We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven of peace and quiet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samarkand

Save Saved
You added Riad Samarkand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Samarkand
41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Herts, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Haven of peace and quiet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We arrived at Riad Samarkand in the early evening, using the transfer service arranged by the Riad and all went smoothly, from pick up at arrivals to drop off at the Riad door (last 300M on foot as alleys not suitable for vehicles). Cyril, the Riad manager, greeted us and showed us round the Riad, we had pre-ordered our evening meal and this was ready for us at a time we chose. Our suite (Pondicherry – the smallest I believe) had a bedroom, separate lounge area and wc/wet room – all the rooms were decorated to a very high standard in local and worldwide antiques with extremely high airy ceilings and gorgeous huge windows.

The evening meal we had was tasty and much appreciated after our journey, served in one of the ground floor lounges, there was a good selection of beverages but as these were all in addition to the 25euro per person meal charge things could get a little pricey. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is served pretty much when and where you want it. There is a choice of tea (British) or coffee and a glass of freshly squeezed orange juice every morning. Breakfast consists of chopped fruit and yoghurt followed by a selection of breads (inc. a slice of cake and local types) and conserves. A simple breakfast, but nicely presented and more than adequate to set you up until lunch.

After our first breakfast Cyril sat with us and had a chat and advised us on how to navigate our way around the Medina, he also gave us a map. We were lost within 10 minutes of leaving the Riad! Luckily we bumped into Cyril in the street and he was happy to do some more intense navigation coaching! I think being lost on your first day in the Medina is inevitable, so come prepared to be chilled about it – maybe worth hiring a recommended guide for your first morning, we didn’t but it would have made life easier. Whatever, by the end of the first day, one way or another you will be getting your bearings.

Riad Samarkand is approximately 10 minutes walk from the northern edge of the souks and 15 mins from the big square. There are many Riads that are a lot closer to the centre of things, but after visiting a couple of these we decided the space and peace provided at Samarkand was well worth the extra walking. There is oodles of space at the Riad, right through from the suites to the courtyard and roof terraces, most of the time you feel like you have the whole place to yourself.

We found the beds comfy and wet room facilities very good, there is a safe in the bedroom and plenty of hanging space. We slept with some of the windows open and the call to prayer did not disturb us after the first morning.

We flew with Ryanair - be warned you have to go to the check in desk at Marrakech airport even if you have checked in on line and as with all Ryanair flights make sure you are not last on or you'll have no where to stow your cabin luggage!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
82
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Our charming host Cyril offered guidance before and during our trip. He arranged taxis to pick us up and a guide who was very reasonably priced and invaluable to us. The Riad itself is a little paradise, perfect for our group of 10. Each suite is exquisite. We used the pool, dining room and the rooftop terrace when we returned at night. Lanterns in the outdoor areas and roses everywhere create a magical effect. Breakfasts and dinner were healthy and delicious. The Moroccan staff are delightful. Having stayed in La Mamounia before I would choose Samarkand as a true Moroccan experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley du Loir
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

There are two images that spring to mind when I think of the most relaxing place on earth – one is a beach in the Maldives and the other is sitting in the garden of Riad Samarkand watching the reflections of the swimming pool. Our room, the Isfahan, was exquisite; the breakfasts (freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, crumpets and other breads and jams) and dinners (couscous, tanjier and pastille au lait) were divine; the staff were wonderful. They even had two tortoises that scuttled round the garden. I can’t recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights in Samarkand suite and loved it. The Riad has been fully restored and maintained to the highest standards, it is spotlessly clean and quiet, and represents a true oasis in the back alleys of the Medina. The alleyways are safe at night and the riad is well positioned for the main square. Cyril is a delightful host, I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011 via mobile

Basically if you want luxury this is the place. The room I stayed was huge with an equally large terrace. The location is good as it is away from the square, souks and bustle of the city. It us close enough to get to all that and more easily. Cyril was fantastic, helpful and friendly and the perfect host. Go here you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

This was our second trip to Marrakech; the first was at hotel Mamounia right after it's reopening ( Very nice hotel with an exceptionally beautiful garden but unfortunately a service which didn't stand up to expectations). For our second stay in Marrakech we chose a Riad to really get an authentic feel of the city. And I have to admit that at first I was a bit skeptical when a chauffeur sent from the Riad came to pick us up and took us through a small winding road to get there. Fortunately my reluctance and worry were counterbalanced by the beauty of the Riad and to stay there. Cyril the manager welcomed us with extreme kindness, he was very attentive and charming. The Riad itself was a magnificent place with raffined furniture and decoration. The whole was very elegant and harmonious. The owner didn't want to do (like other riads we've visited) pack the place so much to get as much profit as possible. This big riad is composed of only 5 suites, giving you the sensation that you are the landlord. Big rooms and superb decoration have been very pleasant throughout our trip. Finally after visiting the very loud souks and hectic city of Marrakech, it's nice to kick back and relax by the pool while sipping on an authentic Mint Tea. Or soak up the sun on the rooftop terasse! Thanks again to Cyril for a wonderful trip, we will return!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We cannot speak highly enough of Riad Samarkand. Cyril and all of his staff made us feel so very welcome and made every effort to make our stay comfortable and memorable. Our suite was just as described in the website and the Riad generally of a very high standard. We would have no hesitation in recommending Riad Samarkand as a base for exploring Marrakech and the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Samarkand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samarkand

Address: 41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Samarkand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samarkand Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Samarkand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.