We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular- Elegance and Luxury- Not to be missed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Los Angeles, CA/Cordoba, Spain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular- Elegance and Luxury- Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

I stayed in Dar One Riad several months ago, and looking back over my photos feel compelled to write my first TripAdvisor review!

I'm a frequent traveler and have stayed in a variety of boutique hotels around the world. Dar One tops nearly every one, and is, by far, the best value for luxury. 5 stars all-around.

For a bit of elaboration: 1) The ambiance! The rooms, lighting, terrace, waterfalls, music, candles- super. I felt like royalty, really. I think the pictures attached sum it up. 2) The service was impeccable. The owner, Jean Peres, and his team of locals will help you have the best possible experience in the city/Medina and while lounging around the hotel. Through their guidance we were able to partake in the best of Marrakech's restaurants, nightlife, historical sights, cultural venues and local spas (wonderfully priced, too!) 3) Details, details, details- from the linens to the towels to the furniture. I pay attention to these things. 4) The breakfasts on the terrace (see pictures, enough said). 5) Location- right in the Medina.

These are just a few of the highlights. Admittedly, I'm a bit reluctant to post this review given that I'd like to have a relatively easy time booking a room in the future! But, alas, I see the secret is already well out; 167 reviews at a 5-star average on this website alone...You can rest assured this boutique hotel experience is everything one could want, expect and imagine.

Thank you Jean Peres and your (attractive ;) Dar One Team!! Hope to see you again soon.

Best,
Tracy
Los Angeles, CA/Cordoba, Spain.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    49
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
439
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

We stayed here because of the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. It is a delightful oasis in a manic city yet is very central. Room was a delight , the evening meal excellent and very good value. above all the attention to detail and the helpfulness of the staff quite exceptional
would highly recommend the trip to the Atlas mountains and the meal with the family. The guide jean recommends is verey good

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

In the midst of the Medina, the hotel offers peace, quiet and excellent service.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

We stayed here at the end of our stay in Morocco and we thought that Riad Dar One was far and away the best place we stayed. The Staff/Owner was very attentive and extremely helpful. The place is amazing, so relaxing and beautiful. Often website photos make you think a place is beautiful and then you are let down when you arrive- this is not the case here, the place really is as beautlful as the pictures.

The location is a little out of the way, but once you get used to Marrakech, the location is quite handy and safe. There is a man that waits by the alley gate to ensure the safety of the Riad and only lets guests in. He stays there all night and is on hand in the alley if any issues (not that we had any). Value for money is good but not great, as the Riad is on the pricey side- but we felt well worth it!

Finally we ate at the Riad for one dinner and we had the most romantic and relaxing experience. We received great advice on a good wine, the meal was 3 course and was amazing. I was a little over tagines and Moroccan food, but the food was the best we had in Morocco and we had an amazing night!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed at Jean's beautiful riad for seven days at the end of February and would happily recommend it to anyone.

The riad is hidden down some back streets, which can be a little intimidating at first, but once you're used to it it's fine - we never had any hassle from anybody apart from a couple of children asking if we had any sweets!

Immediately you walk through the door you find yourself in an oasis of calm - we arrived on a rainy evening, and found a fire blazing in the lounge and candles illuminating the seating areas. We'd anticipated being tired and hungry after a day of travelling, and had requested dinner - one of the best we had in Marrakech but incredibly filling! Breakfasts were fantastic too, with very, very fresh orange juice and delicious pastries served whenever you want it - we ended up have lunch only twice the whole time we were there.

Our room was Sirocco on the roof terrace, which was gorgeous - however, light sleepers should beware because the muezzin in the nearby mosque will wake you up at 5:30am... The call to prayer is only short though, and I had no problems getting back to sleep.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Someone is on hand 24 hours a day to cater to your every need, be it recommending and booking a restaurant or even negotiating a fair price with a taxi driver (I suspect we would have ended up paying well over the odds otherwise). A must do is a trip to the Ourika Valley with Hassan, a great guide who works with the riad. Having lunch with a Berber family was one of the highlights of our trip to Morocco.

We've been raving about Dar One ever since we came back and would certainly stay again. One of the best hotels I've ever been to.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

We stayed at this Riad for 5 days in February and could not have been more pleased with our experience there. Many others have noted the very excellent service of the owner, Jean, and his fabulous staff - I would second and third all of the positive comments!

I read a bit in a guide book somewhere saying that - staying at a Riad is like staying at a wealthy friend's home as a guest which feels like a calm oasis in the middle of a chaotic place (to paraphrase) - couldn't have described our experience better than that.

I would most definitely recommend arranging an airport transfer with Jean and his staff before your arrival. We never would have found the Riad on our own, as it is really tucked away in a series of unmarked alleys. It was worth the money and our sanity to have a driver waiting for us upon arrival at the airport, ready to take us to Riad Dar One.

The service at this Riad is above any other 5 star property we have stayed in when traveling. They go out of their way to assist you, and will aim to do whatever you ask of them. The people overall we encountered throughout this trip were super friendly.

Ask Jean and his staff for recommendations - they know everything about the city - from the restaurants to the price of items in the souks. I am thankful we asked so we knew what was fair for bargaining, etc.
Also, Jean arranged a day in the Atlas mountains for us with a local Berber man named Hassan. It was an INCREDIBLE day and worth every euro (or DHs) for the outing! We hiked between Berber villages and then had lunch with a local Berber Family in their home. There were NO tourists along this route which made it much more special and authentic. This guide, Hassan, only works with Riad Dar One and one other Riad in the Medina so if you have a day to take an outing, I would recommend it instantly.

Also, per other reviews we read, we arranged a trip to Les Bains des Marrakech - we spent a full afternoon here - HIGHLY recommend it! http://www.lesbainsdemarrakech.com/ - we did the Hamman duo - seemed very reasonable compared to spa prices in Europe and in the US and the place was really nice and relaxing. It was a bit challenging to find this location but luckily we found it in the end. The Riad staff drew us a brief map for our route to get to the spa which was quite helpful.

If you are headed to Morocco, make sure to stay a night or two (or more!) at Riad Dar One, it will be a highlight!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

We could not have been more impressed with this Riad. Please believe every review you read on here as that is what I did and they could not be more accurate! The Riad was perfect! We arrived at the airport and were greeted by a very smiley driver who drove us through the crazy streets of Marrakech to the Riad. It was early evening and the streets were filled with the hustle and bustle that is Marrakech! It was rather daunting going through the windy streets and stopping at what appeared to be a very scary alleyway! We were shown out the car and another friendly gentleman appeared to take our luggage for us. At this point I started the panic of, how do we know we're safe? Where exactly are we? etc etc. We were led down this alleyway and through a few others and then a gate was opened for us to walk down a cleaner nicer path leading to a random hidden large door which was opened by a wonderful man, Isham.

We were completely taken aback by the beauty of the Riad especially in contrast to the streets we had walked through. I straight away felt at home. Isham was wonderful, he showed us around the Riad and gave us a map and explained where places were.

We stayed in the Dune Room which has the largest deepest bath we have ever seen! It was magnificent.

Jean met us the following morning at breakfast on the roof terrace which was picture perfect. He is a perfect host, the suave and debonair man of the Riad! Accompanied by his two gorgeous, extremely well behaved dogs!

I don't want to give too much away about this hidden gem but we loved it and we are big critics!!! I would give it 10 stars if that were possible on here!

A tip for the best restaurant - it is international food however - Crystal at Pacha - ask Jean and he can help you book etc! Another must is Comptoir for a Morrocan delight; make sure you stay till around 10pm when the belly dancers arrive!

Haggle haggle at the souks, whatever price they start at you want to go to below a third of that!

If you do not stay at this Riad you will regret your decision! It is perfect in every way! The staff were so attentive, friendly and helpful and the host is second to none.

Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#25 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#26 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#15 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#55 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#62 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.