We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet haven in Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad el Noujoum

Save Saved
You added Riad el Noujoum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad el Noujoum
50, Derb Ben Zina | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A quiet haven in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Marrakech and staying in a traditional riad was important to us. The staff were really friendly and made us feel very welcome. Some of the staff have limited English so packing a French phrase book was helpful so we could both understand each other!

This is a real oasis of calm in Marrakech after wandering around the hustle and bustle of the souks all day. Location wise this is very convenient, a couple of minutes from the Saudi Tombs only 10 minutes from Jemma El-Fna.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    12
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
45
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week having booked over the Internet through a Moroccan booking site so got a great price.

The riad is amazing and we cannot fault it in anyway!! The staff were spot on and the night man was always prepared to help. The manager was also really great. The food was wonderful morning and the one night we had tea there.

The room was wonderful and the shower area was a dream. The pool area was tranquil and the roof top terrace was clean and tidy and we often had breakfast there.

This was our first holiday together and in Marrakech and this was riad was perfect. Hustle and bustle outside - total tranquility on the inside.

Miss this at your peril!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Lovely riad. Beutiful patio with peaceful swimming pool. Charming and attentive staff. Spacious rooms, nicely decorated. Attentive staff. Top marks.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

The management of El Noujoum needs a good shake-up. They are almost non-existent. On arrival we were shown to our room by one of the ladies from the kitchen (who are very nice). Otherwise we were left to find out everything for ourselves. Reception is rarely attended. We had arranged a tour through the riad the day prior and were told that we would be leaving at 9am. We arranged breakfast for 8am yet no member of staff arrived until 8.45 and we had to let them in! Despite informing the patron when he eventually appeared, no apology was offerred. Overall we would say that the service is lax and will not stay at this location again. Riad El Noujoum is totally the opposite experience to other riads we have stayed in Morocco which have been most enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

I’ve stayed all over North Africa but nothing competes with the atmosphere of a traditional home, namely a riad. I stumbled across Riad Noujoum by accident when I was looking for traditional accommodation in Marrakech. I was contemplating travelling independently but the deal I saw on luxury-riads.com looked too good to pass over. Free transfer, and 4 nights for the price of 3, what more could I ask for? The management we friendly but the coup de grace of the trip was the wonderful breakfast we were served each morning- they even made us breakfast at 530 am on the morning of our departure which was lovely gesture. I would recommend this riad to anyone wanting to experience the real Morocco but with creature comforts.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Me and my family had book a very long stay at the Riad el Noujoum. It's tucked away from the hussle and bussle of the neighboring Kasbah. But a thirty second walk brings you straight into the chaos of it all.

The Riad is very nice. But after a few days, you start to see the not so nice things about it. When we stayed, the Jacuzzi on the roof top had mold all over it. The upstairs lounge area is very dirty and dusty...

Our friend had booked a room with confirmation, but Ahmed had gotten a better offer, so without warming our friend had his room cancelled the day he was going to check in. Ahmed was rude and unaccomodating with this situation.

A few days prior to checking out, I had paid Ahmed for two weeks accommodation in cash. The day before departing, he tried to charge me for two days extra and for the washing that he had said was complimentary. He overcharged us for the laundry.

The day I was leaving to go to another accommodation, he was not there. I told the ladies that worked there, that I would put my bags in the car and return to settle with Ahmed. At this point, they locked the doors to the Riad and DID NOT ALLOW ME TO LEAVE. They stood in the door way while my children were outside in the parked car!

Needless to say, that I have will never want to stay at the Riad El Noujoum no matter how nice because Ahmed is a horrible human being who is greedy. But this is not the norm for people in Marrakech. Marrakech people are genuinly kind and respectful.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Just came back from Marrakech were I spent 5 days with my husband and loved it. The riad we stayed at was the perfect choice, most big hotels are in the new town which is not that interesting (unless you can afford to stay at La Mamounia!!) so stay in the medina for an authentic experience. El Noujoum is located at very close walking distance to the main attractions of the medina and even though it's right off a very busy street it's peaceful and quiet. The staff are super friendly and accommodating. They organise for a chauffeur to pick you up from the airport for free and they even got up to make us breakfast at 6am so that we could have something to eat before heading to the airport even though the usual breakfast time starts at 8:30! Breakfast is great, with home made cakes (different one every day) and fresh orange juice among other things. We tried the traditional hammam and massage treatment which was to die for, at an affordable 500 dirhams for 1 hour of relaxing steaming, scrubbing, rubbing and massaging! and best of all, the condition, decor and overall look and feel is exactly as it appears in the pictures. Highly recommended place, can't wait to go back

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad el Noujoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad el Noujoum

Address: 50, Derb Ben Zina | Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#77 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Riad El Mansour Luxury Marrakech Riad providing Hotel Accommodation in the Heart of the Medina Riad el noujoum, a boutique riad embodying Moroccan hospitality, architecture and artistry, is designed for those seeking a more intimate and personalised luxury hotel break in Marrakech, offering authenticity and originality. Refurbished to the highest specifications of comfort and style, using a palate of traditional Moroccan colours, an original mix of Moroccan and European art and furniture, making us a perfect choice for your holiday in Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad el Noujoum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Noujoum Marrakech
Riad El Noujoum Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad el Noujoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.