We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, well located riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samarkand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Samarkand to your Saves list
Riad Samarkand
41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 1,092 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well located riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Three of my friends and I stayed in 2 rooms at Riad Samarkand for 4 nights. The riad is beautiful and well cared for and the rooftop terrace was very pleasant. The best dinners we had in Marrakech were at the riad and the breakfasts were delicious and LARGE. We were served wine and appetizers on the roof whenever we requested it. Pierre was very helpful arranging an excellent guide (Mustafa) , dinner reservations and making suggestions about things we should see and do. I loved staying there!

Room Tip: I was in the room above the kitchen which was a bit noisy in the morning but wonderful otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
90
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conwy, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Riad Samarkand is a beautifully restored building - it's sublime after the hustle of the streets of Marrakech. The garden in the courtyard is peaceful and relaxing, the rooms are stunning, the décor perfect. We had expected a beautiful hotel, but what we hadn't expected was the wonderful evening meals we were served. The cooking was some of the best we had in all of Morocco - including some very well known 4 and 5 star hotel restaurants and incredible value too. Pierre is a very welcoming host as are the rest of the staff in the Riad - and the children were welcomed too - as they were throughout Morocco. A wonderful stay - I hope we'll back back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had the Samarkand Suite which was a very impressive, very large room with a big balcony overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our second visit to Riad Samarkand. It is the perfect oasis with fabulous attentive service, the most beautiful furnishings and garden. Our host Pierre is incredibly helpful and courteous and we will be back!

Room Tip: The Samarkand Suite is enormous with the most beautiful bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Aften 7 days at Riad Samarkand we rate it 5 plus plus. We have been to Marocco several times but in the future we look forward to return to Riad Samarkand. We had booked dinner for the night of arrival and loved it so much that we ate at the Riad 4 times. The manager, Pierre, is a fantastic host. On our first day he walked with us for an hour to show us around in the Medina. Lots of praise to him and indeed to all the staff at the Riad Samarkand.
Anne and Ole Volfing. Aalborg, Denmark

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We arrived after a long journey in the late afternoon.
To go through the narrow dark alleys and end up in front Aladins beautiful black door as was opened by smiling friendly staff and a Riad which was lit by candlelight gave us a proper feeling that we had really come to the real Samarkand. The rooms were like a dream and the staff aswell. We got a lot out of your stay thanks to him as I was in contact with ahead of our journey.I have been in Marrakech before but plan the journey ahead toghether with Pierre made this trip smooth and copius. As well as everyone at the Riad was prepared up on our arrival of our desires and requirements for a four nights stay.In other words, our stay was full of beautiful impressions and wonderful experiences. A highly recommended Riad!

Room Tip: Suite Isphan and Suite Mazagran
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Riad Samarkand - the central garden with the pool (and tortoises) is cool and soothing, our room was amazing (huge, beautifully decorated, comfortable bed) and the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff (especially Pierre) was the icing on the cake. We stayed five nights and had dinner in the riad three times - wonderful food.

Room Tip: We had the Damas suite - which was gorgeous and very big. My parents had the Mazagran suite which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessy, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Riad Samarkand is a beautifully restored Riad in the Bab Doukkala area within easy reach of the souks and place Jemaa el Fnaa on foot. The staff were friendly and helpful. The dinner we had on arrival was excellent and the breakfast good, though lacking variety after 7 days. Nevertheless, we felt it was missing that special attention to detail you would expect in this price range. Some days no facecloths, one day the lights tripped in the bathroom and stayed off all day, breakfasts contained gluten despite prior notification of allergy, nobody to carry the cases down on departure...Nothing that couldn't be fixed with some attention from management.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Samarkand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samarkand

Address: 41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 1,092 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Samarkand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samarkand Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Samarkand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.