We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So peaceful, friendly and enjoyable !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samarkand

Save Saved
You added Riad Samarkand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Samarkand
41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 1,043 Marrakech B&B and Inns
carquefou
1 review
“So peaceful, friendly and enjoyable !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

So peaceful, friendly and enjoyable !
This is a place to recommend to our friends.
A special thanks Cyril to answered all our questions.
We cannot wait to return.
Tristan from carquefou in L.A. (Loire atlantique ! :-))

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
82
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

This place is a true hidden gem, and great value for the money. Cyril and the staff are extremely helpful. When the wi-fi didn't work, Cyril even allowed me to use his office whenever I wanted. Cyril arranged a wonderful guide for us who gave us a spectacular day tour of Marrakech. Perhaps most importantly, you get to stay in the heart of the vibrant city without the saccharine barrier of a massive western hotel. Truly lovely.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Samarkand. Cyril is really kind and helped us in many ways getting orriented in the craziness of marrakech. They have very good taste - the riad is stylish, impeccably clean, calm, and altogether well done. A bit tough to find at first but once you get it, the location is good.

Also - some of the only softish beds we slept on in 10 days in Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

More than perfect. Our trip to Marrakech would not have been a success had we stay elsewhere. I was told by a friend who had travelled Morocco extensively to stay in a Riad within the Medina, he was right. I would never have imagined being able to experience such a different culture first hand to the extent we did. We found the listing for Riad Samarkand on many luxury travel sites, as well as on Trip Advisor, so we felt confident in booking the whole Riad (5 rooms) for our group for our week business trip in Marrakech. From the arrival at the airport ,when a driver was waiting for us, to the final good-bye when we left at 5:30 am and Cyril, the manager, accompanied us to the car, we were all treated like Royalty by the many staff members. Each staff member is professional, dressed in uniform (Caftan) and very helpful and pleasant. Each room is very spacious (very high ceilings and large windows as well) and beautifully furnished with typical Moroccan furnishings. The Riad has been restored to its original splendor with all modern conveniences (including WIFI that we all used as most of us were on business and had our laptops) all the while keeping its stunning architectural details (too many to list - but do notice the ingenious ancient hardware on the room doors that allows you to choose the size of the opening). There are also many common areas indoors (living rooms, sitting areas, dining room) and outdoors, including 3 terraces on the roof that we much enjoyed. The layout proved to be most perfect as everyone had their own privacy all the while being able to find common areas for sub-groups to meet and discuss without bothering or restricting those who needed to work or wanted to relax. Breakfast varies from day to day and includes local breads, pastries and jams, yogurt, home made fruit salad, freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee, hot milk, etc and is served at the hour you request. You can pretty much ask for whatever you need. Drinks , hot and cold, as well as snacks are available throughout the day and at reasonable prices. We organized lunch for our clients twice at the Riad. Both times the Riad's cook (who has a beautiful singing voice by the way) made a light and tasty typical meal with a fresh salad and a beautiful piece of fresh poached glazed fruit for dessert ( pear the first day, white peach the second ). One night we hosted a diner at the Riad including local wines. All our guest much appreciated the opportunity to visit a Riad and the break from the hustle and bustle of the convention's main venue which was the Sofitel. I used the pool nearly every day. A perfect lap pool size. Those of us who used it brought the measure of the pool home hoping to fit a similar one in our back yards. The garden is beautifully maintained and is home to many birds. The staff even put fresh roses in the water fountain. Cyril, the manager was on hand throughout our stay and arranged all our needs from booking a driver and giving him detailed instructions where to bring us on our day off outside Marrakech, to making diner reservations and hair appointments. We will all truly miss this beautiful Riad and the excellent service. I really cannot imagine finding a better place to stay, it was magical. We had the opportunity to visit the many 5 star hotels in Marrakech as most of the other delegates were staying in them. They are fine but most are modern constructions and have been done quite economically. If you have a bit of a sense of adventure and want to get a feel for the culture and way of life in Marracheck, I recommend that you stay in the Medina in a Riad, Actually I srongly recommend you stay in the prestine Riad Samarkand.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFran
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Tough to reserve a place via web pictures so we had some trepidation when we booked the Riad Samarkand. We were hoping for a special place. Took about a minute for our worries to float away and for us to relax and enjoy this wonderful place to stay and its superlative staff. Our flight arrived three hours late but the arranged driver from the Riad was patiently waiting there and gave us a good indoctrination to the area on the drive in. He helped take our bags down the winding pathways of the Medina that became very familiar to us in the days ahead. Arriving around 10pm with two tired children in tow, Cyril met us and walked us to a main street where it was easy to find a restaurant for our hungry group. Each day he patiently answered dozens of our questions, got us dinner reservations and gave us some welcome insight to the city. The next 4 days were filled with wandering with breaks to lounge by the pool in the heat of the day. We were there in July of 2010 - a hot month to visit for sure but not enough to deter us in the least. Our 7 and 9 year old kids lounged by the ample sized pool, on our private balcony or on the rooftop terrace. Plenty of room inside the Samarkand suite for all of us. Air conditioning made sleeping very comfortable and the bathroom is luxurious. The design of the entire Riad is fantastic.
Breakfasts were a perfect start to the day - strong coffee, fresh fruits and delicious breads. If only we had more time to stay and enjoy the place. With favorable winds, we will be back to Marrakech and surely stay at the Riad Samarkand once again. Thanks to all there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

That was for the time we were going to Marrakech. The city was big. First of all We were surprised by the atmosphere of the medina. Then thanks to cyril ‘s advises and his presence, we got familiarised very quickly with the city’s atmosphere . The breakfast served on a terrace wa anouncing the beginning of a shining and colourfull day. We hope to return there soon as three days of stay were short to really discoverthe the city. The riad is a real piece of heaven in contrast with the tumult of medina. We strongly recommend it to every one a tour to Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vught, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

Last week we stayed in Riad Samarkand. We considered several high-end places in Marrakech such as La Mamounia, les jardins de Koutoubia and Palais Rhoul. In the end we opted for Samarkand as it was fairly small, personal, and in the heart of the Medina.

Riad Samarkand proved to be an excellent choice and a great place to stay. The welcome was warm and the approach personal and customer oriented. Everything appeared possible; the staff was willing to serve meals and drinks in the room, at the pool-side, on the terrace or near the open fire. Prices were fair. Hammam treatments and massages were arranged upon our request. Our room/suite was furnished with a king size bed, and with unique chairs and paintings. The ceiling was hand-painted, the bathroom ceiling was dome-shaped and made of tadelakt. Altogether the room looked like a room in an art museum.

At night, the riad was very quiet. We could not believe we were in the middle of town. The only drawback was the fact that the riad could only be reached through a range of small alleys. However, and to our suprise, these alleys proved to be extremely safe, even at night. And for those who still do not feel comfortable, please note that the taxi drivers are happy to accompany you to the riad's front door if you want (do this when you arrive from the airport!). All in all, we recommend this riad whole-heartedly and will certainly go back to Samarkand if we visit Marrakech again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Samarkand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samarkand

Address: 41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 1,043 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Samarkand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samarkand Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Samarkand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.