We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samarkand

Save Saved
You added Riad Samarkand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Samarkand
41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Saint-Maurice, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Like some of the other reviewers, we were referred here because the Riad L'Orangerie was fully booked. We were not disappointed. Cyril was an informative and genial host. The room (and entire Riad) was immaculate and the dinner was delicious. We enjoyed drinks and views on the roof terrace and dipped our feet in the small pool in the courtyard. A very tranquil setting. The only negative I would say about it is that I did not like having to ring the bell and wait for someone to answer the front door to let us in instead of having our own key. Over all, a lovely experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
83
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Superb! The Riad was more than we expected and everything about the place was excellent.

We stayed in the "Ispahan Suite" which was most comfortable and very Moroccan.

Our French host,Cyril ,and his staff were all really helpful.

The food in the Riad was the best we had while in Marrakech and we ate there on 3 of our nights.
Try it at least once!

Very romantic and relaxing.

Congratulations to Patrick(owner)who we met for such a beautiful restoration of the Riad.A true labour of love! Jim & Kerry --IRELAND

Room Tip: If you end up "lost" in the Souk or little lanes/streets be careful asking directions as s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gif sur Yvette
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Mary M
Riad vs. Hotel
Which to choose when visiting Marrakech -- the familiarity, routine of a hotel, or the adventure, inspiration of a riad? We chose the latter.
We wanted more than a taste of local color, convenience and comfort; we got it all at the Riad Samarkand: inside the Medina (old walled city), tucked away at the end of small alleyways, the Riad soothed our body and soul with its elegant decoration, space, luxuriant garden, pool, not to mention the comfortable couches on the roof terraces with views of the Medina and the Atlas mountains. The Riad Samarkand is an elegant, refurbished home with 5 bedrooms. Our room was spacious and comfortable; it had a huge private balcony overlooking the garden, where a copious breakfast was served on linen tablecloths. The day of our arrival, we had a candle-lit dinner in the Riad’s exquisite dining room, with a treasure trove of CDs to choose from, a wonderful way to feel at home in an otherwise different environment. Our visit at the Riad was facilitated by Cyril, the manager and his efficient, discrete staff. Cyril was available to show us around, in person. He made reservations for our excursions to Imlil and Essaouria, and also recommended restaurants for every night of our stay. He’s got a wealth of information about the city, insights into the culture and a wry sense of humor, a definite plus that enhanced our stay. The Riad is a 10-minute walk to the main square, and a 5-minute walk to a local taxi stand. You can't go wrong choosing this Riad.

Room Tip: The Mazagran Suite, spacious with a huge balcony and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Riad Samarkand was a perfect place to stay in during my first visit together with my friends in Marrakech beginning of March. Beautiful riad and well taken care of by Cyril and his friendly staff who did their absolutely best to make our stay very good. If you needed anything they were there to help you! No doubt I'll be back and look forward to stay in Samarkand again. =)
Thank you Cyril with staff!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

This overdue review is for a trip made November 2010, but I see that the riad is meeting the same stellar reception from guests that have stayed since that time. We were disappointed to find the highly rated Riad L'Orangerie booked, but the manager Cyril suggested we try this sister riad. It was unbelievable, as I hope you can see from the photos. Cyril was tremendously helpful with our itinerary, and walked us along the path to the main marketplace until we were comfortable. Do have dinner at the riad one night - we arranged for a delicious and romantic dinner on our arrival night. This will be remembered as one of my favorite accommodations in the entire world.

Room Tip: The Isfahan room was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

What a surprise when we walked through the Riads big black doors into a beautiful garden oasis. We were welcomed by Cyril with mint tea and delicious little cakes after our flight from Manchester and Gatwick. Cyril was a lovely french man, who very kindly went with out of his way to show my husband and I how to get to the nice restaurants and the Souk. Which is very helpful when, like us you have never been to Marrakech before. It can be quite daunting, but we had no need to worry as we felt so very safe. Even at night coming back from the restaurants down the little ally ways, and you very soon get to find your way around.
We would certainly go back and stay at Riad Samarkand, it was a little bit of heaven in all the chaos of Marrakech.
Patrick the owner of the Riad most helpful and charming, and we feel, we have made a new friend for life in him. What a very interesting man he is.
Try dinner there, at least one evening. It was delicious.
The only thing we regret, is not visiting Marrakech in warmer months as it was cold ,and we would of liked to of enjoyed the lovely garden and outside areas at the Riad.
It's an experience we wouldn't of missed for the world, and we hope to go back one day.
If you like a drink stock up at dutyfree.

Room Tip: all room very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We arrived at Riad Samarkand in the early evening, using the transfer service arranged by the Riad and all went smoothly, from pick up at arrivals to drop off at the Riad door (last 300M on foot as alleys not suitable for vehicles). Cyril, the Riad manager, greeted us and showed us round the Riad, we had pre-ordered our evening meal and this was ready for us at a time we chose. Our suite (Pondicherry – the smallest I believe) had a bedroom, separate lounge area and wc/wet room – all the rooms were decorated to a very high standard in local and worldwide antiques with extremely high airy ceilings and gorgeous huge windows.

The evening meal we had was tasty and much appreciated after our journey, served in one of the ground floor lounges, there was a good selection of beverages but as these were all in addition to the 25euro per person meal charge things could get a little pricey. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is served pretty much when and where you want it. There is a choice of tea (British) or coffee and a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice every morning. Breakfast consists of chopped fruit and yoghurt followed by a selection of breads (inc. a slice of cake and local types) and conserves. A simple breakfast, but nicely presented and more than adequate to set you up until lunch.

After our first breakfast Cyril sat with us and had a chat and advised us on how to navigate our way around the Medina, he also gave us a map. We were lost within 10 minutes of leaving the Riad! Luckily we bumped into Cyril in the street and he was happy to do some more intense navigation coaching! I think being lost on your first day in the Medina is inevitable, so come prepared to be chilled about it – maybe worth hiring a recommended guide for your first morning, we didn’t but it would have made life easier. Whatever, by the end of the first day, one way or another you will be getting your bearings.

Riad Samarkand is approximately 10 minutes walk from the northern edge of the souks and 15 mins from the big square. There are many Riads that are a lot closer to the centre of things, but after visiting a couple of these we decided the space and peace provided at Samarkand was well worth the extra walking. There is oodles of space at the Riad, right through from the suites to the courtyard and roof terraces, most of the time you feel like you have the whole place to yourself.

We found the beds comfy and wet room facilities very good, there is a safe in the bedroom and plenty of hanging space. We slept with some of the windows open and the call to prayer did not disturb us after the first morning.

We flew with Ryanair - be warned you have to go to the check in desk at Marrakech airport even if you have checked in on line and as with all Ryanair flights make sure you are not last on or you'll have no where to stow your cabin luggage!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Samarkand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samarkand

Address: 41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Samarkand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samarkand Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Samarkand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.