We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad el Noujoum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad el Noujoum to your Saves list
Riad el Noujoum
50, Derb Ben Zina | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved It !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

My wife and I had a 3 night stay here, it was PERFECT for our needs. We like to walk relax read and blend in with the locals, this Riad allowed us to do all of the above. It's location is perfect, just the right distance from the Main Square (15min walk) the staff were delightful as were the entire population of Marrakech (in our experience) I took the advice of another member of "Trip-Advisor" and booked the FREE pick-up from the airport (great idea) it is so handy for the airport and if we ever return to Morocco I'll stay here for sure when I arrive and for a couple of nights before we depart, I think we will return and head fort he mountains next time. Love El-Noujoum, Love Marrakech, Love Morocco, Love Moroccans. If you are thinking of a visit...... stop thinking and start the booking process. Good Luck

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    13
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
47
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

Our flight, that should have arrived at 22.00 was delayed by 2 hours but were met by our pre booked taxi and taken to the door of the el Noujoum. Arriving at 1.00 the cheerful Khalid was waiting for us and offered us both tea and some food which, as we were so tired, we declined. In the morning we got up a lot later than we had anticipated and were offered a typical Moroccan breakfast (all this has been written about in previous reviews). The coffee was wonderful and the breakfast adequate. If you want greasy bacon and over cooked fried eggs then go and stay in one of the impersonal westernised hotels!!

The "girls" were friendly and efficient but did not speak any English but we were able to communicate ok. Khalid was most helpful giving us advice on places to go, how to get there and places to eat. On the last night Khalid made us some mint tea and, as we had bought some very naughty pastries, we asked him to join us. We had a long conversation and learnt a huge amount about the Moroccan way of life etc.

We booked one of the suites which was both spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was huge. The only one thing I would say is that if you like to shower then have one of the smaller rooms not a suite. They have the best showers ever but the suites have a huge bath with a hand held shower.

Khalid arranged for me to have a Hamman and massage. Do it!!! It only lasted an hour but seemed longer, and was woooonnnddderfullllll!!!

The lounge areas, terrace and dining room were charming. The peace and quiet is astonishing after the hustle and bustle outside. The only noise we heard was a cockerel one morning at 5.30. Wifi is also available free.

This is not a 5 star hotel but if you want a friendly, clean, typical Moroccan place to stay then this is a good choice. The only down side is that it is a 10/15 minute walk to the centre. We found it ok as we like to see what local life is like and see the nitty gritty local places.

There are lots of Riads to choose from and this one should be on your list.

We ate at Riad Monceau and Riad Kinza Both expensive but very good. We also ate in the square at le Marrakchi which was very good and more reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed here for four nights on our honeymoon. Before listing my problems with this place, I think it is only fair to say that the suite (which we had at a discounted price) was beautifuly decorated and, if the service in the hotel had not been diabolical, this hotel would have been value for the money we paid (i.e. at the discount). The hotel is located in a nice part of town and easy to find if you ask the shopkeepers on the Rue de la Kasbah. But here are the problems:

1. Paying - on the last night we were informed that we could not pay our bill with credit card. The owner claims that when I made the booking I was told that I had to pay in cash. I have no recolletion of this. When I arrived, a man (who I took to be the boss, but was later informed was not the boss) told me I could pay by cash and so I assumed it was ok. As a result of this, it came as a surprise when I was told that I had to pay in cash. I had to walk around Marrakech at 11pm for half an hour to withdraw the cash from a cash machine and then carry all this cash back to the hotel - not a nice experience in any city. What was particularly galling about the whole business was that no one even offered us an apology for this inconvenience.

2. Service - The key to our door broke on the first day. As such, it was not possible to look the door to the bedroom. The staff failed to fix the lock for the period of our stay. There is a safe in the room, but we couldn't put all our stuff in it. On a different note - on two of the four nights we were there we had to ask for towels in our room as they had forgotten to leave us any.

3. The pool - the pool itself is very pleasant, but you have to be brave to use it! One bedroom looks straight on to it as does the kitchen where the staff are working and chatting. You really feel like you are spoiling the party if you try and take a dip.

4. Breakfast - we stayed in eleven hotels in our time in Morocco. This was the most expensive and had the least inspiring breakfast. There was nothing wrong with what was served (some bread, jam, a crumpet, orange juice, cake(!) and coffee) but at the price we paid, you expect a little bit more.

5. Laundry - the hotel agreed to some washing (no ironing) for us. It was one normal plastic shopping bag. When we came to pay the bill, I was infomed that the wasking cost 40 Euros (which I refused to pay). The receptionist begrudingly agreed to waive this for the inconvenience of me having to troop into town to find a cash point to pay the bill.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We have just returned from our stay. There were six of us in three rooms on the ground floor. It sounds too good to be true but everything was perfect. We were met at the airport at around 10.30 pm, made very welcome at the riad and served a cold beer. The whole building has been very carefully renovated with a great deal of attention to detail. It is around a 15 minute walk to the main square and to come back to the peace and comfort of the little courtyard is wonderful. Make sure you have a meal at the riad - the lamb tagine with apricots or prunes is delicious.
I have been to several hotels recommended by trip advisor and this is the first time I have felt I had to write a review!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Beautiful riad. Quiet and peaceful to return to after visiting medina.
Helpful, friendly staff
Lovely rooms and areas to relax in evenings

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

We reserved a room for 2 nights and when we arrived there were no available rooms. We showed a copy of our email confirming our reservation. They responded that we had not provided credit card information. All our communication was directly with the riad via email and when we returned home we found the required credit card information had indeed been sent and was in my sent folder to which they had replied with an email of confirmed reservation which was the only proof we had with us. So, beware this riad which is either guilty of sloppy reservation procedures or overbooking!

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

Before leaving for Marrakech I read all reviews at this site; I was aware that the Riad was a little difficult to find unless one is taken there by a driver who knows where it is - all you need to do is ask the management to send their driver to the airport to pick you up - and you will find it! - I felt a little uneasy as we were going to arrive at 11 pm but the drive to the riad was as smooth as can be, with a most charming driver sent by the management - and the stay at the riad could not have been better. Hamid gave us the best history lesson ever, the food at the riad is wonderful, everything is safe, relaxed, professional, no surprises (except for very good ones) and our stay could not have been more delightful. 5 stars to all their staff. 5 stars to value for your money. What a wonderful, great place. Would we go back? -- you bet!!

Irene Davy Ph.D.,
Till Davy MD, Toronto

  • Liked — the amazing staff; the excellent food, the lovely accommodations
  • Disliked — nothing at all - we were pleased with everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad el Noujoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad el Noujoum

Address: 50, Derb Ben Zina | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#94 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Riad El Mansour Luxury Marrakech Riad providing Hotel Accommodation in the Heart of the Medina Riad el noujoum, a boutique riad embodying Moroccan hospitality, architecture and artistry, is designed for those seeking a more intimate and personalised luxury hotel break in Marrakech, offering authenticity and originality. Refurbished to the highest specifications of comfort and style, using a palate of traditional Moroccan colours, an original mix of Moroccan and European art and furniture, making us a perfect choice for your holiday in Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad el Noujoum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Noujoum Marrakech
Riad El Noujoum Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad el Noujoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.