We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Riad: A place we'd like to visit again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samarkand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Samarkand to your Saves list
Riad Samarkand
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Riad: A place we'd like to visit again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This Riad is really like arriving in a oasis after being lost in the desert: it is a dream come true!
As soon as you get into the courtyard, which is a green setting, it feels you are in another world and another time. First of all, It is so quiet and peaceful you really enjoy not to be anymore in the noise and the restlessness of the town! Then the building is a beauty and the swimming pool literally calls you for a refreshing bath.
We came with our young sun ( it makes us much more hard to please ) and we enjoyed the quality of the service, the cleanness of the rooms and the constant attention of the working team (the staff is always ready to help you out with everything you need).
Thanks to a very efficient french manager, the standard of this riad is reaching a very high european level while all the oriental tradditional charm is preserved.
We enjoyed our stay and will keep from it an impression of an exotic and luxury moment.
Alex, Amalia and Jules, from Switzerland

Room Tip: Our Pondichery Suite was just perfect...and we could visit almost all the rooms during our stay and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
106
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had the most perfect sta in Riad Samarkand. The riad itself is beautiful, it is in the perfect location and Pierre was super helpful ensuring that we made the most of our visit. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We had a really good stay in this wonderful riad. Everybody was really kind, welcoming and really professional. Pierre, the manager is great and was there for us anytime if needed which was really appreciated. Last but not least the meals prepared in house by the cook Bouchra are amazing. Hope to go back there really soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed in the Samarkand Suite for 4 nights -- perfect location for exploring the medina; close to souks and main attractions. Samarkand Suite was perfect size for family of 4 (2 adults and 2 preteens). Pierre, hotel manager, was extremely helpful with advice and even personally escorted us on our first two outings to be sure that we knew how to find our way back to the riad. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Three of my friends and I stayed in 2 rooms at Riad Samarkand for 4 nights. The riad is beautiful and well cared for and the rooftop terrace was very pleasant. The best dinners we had in Marrakech were at the riad and the breakfasts were delicious and LARGE. We were served wine and appetizers on the roof whenever we requested it. Pierre was very helpful arranging an excellent guide (Mustafa) , dinner reservations and making suggestions about things we should see and do. I loved staying there!

Room Tip: I was in the room above the kitchen which was a bit noisy in the morning but wonderful otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Riad Samarkand is a beautifully restored building - it's sublime after the hustle of the streets of Marrakech. The garden in the courtyard is peaceful and relaxing, the rooms are stunning, the décor perfect. We had expected a beautiful hotel, but what we hadn't expected was the wonderful evening meals we were served. The cooking was some of the best we had in all of Morocco - including some very well known 4 and 5 star hotel restaurants and incredible value too. Pierre is a very welcoming host as are the rest of the staff in the Riad - and the children were welcomed too - as they were throughout Morocco. A wonderful stay - I hope we'll back back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had the Samarkand Suite which was a very impressive, very large room with a big balcony overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our second visit to Riad Samarkand. It is the perfect oasis with fabulous attentive service, the most beautiful furnishings and garden. Our host Pierre is incredibly helpful and courteous and we will be back!

Room Tip: The Samarkand Suite is enormous with the most beautiful bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#16 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#13 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Samarkand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samarkand

Address: 41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Samarkand 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Riad Samarkand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samarkand Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Samarkand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.