We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tucked away treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tucked away treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights at the Riad Dar One at the start of our trip to Morocco. Beautiful Riad, hidden away down a series of narrow streets. We encountered great hospitality, with the entire staff always available to help, and always with a smile. The breakfasts were typical of the region, and it was really nice to take breakfast on the roof terrace in the sunshine.
Its a small Riad with just a few rooms, and we didn't spend much time in there, but we did eat one evening meal in there which is good. Wifi was free in the common areas, but didn't reach as far as the roof terrace.
Overall, it was a great choice for us - well located (close enough tot he action, but quiet as well), good value, clean and smart inside, with lovely breakfast.

Room Tip: The room at the top (on the terrace) has the most space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    48
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
424
28
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kanpur, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

My wife and I stayed in Dar One on the first leg of our honeymoon, in Jan '13.
The Riad is owned by a wonderful and hospitable French Gentlemen Jean Peres, and a stay here is just like staying in his home.

He was personally available to deal with our requests, and along with his staff, made our stay very comfortable.

What made our stay special were the small attention to details. Everything seemed to be tailor made for us, and the type of holiday we were on.

Apart from the staff and ownership, the other good thing about Dar One, is its location. It sits in a cosy lane just opposite the Palace, and a stones throw away from gold souks, and all the action of Djema Al Fena.

Top Notch. High recommend.

Room Tip: Try and get the room on the terrace, if it is available. They have a beach bed of sorts on top of it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

We arrived outside Palais de Bahia and Abdul the hotel staff was there to meet us and take us to the riad which is just a short walk away.
We arrived early evening to the riad and Jean the owner was there to greet us which was a nice touch. He also offered us the bigger room downstairs as it was available (at no extra cost) which most places probably wouldn't have offered!
The Riad itself is a far cry from the busy medina, as soon as we entered we could smell exotic scents, gentle music, perfect temperature and dimly lit lighting just makes the atmosphere feel so relaxed. You cannot hear a single sound which is surprising considering its just a wall away from the busy road.
The team-Abdul, ismail, hanid were fantastic, they are so friendly, helpful and so attentive, always offering mint tea if you're just chilling in the courtyard or living room. Also had the best breakfast omelettes for a long time!
On our last day, our flight isn't till the evening and we were allowed to use the room and leave our luggage in there until we leave (as it wasn't booked out) and even given a couple of lovely keyrings as gifts - bonus!
If I'm being picky, the only critisicm is that the wifi is very week in the room, but as soon as you step outside to the courtyard there is no problem. However when we moved the Petit prince room on the 1st floor on our last day, the signal was not a problem at all.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015 via mobile

Staying at Riad Dar One turned out to be one of the best decisions we made on our entire trip.

We found it incredibly difficult to choose which Riad to stay in but after much research we decided on Riad Dar One and am so glad we did. Marrakech was the last stop on our trip and we stayed in a Riad as opposed to a hotel or resort in each location as it was not something we could stay in at home.

As it turned out, Riad Dar One provided us with the perfect blend of location, facilities and price.

As it transpired, the location in the south eastern corner of the Medina was ideal for us as we enjoy being close to the edge of the city and find the centre of the Medina both inaccessible when carting luggage and too quiet at night. While we never encountered any problems at night anywhere on our travels we certainly preferred the company of others after hours.

To the Riad itself, we had organised to stay here whilst at our previous location and had arranged for the staff to meet us on arrival which they promptly and cordially did. We thoroughly enjoyed the excitement of being raced down busy roads and cobbled alleyways to be welcomed by whatever appeared on the other side of the Riad.

We were not disappointed with Riad Dar One which offered an incredible array of scents amidst beautiful interior design. We were warmly welcomed by the staff and shown to our room on the first floor.

We ended up staying for four nights and in three different rooms and couldn't fault one of them. They were all unique and offered more than enough space for two of us and our luggage. I understand from other guests there were problems with the hot water but we didn't experience it at any point but have always been frugal with water.

We really enjoyed the breakfast each morning and had the option of eating it on the roof terrace, in the lounge room (with open fire) or in the courtyard. We came to like the predictability of what was on offer every morning as it provided us with the sustenance we needed to get through the day.

We typically spent 8-9 hours a day exploring the town and really looked forward to returning to the Riad and settling in front of the fire in the lounge room for a drink before we went back out for dinner. On one occasion we had planned to say in (notification in advance required) for dinner and had the most sumptuous and generous meal. The size of the servings were quite overwhelming and we could have done with half the size and still been satisfied.

The staff were always very courteous and couldn't have been more helpful if we needed any guidance or even bookings.

We would highly recommend staying at Riad Dar One if you are looking for the experience that we wanted.





Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

After a short taxiride from the airport, your taxi stops in front of the Palais de Bahia and you enter the chaos of busy Marrakech. Luckily, the manager of Dar One is there to guide you and a few minutes later at the end of a small alleyway, you enter the beautiful quiet oasis of Dar One. A beautifully renovated Moroccan riad in modern colourful style with great large bathrooms. We loved the courtyard with water but also the complete and yummie breakfast on the roof terrace. The rooms are great and the bathrooms give the finishing touch. The personnel serves you when you need it but they donot bother you when you want to sit in the courtyard and relax. Dar One is a well-kept secret in Marrakech, and well affordable as compared to many of the other modern Riads. Our kids also liked it a lot.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Beautiful decor, a stylish, calm retreat conveniently located in the old town of Marrakech. There is always relaxing music playing throughout the riad and gorgeous scents of essential oils too. The riad kindly provided us with an extra single bed for our 7 year old and the main bed is king size which we shared easily with our 2 year old.

We were in the 'Sirocco' room which is located on the riad roof. This meant we had direct access to the gorgeous roof terrace (accessible to all guests). It was a great space for the kids (2 and 7 years) to run around! It also meant all the noise the kids made didn't disturb the other guests as most riads are quite small with rooms arranged around a central vertical courtyard space so noise can travel.

The staff were lovely and looked after us well. We only had dinner at the riad on one evening as we were out and about most other evenings - the food was absolutely delicious and the best meal we had in Marrakech! It was a little chilly but we still managed to have this meal on the roof surrounded by beautiful candles and stars above, very atmospheric.

Overall we had a fantastic stay at this riad and would have no hesitations in recommending it anyone.

Room Tip: If you have young kids, best to stay in the Sirocco room where there is enough space for an extra si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015 via mobile

I have only just started writing reviews but had to write something about my stay here last November. I stayed here with my boyfriend for a long weekend and we both agreed that this honestly is the best place we have ever stayed. The service was personal and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was helpful in helping us reserve dinners or direct us around the crazy city of Marrakech. It definitely was a calm safe haven in a very unfamiliar foreign city. Oh and the Riad always smelt divine. Thank you :)

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.