We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we were hoping for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chergui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Chergui to your Saves list
Riad Chergui
53-54 Derb El Halfaoui | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were hoping for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A wonderful Riad for visiting Marrakech with fantastic service from Manu and her team. This was TripAdvisor at its best giving us the perfect base to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary - thank you to all previous reviewers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    28
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
75
196
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Rian Chergui was my peaceful haven a midst the chaos that is Marrakech. My room was spacious, with comfortable beds. I loved the pool and the lush courtyard. Our breakfast was adequate and served on the terrace every morning. The owner is full of information and really wants your stay to be a pleasant one and will cater to all of your needs. I would absolutely recommend this Riad and I would stay here again. Only criticism is it is located on a side street that is dark at night, but don't be fooled, it is very safe.

Room Tip: Room 1 is very spacious, great pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

As per all of the other reviews, this Riad is exceptional in its tranquility, the room was the smallest on offer but still perfectly presented and functional. The hosts were very helpful, with breakfast a particular highlight. I would absolutely recommend it, and would visit again.

The few minor criticisms, which if resolved would have earned 5/5 are as follows:

- The transfer from Airport to Riad (organised by the riad) dropped us off as close as possible, however, the driver immediately gave our bags to local youths saying they 'worked for the riad'. In fact they didn't, and were disappointed when we had no change to pay them for their assistance at the riad door. As a first time in a new culture, we felt somewhat threatened in the dark of night.
- The wifi signal does not reach far enough, there was no signal in room 4 nor the poolside area.
- I would have loved to have a seen a simple menu of lunchtime snacks, or options for dinner.
- In the evening, we experienced some noise in Room 4. I believe this was staff in the kitchen area. Fortunately our sleep was not disturbed. :)
- While I know you don't go on holiday to watch TV, the satellite TV in the lounge does not have a single English channel.

Wifi
Menu
Transfer
Noise
Satellite

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Paradise in the centre of mad Marrakech. Really good location.
Emmanuelle and her staff were the perfect hosts. Helped us with our car hire problems, without question.
Beautiful Riad, stunning pool area and a great breakfast. Worth every penny. The ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The fact that this is my 6th trip to Chergui should say everything, the Riad is always spotlessly clean, the welcome always warm and the service always impeccable. Thanks to Emmanuelle and Ilham as always. This has truly become one of my 'happy places' and I hope to visit many many many times in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at RIAD Chergui with my partner for 3 nights on our visit to Marrakech. It's all been said here before so I won't waste time repeating other reviews.

Suffice to say this really is a gem of a place and you won't be disappointed.

We spent our time lazing by the pool reading, just occasionally venturing out into the madness that is Marrakech. Great location too, not right in the thick of things but with everything walkable.

Thanks to all the staff who helped make our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful riad, great location away from the hustle and bustle of Marrekech. Lovely pool area and roof top terrace. Great staff, very attentive and friendly..nice brekkie and dinner served near the pool area. Highly recommend..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Chergui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chergui

Address: 53-54 Derb El Halfaoui | Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At only ten minutes walk from the famous square discover the riad chergui an oasis of tranquility in the midst of the bustling marrakesh medina. Riad chergui with its 9 luxurious rooms offer the benefits of a hotel with the personalized friendly and individual family service. After visiting the sites and haggling in the souks come relax and cool off beside the pool under the shade of the palm trees or enjoy an invigarating massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Chergui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chergui Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chergui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.