We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolut magnificent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samarkand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Samarkand to your Saves list
Riad Samarkand
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolut magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Aften 7 days at Riad Samarkand we rate it 5 plus plus. We have been to Marocco several times but in the future we look forward to return to Riad Samarkand. We had booked dinner for the night of arrival and loved it so much that we ate at the Riad 4 times. The manager, Pierre, is a fantastic host. On our first day he walked with us for an hour to show us around in the Medina. Lots of praise to him and indeed to all the staff at the Riad Samarkand.
Anne and Ole Volfing. Aalborg, Denmark

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
106
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We arrived after a long journey in the late afternoon.
To go through the narrow dark alleys and end up in front Aladins beautiful black door as was opened by smiling friendly staff and a Riad which was lit by candlelight gave us a proper feeling that we had really come to the real Samarkand. The rooms were like a dream and the staff aswell. We got a lot out of your stay thanks to him as I was in contact with ahead of our journey.I have been in Marrakech before but plan the journey ahead toghether with Pierre made this trip smooth and copius. As well as everyone at the Riad was prepared up on our arrival of our desires and requirements for a four nights stay.In other words, our stay was full of beautiful impressions and wonderful experiences. A highly recommended Riad!

Room Tip: Suite Isphan and Suite Mazagran
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a fantastic time at Riad Samarkand - the central garden with the pool (and tortoises) is cool and soothing, our room was amazing (huge, beautifully decorated, comfortable bed) and the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff (especially Pierre) was the icing on the cake. We stayed five nights and had dinner in the riad three times - wonderful food.

Room Tip: We had the Damas suite - which was gorgeous and very big. My parents had the Mazagran suite which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessy, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Riad Samarkand is a beautifully restored Riad in the Bab Doukkala area within easy reach of the souks and place Jemaa el Fnaa on foot. The staff were friendly and helpful. The dinner we had on arrival was excellent and the breakfast good, though lacking variety after 7 days. Nevertheless, we felt it was missing that special attention to detail you would expect in this price range. Some days no facecloths, one day the lights tripped in the bathroom and stayed off all day, breakfasts contained gluten despite prior notification of allergy, nobody to carry the cases down on departure...Nothing that couldn't be fixed with some attention from management.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Behind a shiny black gate away from the bustling Souks within the Medina lies Riad Samarkand.The courtyard is an oasis of palm trees, lush greenery, water-fountain with colorful rose-petals, small swimming-pool and a tiny lazy turtle, blissful quietude occasionally interrupted by birds. Our rooms were large and decorated in warm dark tones authentic to North Africa, cozy and rustic at the same time. Up on the rooftop were plenty of lounge chairs and hot sunshine. The meals, breakfast and dinner, were delicious and the whole experience was enhanced by the warm ambiance and the respectful and attentive service. Pierre, the handsome manager, was helpful showing us around the souks, answering questions and arranging transportation.
An enchanting Riad highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We sort of stumbled upon this place, since the Riad we had tried to book was full and passed us on to the Samarkand. The building and renovation is beautiful, and really captures the elegance of the structure and the beautiful garden, whilst offering the facilities we all seek these days. What surprised us was the quality of the food: whilst it is not cheap by local standards, it was by far the best food we had in Marrakech (better even than the famous Al Fessia in the new town...) The walk to the Djemma El-Fnaa and the souks is 10 - 15 minutes, which can be tedious to do every morning but is interesting in itself. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed with our 3 year old daughter in Riad Samarkand in the run up to Easter. It was our first visit to Marrakech, and it was absolutely superb. The riad was delightful, as were all the staff, who babysat for our daughter on two nights. The room was lovely with a gorgeous semi-private terrace. The riad is a ten minute walk from the main square, so not as central as some, but we liked that, and made access to the new town just as easy - and the new town is not to be missed, especially the restaurant Kechmarra. A better shower, omelettes for breakfast might improve things a little, but the place is so close to perfection that would be churlish to ask for!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#16 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#14 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Samarkand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samarkand

Address: 41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Samarkand 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Splendia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Riad Samarkand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samarkand Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Samarkand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.