We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your go-to place for the best Riad experience in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chergui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Chergui to your Saves list
Riad Chergui
53-54 Derb El Halfaoui | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
upstate NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Your go-to place for the best Riad experience in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I first stayed at Riad Chergui in July 2011 on a side trip from some business. I am happy to say that my stay this July, two years later, was just as great. Even better really. I brought my 18-year old son and his reaction was just as mine was in 2011, the Riad is jaw-dropping beautiful. Sabine is a thoughtful and accommodating hostess and the staff is very attentive.

The Riad is an oasis of peace and tranquility in Marrakech; the pool is particularly wonderful. It is well-located and the perfect place to relax between morning and late-afternoon outings during the blistering midday summer heat. The staff prepares a sumptuous breakfast each day and accommodates requests if you need to leave early for an excursion before regular breakfast hours. Lunch and dinners are available with notice, though I have never tried them, I imagine they are as good as everything else at the Riad.

Two great discoveries for food near the Riad this trip: Chez Yassine- great, cheap local fare. Henna Cafe- great food, good prices- all profits go to charity to help local Moroccans (artwork for sale too). Both have listings here on TA.

Room Tip: If the Riad isn't full, ask if an upgrade is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    29
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
75
197
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Spent two nights there. The place was great but too much oriented to Europeans. All prices were quoted in EUR and any extras was definitely overcharged. We were given wrong instructions on the hotel location and when we arrived (after midnight) nobody offered much assistance. To be honest for the price we paid, we should have been offered a free ride from the Marrakesh station to the Riad... never mind. The room we had had an old door that did not lock and every time somebody was passing by it would open. That added to the noise we had to experience in the room. The door was fixed the day we were departing and no discount was offered for the inconvenience of lack of privacy. Shame really. As said, great place and very clean but overpriced. Great location too.

Room Tip: Ask for exact location information, do not choose many extras (such as transfer etc.) and ask for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Chergui was a real highlight of our trip to Morocco. Staff were friendly, the hostess genial, location excellent, surroundings beautiful. Dipping in the cool pool surrounded by palm trees after lounging in the fierce sun is a memory that will stay with me forever.

We had the cheapest room which was cool, cute and quirky. Just what you we wanted from our Riad experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Extraordinary environment and service. Good location in Medina. Fantastic contrast between the busy and messy life at Djemaa el Fna and this "true oasis" where to find real relax and balance. Don not missRiad Chergui and you will not be disappointed. Emmanuelle has got it right!

Mattias & Simo

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We rented the whole riad for a weekend in October for a 30th birthday. We couldn't have asked for more. The rooms were beautifully decorated, the riad had lots of interesting communal spaces to hang out in, including on the roof and by the pool, the pool was very welcoming in the heat and after wandering around the souks and there was even an honesty bar.

We had one evening meal in the riad beside the pool - it looked magical. The food was very good Moroccan affair and Emmanuelle even arranged for a bellydancer to come and entertain us (and embarrass us by making us join in! Well, embarrassed the sober ones at least!).

The riad is a stone's throw from the souks and a 15 minute walk from the main square.

I would recommend this riad to everyone and hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I researched long and hard for a nice place to stay with my mum and sister, this place was perfect (we booked both places in Morocco through www.hipmorocco.com/ I definitely recommend them!) The rooms were beautiful, and the lounging area around the pool was perfect during the day and also for a pre dinner drink. The staff got a shisha ready for us, brought over drinks and snacks, it was heaven. Can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I will try to avoid repeating that already written.

What I most enjoyed about the Riad was the roof terrace with a brilliant view of Marrakech roof tops and the Atlas Mountains. The cacophony of the multitude of calls to prayer from the surrounding mosques is something to be experienced as the evening gathers.

Others wrote about the 'helpers' (not to do with the hotel) hustling your baggage up the alleyway to the Riad for a tip - to avoid this we had scouted the hotel location in advance and refused the 'assistance', but for newbies this is probably unavoidable due to the complexity of the alleyways. Have some coins ready is the general tip for getting by in Marrakech - but don't open your wallet !

The Riad has two very pretty courtyards (one with a swimming pool) - each of the bedrooms will open up onto one or other of these. French-Moroccan eclectic would be the terminology for the decor. Our meals were perfect (hostess coped with my sudden change of mind), and as the weather cooled in the night, the wood fire in the dining room was welcome. In the morning, my wife and her friend went shopping (the Medina is just up the alley). I walked the shortish distance to the peaceful Yves Saint Laurent memorial garden and the excellent Berber Museum.

This peaceful Riad is on our road map for a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Chergui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chergui

Address: 53-54 Derb El Halfaoui | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At only ten minutes walk from the famous square discover the riad chergui an oasis of tranquility in the midst of the bustling marrakesh medina. Riad chergui with its 9 luxurious rooms offer the benefits of a hotel with the personalized friendly and individual family service. After visiting the sites and haggling in the souks come relax and cool off beside the pool under the shade of the palm trees or enjoy an invigarating massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Chergui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chergui Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chergui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.