We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing riad !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samarkand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Riad Samarkand to your Saves list
Riad Samarkand
41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 1,066 Marrakech B&B and Inns
dublin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing riad !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

That was for the time we were going to Marrakech. The city was big. First of all We were surprised by the atmosphere of the medina. Then thanks to cyril ‘s advises and his presence, we got familiarised very quickly with the city’s atmosphere . The breakfast served on a terrace wa anouncing the beginning of a shining and colourfull day. We hope to return there soon as three days of stay were short to really discoverthe the city. The riad is a real piece of heaven in contrast with the tumult of medina. We strongly recommend it to every one a tour to Marrakech.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
85
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vught, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

Last week we stayed in Riad Samarkand. We considered several high-end places in Marrakech such as La Mamounia, les jardins de Koutoubia and Palais Rhoul. In the end we opted for Samarkand as it was fairly small, personal, and in the heart of the Medina.

Riad Samarkand proved to be an excellent choice and a great place to stay. The welcome was warm and the approach personal and customer oriented. Everything appeared possible; the staff was willing to serve meals and drinks in the room, at the pool-side, on the terrace or near the open fire. Prices were fair. Hammam treatments and massages were arranged upon our request. Our room/suite was furnished with a king size bed, and with unique chairs and paintings. The ceiling was hand-painted, the bathroom ceiling was dome-shaped and made of tadelakt. Altogether the room looked like a room in an art museum.

At night, the riad was very quiet. We could not believe we were in the middle of town. The only drawback was the fact that the riad could only be reached through a range of small alleys. However, and to our suprise, these alleys proved to be extremely safe, even at night. And for those who still do not feel comfortable, please note that the taxi drivers are happy to accompany you to the riad's front door if you want (do this when you arrive from the airport!). All in all, we recommend this riad whole-heartedly and will certainly go back to Samarkand if we visit Marrakech again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

after extensive research into finding the right riad for me and my family, i stumbled upon riad samarkand which from the website pictures seemed like a mini-paradise set amongst the streets of old marrakesh
we were not let down - everything from the email correspondance to the warm welcoming and complete 24hr service was beyond our expectations.
the riad is flawless, it is unique in its style and decor. a lovely pool in the main piazza which my 2 small children were constantly swimming in. the staff including the amazing taariq were always at hand for whatever we needed (juice, food, cleaning, directions, problems in the streets outside of the riad etc etc)
our room was more like an apartment suite. constantly cleaned and re-freshed.

overall, i can safely say that samarkand gave us a memorable experience and we will be returning to it in the future

if there is a negative, its only that its about a 10minute walk to the main square and also the location is a little tedious to find, but once you know the route its not a problem, infact from walking in the tight alleys of the medina and into the entrance of the riad is an experience in itself.
enjoy!

  • Liked — everything.
  • Disliked — a little far from the main square
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

Superb Riad. Once you go through the main entrance door, a new world away from Marrakech's busy city. The riad is luxurious yet not ostentatious (not necessarily obvious among the luxurious riads in Marrakech): large rooms with high ceilings, great furniture with a good taste for history/local art-craft. Despite previous reviews, we did not feel that the neighborhood was noisy. Yes, there are muezzins calling for the pray... but you are in Marrakech ! and it did not bother us. The riad's staff is efficient and discrete. Ask for a diner on the rook terrace. Go for the couscous !!! We could not find any better (and we have been searching...). The view is magnificent. Un vrai havre de paix. Pierre et Angela (June 2008)

  • Liked — the decoration
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2008

We arrived at this Riad without our luggage and several hours late - the car organised by them was waiting for us as was a warm welcome. We were there for our 25th wedding anniversary and apart from helping out with endless calls to the airport and airline, Kenza looked after us splendidly, with suggestions on where to eat and what to do, never mind organising a taxi for us to pick up our errant luggage (in the middle of a taxi strike) and personally driving us to the railway station at the end of our stay.

This Riad is well located and acts as a haven of peace and serenity whenever you've had enough of the trials and tribulations that can afflict a day in Marrakech. We stayed in the Damas suite which had a traditional recessed seating area as well as a fabulous bathroom.

If you want top quality service in a spacious Riad with possibly the nicest hidden garden in Morocco then this is the place for you

  • Liked — Huge room with high ceiling and fabulous bath - rare in Marrakech
  • Disliked — Narrow stairs
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

We arrived at the Riad down a tiny street to be welcomed by the beautiful Kenza. After tea and pastries we relaxed on the terrace overllooking the rooftops of Marrakech....I could gabble on for pages about the helpfulness, kindness etc all in all this was the break from England I needed so badly and it ticked all the boxes..Thank you Kenza and your wonderful staff for looking after us girls.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St AlbansHertsUK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

Riad Samarkand is an oasis of tranquil and stylish opulence in the heart of the medina - like staying at the home of a rich friend. The first time 'wow' moment as you enter through the unmarked door in a high wall (after a walk through labyrinthine alleys having passed a vivid tapestry of bustling shops, dodged donkeys and mopeds, inhaled charcoal smoke and spices and been chirpily greeted by dozens of children) is extraordinary.

Inside it is all as the excellent web site depicts. Delightful staff waft you to your authentic room; oozing lavish period style, beautifully furnished, authentic in every detail and clean as a new pin. Nothing is too much trouble. After a day of drinking in the sights and sounds of Marrakech, a mint tea by the pool among the courtyard palms and a laze on a sun bed, by the pool or on the roof terrace, is a real tonic. Meals are delicious and drinks of all sorts shimmered to wherever you happen to be when thirst strikes. In the evening candle lanterns create a wonderful ambience under the stars.

Kenza is the perfect hostess. She arranged a fantastic trip to the mountains for us, booked restaurants and even arranged a quick visit to the doctors when my ear got blocked! Like all members of the Riad team, she is unobtrusive but ever helpful. Kenza's English is superb (and of course several other languages).

We would recommend the Riad Samarkand without reservation for anyone seeking a restful or romantic break, with the adventure of an exotic North African city on your doorstep.

  • Liked — The authentic style, warm welcome and contrast with the bustling surroundings
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Samarkand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samarkand

Address: 41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 1,066 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Samarkand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samarkand Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Samarkand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.