We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Oasis, Perfect Location and Fantastic Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chergui

Save Saved
You added Riad Chergui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Chergui
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   53-54 Derb El Halfaoui | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Wonderful Oasis, Perfect Location and Fantastic Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We rented the whole riad for a weekend in October for a 30th birthday. We couldn't have asked for more. The rooms were beautifully decorated, the riad had lots of interesting communal spaces to hang out in, including on the roof and by the pool, the pool was very welcoming in the heat and after wandering around the souks and there was even an honesty bar.

We had one evening meal in the riad beside the pool - it looked magical. The food was very good Moroccan affair and Emmanuelle even arranged for a bellydancer to come and entertain us (and embarrass us by making us join in! Well, embarrassed the sober ones at least!).

The riad is a stone's throw from the souks and a 15 minute walk from the main square.

I would recommend this riad to everyone and hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    376
    28
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
74
193
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I researched long and hard for a nice place to stay with my mum and sister, this place was perfect (we booked both places in Morocco through www.hipmorocco.com/ I definitely recommend them!) The rooms were beautiful, and the lounging area around the pool was perfect during the day and also for a pre dinner drink. The staff got a shisha ready for us, brought over drinks and snacks, it was heaven. Can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I will try to avoid repeating that already written.

What I most enjoyed about the Riad was the roof terrace with a brilliant view of Marrakech roof tops and the Atlas Mountains. The cacophony of the multitude of calls to prayer from the surrounding mosques is something to be experienced as the evening gathers.

Others wrote about the 'helpers' (not to do with the hotel) hustling your baggage up the alleyway to the Riad for a tip - to avoid this we had scouted the hotel location in advance and refused the 'assistance', but for newbies this is probably unavoidable due to the complexity of the alleyways. Have some coins ready is the general tip for getting by in Marrakech - but don't open your wallet !

The Riad has two very pretty courtyards (one with a swimming pool) - each of the bedrooms will open up onto one or other of these. French-Moroccan eclectic would be the terminology for the decor. Our meals were perfect (hostess coped with my sudden change of mind), and as the weather cooled in the night, the wood fire in the dining room was welcome. In the morning, my wife and her friend went shopping (the Medina is just up the alley). I walked the shortish distance to the peaceful Yves Saint Laurent memorial garden and the excellent Berber Museum.

This peaceful Riad is on our road map for a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed in the Riad Chergui at the end of December. Latt 31°37'56.45"N Long 7°59'37.60"W
It is very well located in the Medina area within walking distance to most of the main sights and Souks. The main doar is about 150 Meters down some alleys from the Dar el Bacha which is one of the main streets through the Medina leading West to the Bus Station and direction of the New town and East into the Souk area and sount to the main Square.

The Dar is beautiful and spacious and was clearly renovated from a number of older buildings made into one. The Pool area is wondeful wiith a large pool a bar alongside. The weather in December is not warm enough to sit out at the pool in the evenings but in Summer having this area must be fantastic. There is also a spacious roof Terrace which is great for relaxing and taking in a rooftop view or Marrakech.

Our Bedroom was upstairs and was of good quality with double bed, beautiful bed Linnen separate Bathroom and separate toilet. There was a walk in wardrobe area with a safe. One point to note is that you can lock bedroom from the inside but for some reason you cannot lock them from outside, Not sure why this nut it was a bit strange leaving luggage etc in a room that was not locked.

Downstairs there is a beautiful courtyard area for seating and a room with fire place for Dining and relaxing. It is comfortable and functional with some books and games available for people to use. Wifi was in the cost and worked in the room and downstairs which was great.

Overall it is a very beautiful Riad but I found it lacked atmosphere and the Service level was a bit below what you would expect from Euro 200 per night level.

Room Tip: Ask for a Room overlooking the Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here - the interiors were very clean, and nicely decorated. We were impressed with the bathroom and the tadiakt plaster work in particular (!) and were really pleased to receive a room upgrade.
The riad felt quiet and peaceful, the breakfasts were good, and the staff seemed friendly.
We would have liked locks on the bedroom doors, as we had some belongings (like a laptop) that couldn't fit in the safe.
One annoyance was that on being dropped off at a road near the riad, our luggage was given to a couple of local kids, who then wheeled it to the riad. (We would have done it ourselves, but there didn't seem a choice). This was fine, until demands for money were then made, and having just arrived in the country, we had no small change. The hotel helped us out, but this was a stressful start to our holiday that we could have done without, particularly as we were heckled a lot by the kids for more money over the next couple of days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Thiis elegant small riad in the back alleys of Marrakech is a hidden gem. It has been lovingly restored with art works, top quality linens and a lovely dipping pool in one of the two courtyards. The rooms are Moroccan style and even details like the lighting have been thought through. The proof of a quality establishment is always in the warmth of the greeting and personal care and attention given by the owner. No detail of our comfort was left to chance. The owner goes out of her way to ensure the comfort of her guests. The one tiny negative was the gentleman guest who insisted on monopolizing the living room for his cigar, thus ruining the evening for other guests. I would suggest a clear no smoking policy in all indoor areas! But that did nto detract from the warmth of the welcome or the comfort of the experience. A hearty recommendation to Riad Chergui.

Room Tip: Duff is lovely but so are all the rooms we looked at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serrig, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Nice and beautiful Riad but clearly overrated. Part of the staff not well trained and not service oriented... Privacy not respected, there is no possibilty to lock the room and once we came back in the evening our door was widely open....
Actually the fireplace is more a source of air pollution than a heating device.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Chergui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chergui

Address: 53-54 Derb El Halfaoui | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chergui 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At only ten minutes walk from the famous square discover the riad chergui an oasis of tranquility in the midst of the bustling marrakesh medina. Riad chergui with its 9 luxurious rooms offer the benefits of a hotel with the personalized friendly and individual family service. After visiting the sites and haggling in the souks come relax and cool off beside the pool under the shade of the palm trees or enjoy an invigarating massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Riad Chergui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chergui Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chergui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;