We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - good potential, very poor service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Riad el Noujoum

Save Saved
You added Riad el Noujoum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad el Noujoum
50, Derb Ben Zina | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #98 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing - good potential, very poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

We stayed here for four nights on our honeymoon. Before listing my problems with this place, I think it is only fair to say that the suite (which we had at a discounted price) was beautifuly decorated and, if the service in the hotel had not been diabolical, this hotel would have been value for the money we paid (i.e. at the discount). The hotel is located in a nice part of town and easy to find if you ask the shopkeepers on the Rue de la Kasbah. But here are the problems:

1. Paying - on the last night we were informed that we could not pay our bill with credit card. The owner claims that when I made the booking I was told that I had to pay in cash. I have no recolletion of this. When I arrived, a man (who I took to be the boss, but was later informed was not the boss) told me I could pay by cash and so I assumed it was ok. As a result of this, it came as a surprise when I was told that I had to pay in cash. I had to walk around Marrakech at 11pm for half an hour to withdraw the cash from a cash machine and then carry all this cash back to the hotel - not a nice experience in any city. What was particularly galling about the whole business was that no one even offered us an apology for this inconvenience.

2. Service - The key to our door broke on the first day. As such, it was not possible to look the door to the bedroom. The staff failed to fix the lock for the period of our stay. There is a safe in the room, but we couldn't put all our stuff in it. On a different note - on two of the four nights we were there we had to ask for towels in our room as they had forgotten to leave us any.

3. The pool - the pool itself is very pleasant, but you have to be brave to use it! One bedroom looks straight on to it as does the kitchen where the staff are working and chatting. You really feel like you are spoiling the party if you try and take a dip.

4. Breakfast - we stayed in eleven hotels in our time in Morocco. This was the most expensive and had the least inspiring breakfast. There was nothing wrong with what was served (some bread, jam, a crumpet, orange juice, cake(!) and coffee) but at the price we paid, you expect a little bit more.

5. Laundry - the hotel agreed to some washing (no ironing) for us. It was one normal plastic shopping bag. When we came to pay the bill, I was infomed that the wasking cost 40 Euros (which I refused to pay). The receptionist begrudingly agreed to waive this for the inconvenience of me having to troop into town to find a cash point to pay the bill.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    11
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
40
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We have just returned from our stay. There were six of us in three rooms on the ground floor. It sounds too good to be true but everything was perfect. We were met at the airport at around 10.30 pm, made very welcome at the riad and served a cold beer. The whole building has been very carefully renovated with a great deal of attention to detail. It is around a 15 minute walk to the main square and to come back to the peace and comfort of the little courtyard is wonderful. Make sure you have a meal at the riad - the lamb tagine with apricots or prunes is delicious.
I have been to several hotels recommended by trip advisor and this is the first time I have felt I had to write a review!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Beautiful riad. Quiet and peaceful to return to after visiting medina.
Helpful, friendly staff
Lovely rooms and areas to relax in evenings

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

We reserved a room for 2 nights and when we arrived there were no available rooms. We showed a copy of our email confirming our reservation. They responded that we had not provided credit card information. All our communication was directly with the riad via email and when we returned home we found the required credit card information had indeed been sent and was in my sent folder to which they had replied with an email of confirmed reservation which was the only proof we had with us. So, beware this riad which is either guilty of sloppy reservation procedures or overbooking!

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

Before leaving for Marrakech I read all reviews at this site; I was aware that the Riad was a little difficult to find unless one is taken there by a driver who knows where it is - all you need to do is ask the management to send their driver to the airport to pick you up - and you will find it! - I felt a little uneasy as we were going to arrive at 11 pm but the drive to the riad was as smooth as can be, with a most charming driver sent by the management - and the stay at the riad could not have been better. Hamid gave us the best history lesson ever, the food at the riad is wonderful, everything is safe, relaxed, professional, no surprises (except for very good ones) and our stay could not have been more delightful. 5 stars to all their staff. 5 stars to value for your money. What a wonderful, great place. Would we go back? -- you bet!!

Irene Davy Ph.D.,
Till Davy MD, Toronto

  • Liked — the amazing staff; the excellent food, the lovely accommodations
  • Disliked — nothing at all - we were pleased with everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

My husband and I spent four fabulously romantic nights at the Riad El Noujoum. Although it is tucked away down several sidestreets, this is a bonus as the noise of Marrakech is blanketed out once the door closes behind you.
We stayed in the Vega room which is located on the ground floor and opens onto the small plunge pool (ideal for cooling your feet after rambling around Marrakech). Tables are located in the beautiful little courtyard where a delicious breakast of cakes and pastries are served with thick Arabic coffee and fruit juice every morning. It is so relaxed and peaceful you almost find yourself whispering.
Would definitely recommend you either take a French phrasebook or brush up on your French as the staff did not speak English (apart from one lady who appeared in the evening).
The highlight of our stay was dining in the bedouin tent on the roof terrace. This is an enormous open fronted tent that spans the width of the roof and if you arrange with the lovely cook early enough in the day she will whip up a fantastic chicken and olive tagine served with bread and a very tasty harira soup to start (or couscous if you prefer). They will then happily bring this up to the tent along with a very nice Morroccan wine. Again preorder the wine as it seems they have to go out to buy this from somewhere (alcohol is not encouraged in the Medina but some Riads have obtained permission to serve alcohol).
The location of the Riad is a short walk (approx 10-15 mins) from the Jmaa El Fnaa, where everybody heads towards for the souks, through a slightly industrial looking area. It is, however, perfectly located for the Badi Palace and Saadian Tombs which are just around the corner.
If we were to return to Marrakech we would definitely book in again at this lovely little Riad and have no hesitation in recommending it to anybody wanting a romantic, peaceful and idyllic place to stay.
Alison & Ian Smith, Manchester.

  • Liked — Ambience and relaxing qualities.Very central.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2008

Just returned from a great trip to Marrakech where we stayed in Riad El Noujoum..situated right in the medina...a little off Rue de la kasbar...wonderful...A little unsettling at first as we arrived at night and were taken down a couple of dark passage ways..but when the door opened..a hidden gem..complete tranquility.....pooled courtyard..wonderful rooms. We stayed at pool level....the toilets were situated a little near to the breakfast tables however..so we reccommend a room on the upper floor!
The staff are amazing and very willing to accomadate. One rainy evening when we decided to not venture out again, they rallied around and made us a magnificant 3 course dinner. The Riad has 2 levels for rooms, lovely lounges and a roof top terrace with a view af the mountains.
We stayed the whole time in the medina eating mostly where the locals do.
DO NOT eat in the square......immensley inflated prices..charging for items not ordered but they bring you anyway..e.g. fries..which you believe to be part & parcel of the meal. We got burned on out first night...the menu said 40 Dirhams..the whole bill for 4 ended up at 600..we didn't pay it! Agree on a set price before eating.
A wild & wonderful place..look both ways before stepping off a curb...enjoy........

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad el Noujoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad el Noujoum

Also Known As:
Riad El Noujoum Hotel
Riad El Noujoum Marrakech
Riad El Noujoum Hotel Marrakech
Address: 50, Derb Ben Zina | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#163 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#215 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Riad El Mansour Luxury Marrakech Riad providing Hotel Accommodation in the Heart of the Medina Riad el noujoum, a boutique riad embodying Moroccan hospitality, architecture and artistry, is designed for those seeking a more intimate and personalised luxury hotel break in Marrakech, offering authenticity and originality. Refurbished to the highest specifications of comfort and style, using a palate of traditional Moroccan colours, an original mix of Moroccan and European art and furniture, making us a perfect choice for your holiday in Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, HotelsClick and Priceline so you can book your Riad el Noujoum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad el Noujoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.