We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Excellent Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most Excellent Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

We stayed at this Riad for 5 days in February and could not have been more pleased with our experience there. Many others have noted the very excellent service of the owner, Jean, and his fabulous staff - I would second and third all of the positive comments!

I read a bit in a guide book somewhere saying that - staying at a Riad is like staying at a wealthy friend's home as a guest which feels like a calm oasis in the middle of a chaotic place (to paraphrase) - couldn't have described our experience better than that.

I would most definitely recommend arranging an airport transfer with Jean and his staff before your arrival. We never would have found the Riad on our own, as it is really tucked away in a series of unmarked alleys. It was worth the money and our sanity to have a driver waiting for us upon arrival at the airport, ready to take us to Riad Dar One.

The service at this Riad is above any other 5 star property we have stayed in when traveling. They go out of their way to assist you, and will aim to do whatever you ask of them. The people overall we encountered throughout this trip were super friendly.

Ask Jean and his staff for recommendations - they know everything about the city - from the restaurants to the price of items in the souks. I am thankful we asked so we knew what was fair for bargaining, etc.
Also, Jean arranged a day in the Atlas mountains for us with a local Berber man named Hassan. It was an INCREDIBLE day and worth every euro (or DHs) for the outing! We hiked between Berber villages and then had lunch with a local Berber Family in their home. There were NO tourists along this route which made it much more special and authentic. This guide, Hassan, only works with Riad Dar One and one other Riad in the Medina so if you have a day to take an outing, I would recommend it instantly.

Also, per other reviews we read, we arranged a trip to Les Bains des Marrakech - we spent a full afternoon here - HIGHLY recommend it! http://www.lesbainsdemarrakech.com/ - we did the Hamman duo - seemed very reasonable compared to spa prices in Europe and in the US and the place was really nice and relaxing. It was a bit challenging to find this location but luckily we found it in the end. The Riad staff drew us a brief map for our route to get to the spa which was quite helpful.

If you are headed to Morocco, make sure to stay a night or two (or more!) at Riad Dar One, it will be a highlight!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    49
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
434
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

We could not have been more impressed with this Riad. Please believe every review you read on here as that is what I did and they could not be more accurate! The Riad was perfect! We arrived at the airport and were greeted by a very smiley driver who drove us through the crazy streets of Marrakech to the Riad. It was early evening and the streets were filled with the hustle and bustle that is Marrakech! It was rather daunting going through the windy streets and stopping at what appeared to be a very scary alleyway! We were shown out the car and another friendly gentleman appeared to take our luggage for us. At this point I started the panic of, how do we know we're safe? Where exactly are we? etc etc. We were led down this alleyway and through a few others and then a gate was opened for us to walk down a cleaner nicer path leading to a random hidden large door which was opened by a wonderful man, Isham.

We were completely taken aback by the beauty of the Riad especially in contrast to the streets we had walked through. I straight away felt at home. Isham was wonderful, he showed us around the Riad and gave us a map and explained where places were.

We stayed in the Dune Room which has the largest deepest bath we have ever seen! It was magnificent.

Jean met us the following morning at breakfast on the roof terrace which was picture perfect. He is a perfect host, the suave and debonair man of the Riad! Accompanied by his two gorgeous, extremely well behaved dogs!

I don't want to give too much away about this hidden gem but we loved it and we are big critics!!! I would give it 10 stars if that were possible on here!

A tip for the best restaurant - it is international food however - Crystal at Pacha - ask Jean and he can help you book etc! Another must is Comptoir for a Morrocan delight; make sure you stay till around 10pm when the belly dancers arrive!

Haggle haggle at the souks, whatever price they start at you want to go to below a third of that!

If you do not stay at this Riad you will regret your decision! It is perfect in every way! The staff were so attentive, friendly and helpful and the host is second to none.

Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

away from the crowds but still right in the center of Marrakech Jean has created an island of peace and suttle elegance.
Jean is a source of any imaginable information, and a very welcoming host
The whole riad radiates his sense for detail and style, the highlight of our trip through Morocco.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

Our second trip to Jean's Riad. Still a wonderful team, very Zen atmosphere and a home from home. Nothing has slipped, standards are still high and the welcome is warm. Will always recommned this Riad as the place to stay in the Medina.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near manchester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

Myself and my partner stayed at dar one just before christmas for a week and it was our first trip to marrakech . it was definatley an eye opener going to marrakech as it was a place that we have both never experienced before !!

we did alot of research into dar one and we were not dissaponted with our choice as this is a superb riad to stay at - the staff are on call no mater what time of day that you need them and nothing is a problem to them - the rooms are lovely and clean and jean the owner is a superb example of how riads should be ran ! nothing is a trouble and they will sort anything out for you .

It was like being at home and was very warm and freindly - we have stayed in some exclusive hotels in the world and this riad came up to very good standards .

we had our breakfast on the terrace most mornings at it was private and the food was great .

we found at times marrakech was very over powering but at the end of the holiday we found it very addictive and became more aware of their culture. we just wish that the weather had been better but we did know what we were letting oursrelves in for as we checked the weather before we went .

If you are booking a trip to marrakech we would highly recommend staying at dar one as this is a beautiful riad set in spot that you wouldnt think would be there .

If we ever return to marrakech that is the place that we would book again .

many thanks again to jean ( and of course his delightful and gorgeous dogs ) and his staff for looking after us .

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

We came across Dar one via the Mr & Mrs Smith website back in June 09. As no rooms were available via the Mr & Mrs Smith website, we decided to contact Dar one directly. Jean replied to us within 24hrs and much to my delight confirmed that there was a room available to book for our stay, in Nov 09.
Our stay in Marrakesh was only for 2 nights. We were so impressed with the riad and the service provided by Jean and his staff that we plan to visit again, and have recommended the riad to all our friends.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

Riad Dar One is a wonderfully designed Riad. The entrance to the riad may throw you off, but once inside - it is incredibly beautiful. The service by hisham and Abdel is fantastic. In addition, definitely take advantage of their in house cook. The is wonderful, but be sure to book your meal 1 day in advance. Here are a few areas where I think the Riad can improve. 1. During the winter, the open courtyard's roof is covered which traps in insects (some flies and misquotes mostly) - I had a few irritating bug bites. 2. For the price, each room should offer a safe for valuables. 3. The rooms aren't the best at blocking out noise - maybe some minor insulation would do the trick. 4. The music plays pretty much all night and you can hear it in most of the bedrooms in the late and early hours. Other than that prepare yourself for an unimaginable stay here. Be warned, we stayed in 2 Riads at opposite ends of the medina, there is no way to to block out the sound of the morning call to prayer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.