We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful stay in a beautiful Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samsara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Samsara to your Saves list
Riad Samsara
6, Derb El Aarsa | Tarzout -Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #19 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A Wonderful stay in a beautiful Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Jacqueline, the mad but lovable owner of Riad Samsara, welcomed us with open arms after arranging our airport transfer. She has owned the Riad for over a decade and has succeeded in turning it from a tumbledown ruin to a beautiful place of calm amid a fairly hectic city. The staff are very friendly and produce delicious food for breakfast and supper if requested. The Riad is quite a walk from the main square (about 20 mins quick walk) so we got fairly lost on day one but that is all part of the Marrakech experience! After 3 nights we headed to her other property, Douar Samra, in the mountains for two nights. Again Jacqueline organised the transfer and we had a wonderful tie there too (I would thoroughly recommend it for a couple of nights). All in all we had a great stay in this beautiful Riad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, Milouda and the SAMSARA Riad ladies send you our best regards Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
117
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the Riad Samsara after spending several days at Douar Samra in the mountains ( review to follow) and what a luxurious treat. Centrally placed and a fantastic base for exploring, the riad is beautifully decorated, a tranquil oasis and once inside you feel as though you don't ever want to leave. Isabelle was such a gem and truly looked after us, provided top tips and as another reviewer commented she even walks guests through the medina to help with bearings. Our transfers were all taken care of and it took all the stress out of travelling. We just turned up and went into complete relaxation mode. Delicious food was prepared by Milouda and the other ladies in the house with the big smiles- thank you to you all! Finally, thank you to Jacqueline we had such a lovely time and we think you're just wonderful.

.

Room Tip: Only 3- return and try them all we say!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Lyndsley, all the ladies of Riad SAMSARA send you lots of love, we are our SAMSARA Princess. Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed for a couple of nights after enjoying the beautiful Atlas Mountains and Jacqueline's other property there. The riad is authentic with beautiful quality furnishings and linens. Our hostess was Isabelle who looked after us very well, even walking us through the maze of streets to the centre of the souks. Marrakech is a bit of a nightmare to navigate around with little or no signage so we had to learn the route between the Square and the riad by heart!

The staff at the riad were charming too and we felt very relaxed and safe behind the small riad door. Breakfast was served either in the inner courtyard or one of the side rooms and consisted of different breads, jams, tea/coffee, orange juice and fruit. All was lovely but maybe lacked a little imagination.

I would say that the riad is located a very good walk away from the centre so be prepared for lots of exercise. We did take a taxi back (15drm) from the square area to Bab Turzhout, 5 mins walk from the riad, which worked well. I would also say that the area felt more edgy at night when the shops had closed and the streets had emptied but nothing happened, it just felt less friendly somehow.

Isabelle arranged the transfer to the airport for us and evrything about our stay was hassle-free, friendly and a delight.

All in all a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: WIth only 3 rooms you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your nice review, it makes all of us very happy. Hope to see you soon at Riad SAMSARA. Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our family immediately felt at home here. We came in to Marrakech after a day and a 1/2 camel trek and camping experience. We were hungry, cold and damp. The staff at the Riad Samsara welcomed us with mint tea and the offer to grab us sandwiches from down the street. We were stunned by the beauty and peacefulness of the Riad and of its staff. The rooms are beautifully decorated and accommodated our family of 4 very well. For the first 2 nights, we shared the Riad with another family of 4, and we never once felt crowded. We enjoyed 2 fascinating traditional Moroccan dinners and 4 amazing breakfasts at the Riad Samsara. If you are to stay here, be sure you stay in one night and have dinner cooked for you. The Riad is a perfect walking distance to the main tourist attractions, but far enough away to be able to remove yourself and enjoy a peaceful afternoon before heading out again in the evening. You will feel pampered and well taken care of when you stay at the Riad Samsara.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Beautiful Family, Samsara Riad was full of happiness with all children, it was a pleasure to welcome you. Thank you for your visit in Morocco Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have recently returned from a fantastic holiday in Morocco. I'm really glad we chose to stay with Jaqueline in her lovely riad. We were greeted like old friends as soon as we arrived. The riad is beautiful and calm and quiet which was perfect. We spent our days exploring Marrakech as it's an easy walk to the Ville Nouvelle area and jamaa el fna and souks. We would return to the riad in the late afternoons. The food prepared by Milouda is fantastic and we found that nothing was too much trouble.
Jaqueline really helped us to plan our trip and was really helpful whilst we were in Morocco. I would highly recommend this riad and I would love to return - maybe next time with the children.
We went on to spent four nights in Jaqueline's douar in the High Atlas mountains which was also fantastic. It was a really easy yet different holiday. I loved it.

Room Tip: we stayed in Jacaranda which was lovely but all the rooms looked good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear nice friends, you are adorable, thank you so much for your smiles and kindness, all staff send you lots of love. Hope to see you soon in Morocco Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I really travel a lot but I have never lived in such a beautiful, authentic house with so lovely staff. It's usually not possible to recover from work in only one week, however, at Riad Samsara it is. I felt like being a family member; very wormly welcome and being cared for by very attentive staff and naturally Jacqueline, the owner. Milouda, houskeeper and cook, is amazing. She cooks like a God; real moroccan and as you'd eat at home.

What I really liked most, apart from everything, were the dulcet oriental smells of the oil lamps which made me feel like living in the 1001 Nights tales. If I have had the possibility, I had stayed much longer than I booked in advance. And I will definitively stay longer than five days the next time! I really miss the Modus Vivendi at Riad Samsara, I miss Jacqueline and Milouda. Hope to see you all soon again.

Thank you once again for the charming and magic experience in this beautiful oasis!

By the way: Why does TripAdvisor not have six-star-rating???

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Yva et Yvo, You are our star, our Princess, thank you for your kindness. All staff send you lots of love...... Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Enter Riad Samsara to peace and perfection. Stayed in 2 of the 3 luscious rooms each uniquely decorated in the best Moroccan style . . . big beds with quality linens and piles of pillows, generous bathrooms with lustrous tadelakt walls of lapis and burgundy and interesting original art on the walls. Jacqueline and her staff are the ‘hostesses with the mostest’ - nothing too much trouble - the merest mention had them running to the market to buy fruit. Thanks to previous Trip Advisors - be met at the airport by taxi, have a first night’s meal at the riad and go armed with a good map of Marrakesh and a compass.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Next time, you have to stay longer, thank you for your adorable words on Riad SAMSARA, you have a house in Marrakech now !!! Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#9 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#2 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#40 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Samsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samsara

Address: 6, Derb El Aarsa | Tarzout -Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Samsara is a traditional riad, full of charm, quietly nestled close to the heart of the bustling Medina. Jacqueline, your hostess, welcomes those travellers in search of an authentic experience, to her meticulously hand-renovated palace. The three opulent bedrooms each have their own individual style and are full of small touches to make your stay extra special.One of the most beautiful and original homes in Marrakech. Tailored for personal service and space, this is your own secluded sanctuary, a home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Samsara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samsara Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Samsara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.