We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samarkand

Save Saved
You added Riad Samarkand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Samarkand
41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Flawless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed with our 3 year old daughter in Riad Samarkand in the run up to Easter. It was our first visit to Marrakech, and it was absolutely superb. The riad was delightful, as were all the staff, who babysat for our daughter on two nights. The room was lovely with a gorgeous semi-private terrace. The riad is a ten minute walk from the main square, so not as central as some, but we liked that, and made access to the new town just as easy - and the new town is not to be missed, especially the restaurant Kechmarra. A better shower, omelettes for breakfast might improve things a little, but the place is so close to perfection that would be churlish to ask for!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
82
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We absolutely loved Riad Samarkand. From start to finish, the experience was magical. We were met at the airport by our driver and we were led down the winding derb to the riad door. Inside, a beautiful, tranquil and candlelit courtyard greeted us. We had asked for dinner on our first night and were given a rose petal strewn table with candles in front of a roaring fire. The Riad owner, Cyril, came to greet us personally, as did the fantastic manager, Pierre. Pierre made us feel extremely welcome and as if we were friends, not just guests. He recommended places to eat and visit and marked these on a map for us. Pierre even gave us a tour through the souks on our first day to help us not get lost. The staff were all very helpful and attentive and we felt so relaxed in the riad we did not want to leave. The food was fantastic too. I would recommend this riad without hesitation

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Marrakech accomodation prices are high and Riad Samarkand falls into the fairly expensive category. It is a very nice property that has been renovated to a high standard and rooms are comfortable. Our room had its own terrace area where we could take breakfast or relax in the afternoon. There is also a spacious roof terrace to catch the evening sun - although there is not much of a view. The small pool in the garden is pretty but impractical and we didn't see anyone use it during our stay. Rooms are traditional in style and therefore quite dark.

We ate one meal at the property - food was reasonable tasty. We also recommend Le Foundouk and Restaurant des Epices nearby.

The Riad would benefit from some small improvements as follows:
Breakfast - a big disappontment and the worst we had on the trip. Fresh orange juice was good but cold pancakes prepared in advance, dry bread, dry cake and a bit of jam - bland and uninspiring.
Wifi is slow and unreliable and regularly gets turned off so you have to go looking for it to be turned on again.
There is a sitting room area where wifi reception is a bit better but staff are usually watching tv there so you feel as if you are interrupting.
It is nice that staff are unobtrusive except when you want to leave the property and need to search for someone to unlock the door. And forget about finding someone to order a drink from!

Overall a nice property that is just a little bit sterile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patalbou, Propriétaire at Riad Samarkand, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Google Translation
merci pour votre avis concernant notre établissement,
nous avons bien pris en compte votre commentaire que nous jugeons pertinents.
nous avons fait une réunion avec le personnel afin de répondre a vos critiques concernant le petit déjeuner.il semble que le personnel profitant d'une période creuse( ce qui n'est évidemment pas une excuse )vous ai servi un petit- déjeuner réchauffé,ce qui est inadmissible.cela ne se renouvellera plus.
votre remarque concernant la piscine est a remettre dans son contexte. Durant la période de decembre janvier le soleil trop rasant a cette époque ne couvre pas la piscine et rend par conséquent son utilisation problématique?Aux autres périodes celle ci est trés utilisée par les clients de notre établissement. sa dimension de 10 mètres représente une des plus grandes autorisée dans la médina,la réglementation particulière dans celle ci n'autorisant que les "bassins".
la particularité de votre séjour chez nous est qu'a cette période trés particulière vous étiez les seuls clients ce qui génére inévitablement une atmosphère un peu "froide. nous avons donc exigé du personnel qu'il soit plus présent et attentionné en ces occasions.
Nous espérons vous accueillir une prochaine fois au sein du Riad Samarkand.
Le Propriétaire
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have been to Marrakesh many times and have to say this is my favorite riad yet. The decor is not over the top nor brash or touristy. It is tastefully done and rather grown up. The rooms are huge and there is a reasonable sized pool for once (normally they are just foot baths!). Cyril was very kind and did everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I highly recommend this riad and would choose Samarkand again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were referred to Riad Samarkand by its companion, Riad Orangerie, because they were full. From the start we were treated with extreme kindness and care. This included being told where to come to within the Medina, and being met and shown where to park, being helped to carry our bags to the Riad, and being welcomed to the most tastefully decorated mini-hotel that we have ever known. The owner has real taste. The rooms are supremely comfortable and the food is delicious. It is not cheap, but if you want a break that is just wonderful in all respects, this is for you. The website is good and you can believe what the write about it. The food is great. The pool is small but a great place in which to have a dip. Bathrooms are unique, If youm are going to Marrakech and want a really gtreat place to stay, give this Riad a try!!! And the staff - including the Manager and Owner - just love the place and their guests.

Room Tip: Ask for the Samarkand Suite - the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Maurice, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Like some of the other reviewers, we were referred here because the Riad L'Orangerie was fully booked. We were not disappointed. Cyril was an informative and genial host. The room (and entire Riad) was immaculate and the dinner was delicious. We enjoyed drinks and views on the roof terrace and dipped our feet in the small pool in the courtyard. A very tranquil setting. The only negative I would say about it is that I did not like having to ring the bell and wait for someone to answer the front door to let us in instead of having our own key. Over all, a lovely experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Superb! The Riad was more than we expected and everything about the place was excellent.

We stayed in the "Ispahan Suite" which was most comfortable and very Moroccan.

Our French host,Cyril ,and his staff were all really helpful.

The food in the Riad was the best we had while in Marrakech and we ate there on 3 of our nights.
Try it at least once!

Very romantic and relaxing.

Congratulations to Patrick(owner)who we met for such a beautiful restoration of the Riad.A true labour of love! Jim & Kerry --IRELAND

Room Tip: If you end up "lost" in the Souk or little lanes/streets be careful asking directions as s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Samarkand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samarkand

Address: 41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Samarkand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samarkand Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Samarkand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.