We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holidays, fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Frankfurt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely holidays, fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

The Ryad Dar One is a wonderful hotel, located in the Medina of Marrakesh near the Bahia Palace!
Don´t be afraid of the way to the Ryad, you have to go through little streets but then you step into a little oase of peace and very friendly hotel employee!

We have been a group of 6 guys, half of the hotel rooms, we have booked!
Unforunately, the hotel manager was not there during our holidays there, but he was very kind by offering us his help even if he was in Europe!

The employees Hicham, Abdel, Amina and Co. were excellent - every wish we had (and as a big group we had a lot of wishes :)!!) was forfilled immediately. Doesn´t matter if you need a good Hamam, a Taxi, maps, they even organized a rare champagne for us because of a birthday (THANK YOU for that again ;)).

Taking about the birthday, the employees (Hicham and Ezra) even helped us in organizing a birthday brunch...really nothing to declare!! just wonderful!!!

Some people complained that the service was not good and that the female employees do not "contact" the guests!
You have to know that a Riad hotel is not a classical hotel! It is very familiar - so just ask your family for help and do not complain that a female employees are shy! Please, don´t forget, we are in Africa!

The rooms and the Riad at all is very clean. The rooms were cleaned every day, you get fresh towels, the air condition is always programmed for a cool room!

If you ever stay in Marrakesh, don´t hastitate to book the DAR ONE!! They are excellent in their business! And you feel like being at your family´s house!!!
GREAT!!!!
Nice greetings to the whole Dar One team :)!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    45
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
408
28
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I am not sure how I originally found out about Dar One, however I remember clearly that I thought I had found a gem between the hundreds of places to stay in Marrakech. It's difficult to live up to expectations following the atmospheric pictures of their website and all the rave reviews on Tripadvisor. But I must admit (together with our friends we were travelling with) that Dar One, his host but not less importantly, the rest of the staff have met and surpassed our 'expectations'. Our stay was very pleasant (5 nights), the rooms are very well/stylishly done and the staff (including owner/manager Jean) know how to treat guests. I would highly recommend (no I don't own any shares) staying there - I am also curious about the new place he is opening up in Marrakech Jan 2011.

Oh yeah... one other tip... try their lunch/diners... we only had dinner the last day, but it was the best in Marrakech..... (including some fancy restaurants)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Booking/ communication: We booked this Riad on the basis of the wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. Even before our arrival all communications were prompt, polite and helpful.
Location: The Riad is very centrally located - convenient to all the main sights of Marrakesh - nearby Bahia Palace. It is not that easy to find first time on your own, but a staff member came to collect us from the Bahia Palace, and once you've found it once it's a doddle. Jean provided a very comprehensive map of the medina (with all roads/ lanes included - very unusual) which was invaluable in helping us find our way around. We were a little surprised to find a charge for this map on our bill (as it had not been mentioned) but, as I said, it was invaluable so worth the cost.
Building/ room: The Riad is really beautiful - interior design has been impeccably executed, and it's so peaceful at all times of the day and night that it's difficult to believe it's so close to the hustle and bustle of the centre of Marrakesh. It was a pleasure to just be in the riad and soak up the atmosphere. We stayed in the small but perfectly formed Petit Prince room. The room was well equipped with A/C, lovely en-suite, fluffy robes and plenty of towels, a lovely comfortable bed, and complimentary small bottle of water each. We had absolutely no issues with noise (e.g. could not hear any call to morning prayer) despite my being a light sleeper.
Food: We had an evening meal on the roof-top terrace. A selection of delicious salads, followed by a terrine and dessert. Beautifully prepared delicious food. Breakfast - a selection of breads, pastries, and pancakes - was disappointing for me as I had informed tham that I am a coeliac; but my husband enjoyed it and staff were very helpful, happy to toast up some gluten-free breads I'd brought with me.
Staff: Every one was extremely professional, helpful and friendly and eager to please.
Overall: Cannot recommend highly enough. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Our stay in Riad Dar One was perfect thanks to Jean and his team who all worked hard to make our stay perfect.
We stayed in the Sorocco Room - which opened out onto the terrace and had it's own private rooftop terrace above. I believe this is the only room with a shower.
We had a delicious and well priced meal at the Riad, a lovely dinner with local food and wine. We also had a day in the Atlas Mountains organised by Jean - which was a great experience and a full day, again very good value.
We booked a taxi from the airport to the Riad through Jean that I would recommend as it would be virtually impossible to find the Riad by yourself.
Regarding the currency. We had to exchange your money into Dirhams at the airport. When we left you have to exchange or spend all your money before you go through passport control - as everything air side is in Euros.
Thanks to Jean and Riad Dar One for making our staying in Marrakesh even more wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

I would highly recommend staying at Riad Dar One if you were thinking of visiting Marrakech. The welcome and advice from Jean and his staff was spot on. We loved the city which was very vibrant, noisy, busy and so colourful. The Riad was such a peaceful place to come back to with a relaxing terrace and decorated beautifully. We had an amazing trip up into the Atlas mountains with a guide that Jean recommended. The most humbling and fascinating experience was having lunch with a Berber family in the middle of nowhere. We ate some lovely meals, the best tagine being the one we had at our Riad, served on the roof top terrace. I guess I would describe the main square, soukes and night market as Indiana Jones meets James Bond! Crossing the road and dodging the cars, donkeys, bikes and mopeds was a skill and created alot of laughs. Certainly an interesting city to visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIFE, SCOTLAND
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

I wanted somewhere special to stay for my wifes 50th birthday trip to marrakesh and Riad dar One is that special place. The owner Jean was a great help even before our arrival, helping us with our bookings for excursions, balloon trip and spa session, emails always answered promptly and in a very friendly manner.
We booked taxi from airport that Jean offered to provide and were glad we did as we were met by the Riad staff who whisked us down a couple of narrow poorly lit allyways ( 3 right turns ) to the gate to the Riad, which we would never have found without them.
Walking into the Riad is like entering an oasis of calm and style, it has been refurbished to an extremely high standard with a real eye for detail and finish. Our room was at the top of the house and opened onto the roof terrace, which felt like our own private space. We did have our own private terrace on top of our room as well and used it a couple of times for sunbathing. The room was very comfortable with gorgeous bathroom and was impeccably clean.
We had asked to eat at the Riad the night of our arrival and were served a wonderful Morrocan meal, with wine on the roof terrace, which was very romantic and a relaxing way to spend the first evening. My wife has to eat gluten free and this was no problem for the cook.We had asked about this before our arrival.
During our stay we were looked after by the wonderful Isham (hope the spelling is correct), his friendly and helpful nature was a delight and nothing was too much trouble for him.
The riad is well positioned, a short walk from the bustling square and souks and close to streets with shops and taxis etc.
We also ate lunch here during our stay, and have to say that the cook Amina, produced the best genuine Morrocan food that we had in Marrakech and very reasonably priced too, as was the wine and cold beers that were served to us.
Believe the reviews, it really is that good, it made our trip very special and we will return.
Thanks to Jean and your staff, especially Isham for everything.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke,UK
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

So many great things to say about Riad Dar One, and most have been said time and time again on Tripadvisor! Jean is the perfect host. His team worked hard to make our stay as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. Every restaurant recommendation was spot on, advice on where to purchase gifts was gratefully received and the organised trek in the Atlas Mountains with Hassan and lunch with a Berber family was a day to remember!
The Riad itself is elegantly decorated, with great style and thought. The Terrace above and the Lounge below are welcoming communal areas. The dinner we had at Dar One was the best meal of our stay and I would thoroughly recommend you dine by candle light on the Terrace.
Additional notes which you may find useful - The rooms have hairdryers and bathrobes, shampoo, bodywash and lotion, fresh flowers and complimentary water. Wifi is free - but does not work on the Terrace, only the ground and middle floors.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#50 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.