We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sejour, elegant decor and fabulous owner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chergui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Chergui to your Saves list
Riad Chergui
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   53-54 Derb El Halfaoui | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 1,134 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful sejour, elegant decor and fabulous owner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Thiis elegant small riad in the back alleys of Marrakech is a hidden gem. It has been lovingly restored with art works, top quality linens and a lovely dipping pool in one of the two courtyards. The rooms are Moroccan style and even details like the lighting have been thought through. The proof of a quality establishment is always in the warmth of the greeting and personal care and attention given by the owner. No detail of our comfort was left to chance. The owner goes out of her way to ensure the comfort of her guests. The one tiny negative was the gentleman guest who insisted on monopolizing the living room for his cigar, thus ruining the evening for other guests. I would suggest a clear no smoking policy in all indoor areas! But that did nto detract from the warmth of the welcome or the comfort of the experience. A hearty recommendation to Riad Chergui.

Room Tip: Duff is lovely but so are all the rooms we looked at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    33
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
83
208
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Serrig, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Nice and beautiful Riad but clearly overrated. Part of the staff not well trained and not service oriented... Privacy not respected, there is no possibilty to lock the room and once we came back in the evening our door was widely open....
Actually the fireplace is more a source of air pollution than a heating device.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A wonderful Riad for visiting Marrakech with fantastic service from Manu and her team. This was TripAdvisor at its best giving us the perfect base to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary - thank you to all previous reviewers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Rian Chergui was my peaceful haven a midst the chaos that is Marrakech. My room was spacious, with comfortable beds. I loved the pool and the lush courtyard. Our breakfast was adequate and served on the terrace every morning. The owner is full of information and really wants your stay to be a pleasant one and will cater to all of your needs. I would absolutely recommend this Riad and I would stay here again. Only criticism is it is located on a side street that is dark at night, but don't be fooled, it is very safe.

Room Tip: Room 1 is very spacious, great pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

As per all of the other reviews, this Riad is exceptional in its tranquility, the room was the smallest on offer but still perfectly presented and functional. The hosts were very helpful, with breakfast a particular highlight. I would absolutely recommend it, and would visit again.

The few minor criticisms, which if resolved would have earned 5/5 are as follows:

- The transfer from Airport to Riad (organised by the riad) dropped us off as close as possible, however, the driver immediately gave our bags to local youths saying they 'worked for the riad'. In fact they didn't, and were disappointed when we had no change to pay them for their assistance at the riad door. As a first time in a new culture, we felt somewhat threatened in the dark of night.
- The wifi signal does not reach far enough, there was no signal in room 4 nor the poolside area.
- I would have loved to have a seen a simple menu of lunchtime snacks, or options for dinner.
- In the evening, we experienced some noise in Room 4. I believe this was staff in the kitchen area. Fortunately our sleep was not disturbed. :)
- While I know you don't go on holiday to watch TV, the satellite TV in the lounge does not have a single English channel.

Wifi
Menu
Transfer
Noise
Satellite

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Paradise in the centre of mad Marrakech. Really good location.
Emmanuelle and her staff were the perfect hosts. Helped us with our car hire problems, without question.
Beautiful Riad, stunning pool area and a great breakfast. Worth every penny. The ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The fact that this is my 6th trip to Chergui should say everything, the Riad is always spotlessly clean, the welcome always warm and the service always impeccable. Thanks to Emmanuelle and Ilham as always. This has truly become one of my 'happy places' and I hope to visit many many many times in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Chergui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chergui

Address: 53-54 Derb El Halfaoui | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 1,134 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Chergui 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At only ten minutes walk from the famous square discover the riad chergui an oasis of tranquility in the midst of the bustling marrakesh medina. Riad chergui with its 9 luxurious rooms offer the benefits of a hotel with the personalized friendly and individual family service. After visiting the sites and haggling in the souks come relax and cool off beside the pool under the shade of the palm trees or enjoy an invigarating massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Chergui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chergui Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chergui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.