We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living like in the 1001 Nights tales” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samsara

Save Saved
You added Riad Samsara to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Samsara
6, Derb El Aarsa | Tarzout -Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #33 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Living like in the 1001 Nights tales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I really travel a lot but I have never lived in such a beautiful, authentic house with so lovely staff. It's usually not possible to recover from work in only one week, however, at Riad Samsara it is. I felt like being a family member; very wormly welcome and being cared for by very attentive staff and naturally Jacqueline, the owner. Milouda, houskeeper and cook, is amazing. She cooks like a God; real moroccan and as you'd eat at home.

What I really liked most, apart from everything, were the dulcet oriental smells of the oil lamps which made me feel like living in the 1001 Nights tales. If I have had the possibility, I had stayed much longer than I booked in advance. And I will definitively stay longer than five days the next time! I really miss the Modus Vivendi at Riad Samsara, I miss Jacqueline and Milouda. Hope to see you all soon again.

Thank you once again for the charming and magic experience in this beautiful oasis!

By the way: Why does TripAdvisor not have six-star-rating???

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Yva et Yvo, You are our star, our Princess, thank you for your kindness. All staff send you lots of love...... Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
87
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Enter Riad Samsara to peace and perfection. Stayed in 2 of the 3 luscious rooms each uniquely decorated in the best Moroccan style . . . big beds with quality linens and piles of pillows, generous bathrooms with lustrous tadelakt walls of lapis and burgundy and interesting original art on the walls. Jacqueline and her staff are the ‘hostesses with the mostest’ - nothing too much trouble - the merest mention had them running to the market to buy fruit. Thanks to previous Trip Advisors - be met at the airport by taxi, have a first night’s meal at the riad and go armed with a good map of Marrakesh and a compass.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Next time, you have to stay longer, thank you for your adorable words on Riad SAMSARA, you have a house in Marrakech now !!! Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We loved staying at Riad Samsara, a beautiful and peaceful place to stay after exploring the busy streets of the Medina. Decorated with great style, this was all that we had hoped for in a Marrakech riad. Many thanks Jacqueline!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you lovely Fiona for these so kind words, all staff send you lots of kisses Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Jacqueline has lovingly decorated this Riad in traditional style, it is beautiful and feels like you have entered another world when you step through the huge wooden door. She welcomes you like an old friend and offers mint tea and gave us our own key to come and go as we pleased.We stayed 2 nights then went on a trip to the Atlas mountains and desert and back to J`s for 1 night before heading home.It was worth coming back for another of Milouda`s breakfasts, she arrives with fresh oranges and bread every morning.We used a compass to go south to El Fna square and north back to the Riad, it is a fascinating walk through the narrow passages, we did visit the new part of town but preferred being inside the medina walls where time seems to have stood still.Would definitely stay here again and visit another of J`s properties too. It was very easy to email to book and choose our room, thankyou Jacqueline.Susan & Cem

Room Tip: We chose Jacaranda with aircon as it was cold in december.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your kindness, our pleasure is making you feeling home. Hope to welcome you longer ..... Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

A magical atmosphere… Jacqueline offers an extremely welcoming and friendly atmosphere. Our room had welcoming rose petals on the towels. The rooms are wonderfully furnished and decorated. The location is ideal, situated in the heart of the ancient medina. It really felt like our home and the delicious breakfast and evening meals were the most memorable. The roof terrace was a sun trap most of the day. Afternoon mint tea on the terrace a delight. would definitely recommend riad - outstanding!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Friends, thank you to take time to write so nice words, it makes all staff very happy. We hope to welcome you very soon in Morocco Very kind regards Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Riad Samsara is a real oasis - beautifully decorated with gorgeous public space and a wonderful introduction to the architecture of Marrakesh. The rooms are exquisite - Jacqueline has wonderful taste. My only concern is the location. To walk from the riad to the central market and bazaar area of Marrakesh takes at least 40 minutes and that is if you don't get lost. We found it impossible to find our way back at 930pm and had to pay someone to guide us back, and even he got lost and then it was quite intimidating to arrive back with a tribe of young kids all demanding money for guiding us. The area where the riad is located is very quiet and very local. This is good and bad. There are few tourists around. No one had mentioned this issue of distance and difficulty to navigate in any of the reviews I read. The property needs much better signage and a much better map.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your so kind review about us, you are right, the old city is a " LABYRINTHE " ......so magical to discover walking ! that is part of the charm of the North African cities. Very kind regards Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

It is hard to explain when you come across something so perfect.
And to do so would spoil it for others so i will keep this short and let you experience it for yourself we stayed in jacquelines berber village house and the riad in marrakesh and both places felt like home you are treated like you have been away for a while and welcomed back with open arms.
as for jacqueline you could not ask for a better host and makes you wish that she was part of your family.

We are already making arrangments to return but this time four of us and i dont normally like to
ever go to the same place twice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear John, Of course you'll come back !!! you have two houses now in Morocco. Thank you so much for your kindness and lots of love from Morocco. Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Samsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samsara

Address: 6, Derb El Aarsa | Tarzout -Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Samsara is a traditional riad, full of charm, quietly nestled close to the heart of the bustling Medina. Jacqueline, your hostess, welcomes those travellers in search of an authentic experience, to her meticulously hand-renovated palace. The three opulent bedrooms each have their own individual style and are full of small touches to make your stay extra special.One of the most beautiful and original homes in Marrakech. Tailored for personal service and space, this is your own secluded sanctuary, a home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and T4B so you can book your Riad Samsara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samsara Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Samsara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.