We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samarkand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Samarkand to your Saves list
Riad Samarkand
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
From 230€ to 184€!!
Ranked #28 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Valley du Loir
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

There are two images that spring to mind when I think of the most relaxing place on earth – one is a beach in the Maldives and the other is sitting in the garden of Riad Samarkand watching the reflections of the swimming pool. Our room, the Isfahan, was exquisite; the breakfasts (freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, crumpets and other breads and jams) and dinners (couscous, tanjier and pastille au lait) were divine; the staff were wonderful. They even had two tortoises that scuttled round the garden. I can’t recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
106
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights in Samarkand suite and loved it. The Riad has been fully restored and maintained to the highest standards, it is spotlessly clean and quiet, and represents a true oasis in the back alleys of the Medina. The alleyways are safe at night and the riad is well positioned for the main square. Cyril is a delightful host, I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Basically if you want luxury this is the place. The room I stayed was huge with an equally large terrace. The location is good as it is away from the square, souks and bustle of the city. It us close enough to get to all that and more easily. Cyril was fantastic, helpful and friendly and the perfect host. Go here you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

This was our second trip to Marrakech; the first was at hotel Mamounia right after it's reopening ( Very nice hotel with an exceptionally beautiful garden but unfortunately a service which didn't stand up to expectations). For our second stay in Marrakech we chose a Riad to really get an authentic feel of the city. And I have to admit that at first I was a bit skeptical when a chauffeur sent from the Riad came to pick us up and took us through a small winding road to get there. Fortunately my reluctance and worry were counterbalanced by the beauty of the Riad and to stay there. Cyril the manager welcomed us with extreme kindness, he was very attentive and charming. The Riad itself was a magnificent place with raffined furniture and decoration. The whole was very elegant and harmonious. The owner didn't want to do (like other riads we've visited) pack the place so much to get as much profit as possible. This big riad is composed of only 5 suites, giving you the sensation that you are the landlord. Big rooms and superb decoration have been very pleasant throughout our trip. Finally after visiting the very loud souks and hectic city of Marrakech, it's nice to kick back and relax by the pool while sipping on an authentic Mint Tea. Or soak up the sun on the rooftop terasse! Thanks again to Cyril for a wonderful trip, we will return!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We cannot speak highly enough of Riad Samarkand. Cyril and all of his staff made us feel so very welcome and made every effort to make our stay comfortable and memorable. Our suite was just as described in the website and the Riad generally of a very high standard. We would have no hesitation in recommending Riad Samarkand as a base for exploring Marrakech and the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Lovely Riad in the old town...quiet, peaceful...really lovely. Be sure to have dinner at the Riad one night, it was delicious!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

I have stayed at Riad Samarkand three times now - so clearly I love it. It's a gorgeously remodeled riad in a traditional style with a beautiful central courtyard. For me it's in the perfect location close to the souks, a quick walk to the main Place and easy access to Gueliz when you want a change from the medina. The staff is extremely courteous, the food quite delicious, and Cyril who's in charge, will do whatever you need to make your stay enjoyable. I have to thank him again for finding a moroccan cooking course for me to take. To me this is a true oasis in the middle of the sometimes crazy and chaotic medina.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,063 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#16 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#14 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Samarkand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samarkand

Address: 41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Samarkand 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Riad Samarkand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samarkand Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Samarkand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.