We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samarkand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Samarkand to your Saves list
Riad Samarkand
41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 1,092 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Riad Samarkand is in a great location with easy accessibility to cooking classes at Maison Arabe, wonderful lunches at Terrraces des epices and Le Jardin, shopping in the souks and taxis to take you out of the Medina.

Our room was beautifully decorated, spacious, quiet, with cool breezes and great air conditioning. We enjoyed our breakfasts on the terrace and our dinners there were delicious. And perhaps best of all, the Riad manager Pierre was very helpful, responsive, available and a pleasure to deal with.

We would be very happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
90
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Such a wonderful place ! Everything here is made and done for your pleasure and comfort.
The place is quiet, beautiful, refined in every detail. Every room is differently decorated, with great taste and carefully chosen furniture and great bathrooms. We were on a family trip, which is nice, because booking the four rooms turn the place into a private house with all due service, but could appreciate that the ryad can also be nice for lovers as well as for bachelors, agreable in hot and cold seasons and even for a working retreat ! Pierre-Yves's reception is most warm, considerate and helpful to find where to go and what to see in town.
Food is healthy, carefully cooked, so good that we prefered to dine there, probably one of the best fooding in town.
The garden is peacefull with palmtrees, flowers, roses and a little pool where to refresh and swim around.
What else ?We are thankfull to the friends who told us about Ryad Smarkand and won't miss to be back in winter! Just don't miss to experience this little paradise, one of the best place we saw in Morocco and elsewhere in the world... and we travel a lot...

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and quiete, but the Samarkand is the most sumptuos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Very kind and courteous staff make this tranquil riad a real pleasure to stay in. My friend and I had a spacious twin room overlooking the courtyard, and felt that we had the place to ourselves. We chilled out by the plunge pool every afternoon (watched by the resident tortoises) and it was wonderfully peaceful.

Everything works and it's nicely finished and furnished. Nothing more to say!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

End May 2014 visit for 1 week - 2 x 50-somethings on yet another anniversary/birthday jaunt.

Simply, Riad Smarkand provided a great base for sampling both the old and new in Marrakech plus a day out to the coast (Essaouira) - our driver (Haj) was excellent throughout the day.

Staff at Samarkand are polite, helpful and superbly managed by Pierre, who is always available to advise and assist but has the happy knack of simultaneously allowing privacy in this lush oasis !

The plaudits could go on for a while but to skip through it :
- room (Mazagran Suite) was spacious, clean, air-conditioned and mysteriously tended to/made up every day (we were never disturbed and didn't see the staff once!) - the terrace on this suite catches the late afternoon sun at the best time of the day - why am I telling you this ??!
- in-house evening food was excellent, traditional Moroccan salads, tagines etc; breakfast is a must and 'bespoke'
- Pierre always on hand to advise on local restaurants, cocktail bars, arrange transport, directions etc - fantastic help !
- the pool nestles unobtrusively in the gardens and provides welcome cooling during the mid-afternoon.
- the tortoises in the garden are entertaining in a very laid back way, although the morning chorus of birds at first light (6am) provided a more startling introduction to the day (if the distant call to prayer didn't nudge you an hour earlier). We certainly felt caught up in the sights and sounds of Marrakech - which is really why we came !!
- finally, and perhaps critically, all staff must have been rigorously trained in the production and presentation of THE BEST GIN AND TONICS this side of Harry's Bar ! They were 'epic', as Mr Winner would say.

Although our bill paid testament to the lure of the G&Ts (Hi Tariq), value for money is excellent and we had a sometimes relaxing, sometimes intrepid, sometimes cultural immersion into Marrakech and its environs - cannot fault it !

Thanks again to all at Samarkand (I did tell Pierre that I wouldn't write this - these discoveries should really be kept to oneself !!).

Paul & Judith

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This Riad is really like arriving in a oasis after being lost in the desert: it is a dream come true!
As soon as you get into the courtyard, which is a green setting, it feels you are in another world and another time. First of all, It is so quiet and peaceful you really enjoy not to be anymore in the noise and the restlessness of the town! Then the building is a beauty and the swimming pool literally calls you for a refreshing bath.
We came with our young sun ( it makes us much more hard to please ) and we enjoyed the quality of the service, the cleanness of the rooms and the constant attention of the working team (the staff is always ready to help you out with everything you need).
Thanks to a very efficient french manager, the standard of this riad is reaching a very high european level while all the oriental tradditional charm is preserved.
We enjoyed our stay and will keep from it an impression of an exotic and luxury moment.
Alex, Amalia and Jules, from Switzerland

Room Tip: Our Pondichery Suite was just perfect...and we could visit almost all the rooms during our stay and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had the most perfect sta in Riad Samarkand. The riad itself is beautiful, it is in the perfect location and Pierre was super helpful ensuring that we made the most of our visit. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had a really good stay in this wonderful riad. Everybody was really kind, welcoming and really professional. Pierre, the manager is great and was there for us anytime if needed which was really appreciated. Last but not least the meals prepared in house by the cook Bouchra are amazing. Hope to go back there really soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Samarkand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samarkand

Address: 41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 1,092 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Samarkand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samarkand Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Samarkand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.