We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samarkand

Save Saved
You added Riad Samarkand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Samarkand
41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Peace and calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011 via mobile

Basically if you want luxury this is the place. The room I stayed was huge with an equally large terrace. The location is good as it is away from the square, souks and bustle of the city. It us close enough to get to all that and more easily. Cyril was fantastic, helpful and friendly and the perfect host. Go here you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
82
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

This was our second trip to Marrakech; the first was at hotel Mamounia right after it's reopening ( Very nice hotel with an exceptionally beautiful garden but unfortunately a service which didn't stand up to expectations). For our second stay in Marrakech we chose a Riad to really get an authentic feel of the city. And I have to admit that at first I was a bit skeptical when a chauffeur sent from the Riad came to pick us up and took us through a small winding road to get there. Fortunately my reluctance and worry were counterbalanced by the beauty of the Riad and to stay there. Cyril the manager welcomed us with extreme kindness, he was very attentive and charming. The Riad itself was a magnificent place with raffined furniture and decoration. The whole was very elegant and harmonious. The owner didn't want to do (like other riads we've visited) pack the place so much to get as much profit as possible. This big riad is composed of only 5 suites, giving you the sensation that you are the landlord. Big rooms and superb decoration have been very pleasant throughout our trip. Finally after visiting the very loud souks and hectic city of Marrakech, it's nice to kick back and relax by the pool while sipping on an authentic Mint Tea. Or soak up the sun on the rooftop terasse! Thanks again to Cyril for a wonderful trip, we will return!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We cannot speak highly enough of Riad Samarkand. Cyril and all of his staff made us feel so very welcome and made every effort to make our stay comfortable and memorable. Our suite was just as described in the website and the Riad generally of a very high standard. We would have no hesitation in recommending Riad Samarkand as a base for exploring Marrakech and the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Lovely Riad in the old town...quiet, peaceful...really lovely. Be sure to have dinner at the Riad one night, it was delicious!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

I have stayed at Riad Samarkand three times now - so clearly I love it. It's a gorgeously remodeled riad in a traditional style with a beautiful central courtyard. For me it's in the perfect location close to the souks, a quick walk to the main Place and easy access to Gueliz when you want a change from the medina. The staff is extremely courteous, the food quite delicious, and Cyril who's in charge, will do whatever you need to make your stay enjoyable. I have to thank him again for finding a moroccan cooking course for me to take. To me this is a true oasis in the middle of the sometimes crazy and chaotic medina.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carquefou
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

So peaceful, friendly and enjoyable !
This is a place to recommend to our friends.
A special thanks Cyril to answered all our questions.
We cannot wait to return.
Tristan from carquefou in L.A. (Loire atlantique ! :-))

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

This place is a true hidden gem, and great value for the money. Cyril and the staff are extremely helpful. When the wi-fi didn't work, Cyril even allowed me to use his office whenever I wanted. Cyril arranged a wonderful guide for us who gave us a spectacular day tour of Marrakech. Perhaps most importantly, you get to stay in the heart of the vibrant city without the saccharine barrier of a massive western hotel. Truly lovely.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Samarkand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samarkand

Address: 41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Samarkand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samarkand Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Samarkand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.