMRA,
Jacqueline is very deeply touched at heart for lavishing her with praise
You are not just a faithful clients for us, you are considered as dear friends,
Thank you again for your generous reveiw very nice of you to take time for us to dedicate these precious words on trip advisor

We hope to welcome you back again promptly
Khadija for Mrs Jacqueline BRANDT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is a truly beautiful Riad. Lovingly restored by the owner, Jacqueline Brandt, with exquisite taste and to the highest standard, this is a luxurious haven of peace and tranquility in the heart of Marrakech.

Arriving from Jacqueline's other property, the Douar Samra in the High Atlas (a perfect place to stay in the mountains) we immediately received a very warm welcome from Jacqueline and her staff.

After a lovely lunch on the roof terrace (the food here is very good indeed), Jacqueline gave us lots of helpful advice about how to find our way around the Medina and where to visit. She then took us out to get our bearings and having asked her about shopping without haggling, she kindly showed us a tucked away shop (more like an Aladdin's cave!) where you can buy just about anything Moroccan for the home - fixed price.

The Riad is in a good location in the northern part of the Medina, away from the busiest part but just twenty minutes walk from the centre. The nearest taxis are a couple of minutes walk away and the beautiful Jardin Majorelle is within walking distance.

The two evening meals we had in the Riad were superb and the Riad was transformed for us into a beautiful candle and lamp lit palace for the most romantic dining experience imaginable.

Everything about this Riad is to the highest standard, exceptional value and the perfect base from which to both explore and relax from the wonders of Marrakech.

Thank you Jacqueline and everyone at the Riad Samsara. We shall return!

Mike & Anna
Suffolk, England

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Manager at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear
Thank you for choosing to stay at Riad SAMSARA and for sharing your experience on the TRIP ADVISOR
we are really touched by your review, you can not imagine how happy we are to have these generous words about our establishment on the tripadvisor
Thank you to value us, we too were very pleased to have you
Your review has been shown to all members of our team, and that made them greatly pleased, we guarantee to stay always up to your valuation
and we hope to have you for once again very soon
A very warm regards from allover Riad SAMSARA staff
Khadija for Mrs Jacqueline BRANDT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Loved it once inside, Great atmosphere , Lovely food but slightly dodgy pitch but then again I like the edginess but others might not...
Would recommend highly

BTW there is no pool or fitness but can't refresh score so please ignore

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are glad that you had the opportunity to come and experience our Riad SAMSARA, and thank you for the high praise and score here on Tripadvisor. we really appreciate it

We also thank you for sharing your comment. Please be assured that the importance of attention to detail and the entire experience of all our guests is held in evenly high esteem.

And as you have mentioned as a title of your review REAL RIAD,that's what we provide to our clients a relaxing vacation at a real spirit of a traditional Moroccan Riad without SPA or swimming pool


We wish you will join us again therefore we will have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future.

With deep respect

Khadija for Mrs Jacqueline BRANDT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Samsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samsara

Address: 6, Derb El Aarsa | Tarzout -Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Samsara is a traditional riad, full of charm, quietly nestled close to the heart of the bustling Medina. Jacqueline, your hostess, welcomes those travellers in search of an authentic experience, to her meticulously hand-renovated palace. The three opulent bedrooms each have their own individual style and are full of small touches to make your stay extra special.One of the most beautiful and original homes in Marrakech. Tailored for personal service and space, this is your own secluded sanctuary, a home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and T4B so you can book your Riad Samsara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samsara Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Samsara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.