We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of peace in the heart of the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samarkand

Save Saved
You added Riad Samarkand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Splendia.com
Riad Samarkand
41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 1,032 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A haven of peace in the heart of the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have been to Marrakesh many times and have to say this is my favorite riad yet. The decor is not over the top nor brash or touristy. It is tastefully done and rather grown up. The rooms are huge and there is a reasonable sized pool for once (normally they are just foot baths!). Cyril was very kind and did everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. I highly recommend this riad and would choose Samarkand again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    127
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
71
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were referred to Riad Samarkand by its companion, Riad Orangerie, because they were full. From the start we were treated with extreme kindness and care. This included being told where to come to within the Medina, and being met and shown where to park, being helped to carry our bags to the Riad, and being welcomed to the most tastefully decorated mini-hotel that we have ever known. The owner has real taste. The rooms are supremely comfortable and the food is delicious. It is not cheap, but if you want a break that is just wonderful in all respects, this is for you. The website is good and you can believe what the write about it. The food is great. The pool is small but a great place in which to have a dip. Bathrooms are unique, If youm are going to Marrakech and want a really gtreat place to stay, give this Riad a try!!! And the staff - including the Manager and Owner - just love the place and their guests.

Room Tip: Ask for the Samarkand Suite - the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Maurice, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Like some of the other reviewers, we were referred here because the Riad L'Orangerie was fully booked. We were not disappointed. Cyril was an informative and genial host. The room (and entire Riad) was immaculate and the dinner was delicious. We enjoyed drinks and views on the roof terrace and dipped our feet in the small pool in the courtyard. A very tranquil setting. The only negative I would say about it is that I did not like having to ring the bell and wait for someone to answer the front door to let us in instead of having our own key. Over all, a lovely experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Superb! The Riad was more than we expected and everything about the place was excellent.

We stayed in the "Ispahan Suite" which was most comfortable and very Moroccan.

Our French host,Cyril ,and his staff were all really helpful.

The food in the Riad was the best we had while in Marrakech and we ate there on 3 of our nights.
Try it at least once!

Very romantic and relaxing.

Congratulations to Patrick(owner)who we met for such a beautiful restoration of the Riad.A true labour of love! Jim & Kerry --IRELAND

Room Tip: If you end up "lost" in the Souk or little lanes/streets be careful asking directions as s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gif sur Yvette
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Mary M
Riad vs. Hotel
Which to choose when visiting Marrakech -- the familiarity, routine of a hotel, or the adventure, inspiration of a riad? We chose the latter.
We wanted more than a taste of local color, convenience and comfort; we got it all at the Riad Samarkand: inside the Medina (old walled city), tucked away at the end of small alleyways, the Riad soothed our body and soul with its elegant decoration, space, luxuriant garden, pool, not to mention the comfortable couches on the roof terraces with views of the Medina and the Atlas mountains. The Riad Samarkand is an elegant, refurbished home with 5 bedrooms. Our room was spacious and comfortable; it had a huge private balcony overlooking the garden, where a copious breakfast was served on linen tablecloths. The day of our arrival, we had a candle-lit dinner in the Riad’s exquisite dining room, with a treasure trove of CDs to choose from, a wonderful way to feel at home in an otherwise different environment. Our visit at the Riad was facilitated by Cyril, the manager and his efficient, discrete staff. Cyril was available to show us around, in person. He made reservations for our excursions to Imlil and Essaouria, and also recommended restaurants for every night of our stay. He’s got a wealth of information about the city, insights into the culture and a wry sense of humor, a definite plus that enhanced our stay. The Riad is a 10-minute walk to the main square, and a 5-minute walk to a local taxi stand. You can't go wrong choosing this Riad.

Room Tip: The Mazagran Suite, spacious with a huge balcony and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Riad Samarkand was a perfect place to stay in during my first visit together with my friends in Marrakech beginning of March. Beautiful riad and well taken care of by Cyril and his friendly staff who did their absolutely best to make our stay very good. If you needed anything they were there to help you! No doubt I'll be back and look forward to stay in Samarkand again. =)
Thank you Cyril with staff!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

This overdue review is for a trip made November 2010, but I see that the riad is meeting the same stellar reception from guests that have stayed since that time. We were disappointed to find the highly rated Riad L'Orangerie booked, but the manager Cyril suggested we try this sister riad. It was unbelievable, as I hope you can see from the photos. Cyril was tremendously helpful with our itinerary, and walked us along the path to the main marketplace until we were comfortable. Do have dinner at the riad one night - we arranged for a delicious and romantic dinner on our arrival night. This will be remembered as one of my favorite accommodations in the entire world.

Room Tip: The Isfahan room was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Samarkand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samarkand

Also Known As:
Riad Samarkand Hotel Marrakech
Riad Samarkand Hotel
Address: 41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 1,032 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Splendia so you can book your Riad Samarkand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Samarkand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.