We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful. An Oasis.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Samarkand

Save Saved
You added Riad Samarkand to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Samarkand
41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful. An Oasis.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

We cannot speak highly enough of Riad Samarkand. Cyril and all of his staff made us feel so very welcome and made every effort to make our stay comfortable and memorable. Our suite was just as described in the website and the Riad generally of a very high standard. We would have no hesitation in recommending Riad Samarkand as a base for exploring Marrakech and the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
82
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Lovely Riad in the old town...quiet, peaceful...really lovely. Be sure to have dinner at the Riad one night, it was delicious!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

I have stayed at Riad Samarkand three times now - so clearly I love it. It's a gorgeously remodeled riad in a traditional style with a beautiful central courtyard. For me it's in the perfect location close to the souks, a quick walk to the main Place and easy access to Gueliz when you want a change from the medina. The staff is extremely courteous, the food quite delicious, and Cyril who's in charge, will do whatever you need to make your stay enjoyable. I have to thank him again for finding a moroccan cooking course for me to take. To me this is a true oasis in the middle of the sometimes crazy and chaotic medina.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carquefou
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

So peaceful, friendly and enjoyable !
This is a place to recommend to our friends.
A special thanks Cyril to answered all our questions.
We cannot wait to return.
Tristan from carquefou in L.A. (Loire atlantique ! :-))

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

This place is a true hidden gem, and great value for the money. Cyril and the staff are extremely helpful. When the wi-fi didn't work, Cyril even allowed me to use his office whenever I wanted. Cyril arranged a wonderful guide for us who gave us a spectacular day tour of Marrakech. Perhaps most importantly, you get to stay in the heart of the vibrant city without the saccharine barrier of a massive western hotel. Truly lovely.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Samarkand. Cyril is really kind and helped us in many ways getting orriented in the craziness of marrakech. They have very good taste - the riad is stylish, impeccably clean, calm, and altogether well done. A bit tough to find at first but once you get it, the location is good.

Also - some of the only softish beds we slept on in 10 days in Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

More than perfect. Our trip to Marrakech would not have been a success had we stay elsewhere. I was told by a friend who had travelled Morocco extensively to stay in a Riad within the Medina, he was right. I would never have imagined being able to experience such a different culture first hand to the extent we did. We found the listing for Riad Samarkand on many luxury travel sites, as well as on Trip Advisor, so we felt confident in booking the whole Riad (5 rooms) for our group for our week business trip in Marrakech. From the arrival at the airport ,when a driver was waiting for us, to the final good-bye when we left at 5:30 am and Cyril, the manager, accompanied us to the car, we were all treated like Royalty by the many staff members. Each staff member is professional, dressed in uniform (Caftan) and very helpful and pleasant. Each room is very spacious (very high ceilings and large windows as well) and beautifully furnished with typical Moroccan furnishings. The Riad has been restored to its original splendor with all modern conveniences (including WIFI that we all used as most of us were on business and had our laptops) all the while keeping its stunning architectural details (too many to list - but do notice the ingenious ancient hardware on the room doors that allows you to choose the size of the opening). There are also many common areas indoors (living rooms, sitting areas, dining room) and outdoors, including 3 terraces on the roof that we much enjoyed. The layout proved to be most perfect as everyone had their own privacy all the while being able to find common areas for sub-groups to meet and discuss without bothering or restricting those who needed to work or wanted to relax. Breakfast varies from day to day and includes local breads, pastries and jams, yogurt, home made fruit salad, freshly squeezed orange juice, coffee, hot milk, etc and is served at the hour you request. You can pretty much ask for whatever you need. Drinks , hot and cold, as well as snacks are available throughout the day and at reasonable prices. We organized lunch for our clients twice at the Riad. Both times the Riad's cook (who has a beautiful singing voice by the way) made a light and tasty typical meal with a fresh salad and a beautiful piece of fresh poached glazed fruit for dessert ( pear the first day, white peach the second ). One night we hosted a diner at the Riad including local wines. All our guest much appreciated the opportunity to visit a Riad and the break from the hustle and bustle of the convention's main venue which was the Sofitel. I used the pool nearly every day. A perfect lap pool size. Those of us who used it brought the measure of the pool home hoping to fit a similar one in our back yards. The garden is beautifully maintained and is home to many birds. The staff even put fresh roses in the water fountain. Cyril, the manager was on hand throughout our stay and arranged all our needs from booking a driver and giving him detailed instructions where to bring us on our day off outside Marrakech, to making diner reservations and hair appointments. We will all truly miss this beautiful Riad and the excellent service. I really cannot imagine finding a better place to stay, it was magical. We had the opportunity to visit the many 5 star hotels in Marrakech as most of the other delegates were staying in them. They are fine but most are modern constructions and have been done quite economically. If you have a bit of a sense of adventure and want to get a feel for the culture and way of life in Marracheck, I recommend that you stay in the Medina in a Riad, Actually I srongly recommend you stay in the prestine Riad Samarkand.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Samarkand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samarkand

Address: 41, Derb Sidi Lahcen | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Samarkand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samarkand Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Samarkand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.