We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chic riad that still feels like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“chic riad that still feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

i stayed in this riad for four nights on a recent trip to marrakech. it was lovely. my flight got in very late and even at 1am we were greeted by people from the riad to help us with our bags. we stayed in the smallest room, le petit prince, but i still found it nicely appointed and not too small or cramped at all. the riad is very nicely decorated and the rooftop very comfortable for lounging or eating. the daily breakfast was great and the owner, jean, was very helpful. be aware that not all the staff speak english, so if you don't know french their help can be quite limited. i would also suggest booking your transport to the hotel yourself. i found the taxi that the hotel arranged to be quite expensive.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    49
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
438
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

Riad Dar One was an excellent retreat at the heart of Marrakech. It was close to everything we wanted: Souks, restaurants, sites and monuments, and the Jama El Fna Square, but quiet and peaceful in our room. The decor of the room was modern but elegant and the staff was friendly and helpful, however the service was sometimes slow. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to get the most out of their Marrakech vacation.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

We trully enjoyed our stay at the Riad Dar One. Stayed for 5 days and explored the city.
The Riad offers all one has a need for and, when not at hand, one will arrange!
Jean & Staff are trying to accomodate wherever they can - thank you for being such wonderful host! - and will stretch if needed.
It's the place to have a relaxing stay, whether on the nice roof terrace, the room or in the court yard. Going to Marrakech is about getting out and explore. Feel the differences of culture, food etc. Therefore one should not expect stay in, lay back in bed and watch TV. That's not what Marrakech is about.
The Riad is very well located and well taken care of (design and maintenance). Trully your home when being in Marrakech!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Overall the Riad was so beautifully designed. it was modern but still had a very traditional Marrakeshi feel to it.

The staff were extremely polite and helpful and always made time to sit with you and discuss your day ahead over a mint tea. They always offered advice on your trip to make sure you werent taken advantage of by local taxis or restaurants as well.

The location is perfect, a really short walk from the hustle and bustle of the city centre but just far enough away to be a haven among the madness.

The rooms are beautiful, perfect whether your staying for 2 nights or 10 nights, good size. great decor and just a really peaceful place to spend your nights after a long day walking around.

We couldnt have asked for anything more from this Riad or from the staff. Our holiday was made so much better because of where we stayed and we would definately recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet modern Riad in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2009

My second visit to this Riad and enjoyed a really wonderful stay with my mom. Was very pleased to see the same staff there, all of whom were attentive, very friendly and incredibly helpful. For anyone who hasn't been you'll find the riad to be very stylish; the owner Jean has a lovely eye for small details - roses, candles, plants...and the home cooked food is worth having if you don't care to venture out. I will venture back I'm certain.

Other Tips: Bartering. Be prepared for a long drawn out process. It can be a fun experience and if you're good expect to pay half the orginal opening price. However, getting the locals to give you an opening price can be a headache...and can leave you feeling awkward if you've been in the shop for a good ten minutes and then decide that you don't wish to purchase...I purchased a leather belt for £13.00, a leather pouffe for £25.00 and a lovely leather bag fro £25.00 which we believed were fair prices.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2009

The Dar One is a great place, perfect location with a taste full interior and everybody is friendly there (even the dogs).

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

A beautiful riad/dar, kitted-out with impeccable attention to detail. Jean has made the most of locally made furnishings - picking out all the best stuff from the sea of throws, candles, lanterns etc on offer - to create an understated, but still very moroccan-feeling, decorative scheme.
You can't help taking photos of every detail, it all just looks so great.
Also, maintaining the decorative details, but muting down the colours, helps the place stay feeling authentic, but gives your senses a bit of a break after the sensory assault of the city itself.

Our room was spacious and comfortable, with an enormous dramatic bathroom, and their monogrammed bedsheets were probably the softest I've ever come across.

The staff here are great, and it seems like a very happy place to work - everyone has a smile for you. Abdel was especially lovely, and seemed overjoyed when we asked him to make us a fire in our bedroom. The lounge was a great place to relax with a drink, by the fire (it was cold in the evenings in December).

Food here was tasty - breakfasts were a little different every day, which was a welcome surprise, but always with great coffee & fresh orange juice.

We ate dinner at Dar One on our first night, which was delicious. It wasn't cheap, but we think it was our best meal of our month-long stay in Morocco, so definitely worth it.

Dar One seemed exceptional value for money, and significantly cheaper than other riads which were offering a similar class of accommodation. Marrakech is not a cheap place to stay in general. We booked via 'Mr&Mrs Smith' which also provided a good service.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#25 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#26 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 891 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#15 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#55 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#58 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.