We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I spent 3 wonderful nights at Riad Dar one.
Jean the owner and the all crew were very helpful during my stay.
A peaceful place with a lovely and modern decoration that I recommand for your next stay in Marrakesh

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    619
    45
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
409
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I can really recommend this riad. It is very quite and cosy, which might be exactly what you need when visiting Marrakech.

We stayed in the room called "le petite prince" which was one of the smaller rooms, but it suited us perfectly. The room has dark and must have thick walls, since we never heard anything from the outside city (we slept like babies in our mothers wombs).

Regarding the location the riad is situated five minutes walk from Djama-el-Fnaa which we found great, since we could walk to the places we wanted to visit and then get back to the riad when the city felt to overwhelming.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

i have been going to marrakech for many years now but must admit this is the best place ever.
Would highly recommend it to anyone
10/10
Friendly staff. Reasonable priced food. In one word amazing.
I Will be back

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

this romantic Riad in a central location in Marrakech, is certainly a Haven in the bustle of Marrakech. The rooms are, as we say, well appointed, in fact, they had the best beds we slept in during our week in Morocco. This Riad is great for couples, it is very romantic.
Roof terrace was amazing especially at night with the smells and sounds of the city wafting up, it was magical. The staff were always around but never intrusive, indeed they were very helpful when needed. This is a place we will return to on future trips to Marrakesh.

Room Tip: Scirocco was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largs, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

If you are looking for somewhere exotic comfortable and central to stay in Marrakech. Then dar one riad is the place to stay. Stunning surroundings. Beautiful roof terrace and very comfortable rooms. The staff are excellent and will cater to your every whim. The location is very central and easy access to all the local attractions. We had a fantastic stay and were delighted with the service we received. We would definitely stay again and will be recommending to all our friends.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Dune Room, which was lovely - very spacious with a large bathroom but not much in the way of natural light... Wifi was also a struggle in the room, but not really what you go on holiday for! That said, the stay was overall excellent, fantastic helpful staff and felt like a very quiet antidote to the rest of Marrakech! Having breakfast on the roof was a real treat and the views over Marrakech are terrific!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Dar One scores high on looks and atmosphere. That said, there were many minor things that I found annoying. For example, the plunge pool looks gorgeous but it has so much chlorine that it made my eyes sting. The lights in our room (Le Petit Prince) were hung so low over the bed that I repeatedly hit my head on them. Or the $50(U.S.), ride that was arranged to the airport, which was actually a 5 minute drive. The staff is helpful with reservations and basic stuff. The breakfast is pretty basic by Moroccan standards (at least compared to the 7 other places we stayed in Morocco.) Stayed here with my boyfriend for several nights in October (no problems being a same sex couple). This place is actually in the Mellah. This has pros & cons, it is right near a major landmark which will make things easy if you need a cab(s). However, if you are going into the medina you have to walk about 10 minutes down several options of streets that are packed with motorbikers speeding through the streets...polluted, loud, hectic, not the most peaceful experience. Especially since there are other options closer to the souks and more in the "middle of things." I'd stay here again, but given there are so many Riads and Dars in Marrakech I'd probably tell a friend to explore some other options.

Room Tip: Le Petit Prince was pretty tight for two people with two bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_PERES, Propriétaire at Riad Dar One, responded to this review, November 12, 2014
Always difficult to discover such comments when guests never say a world to complain while they stayed with us.
We well noticed all the points those guests complained about and we'll do our best to improve.
We're always listening to advices and suggestions from our friends and guests and being present everyday at the riad it's so easy to tell us directly...
If it's true room "Petit Prince" is a little smaller than our other rooms but it was the one choosen and booked by those guests that knew from the begining they'll stay in it and it was a little smaller.
It's also our cheapest room...
For the motobikes in the medina... We're not sure to be able to do something...
It's part of Marrakech charm too and walk 10mn is not so difficult when you really enjoy the small and exotic streets of the old town.
We're finally sorry those guests didn't really appreciate their stay witch was globaly not so bad and we'd even say quite nice (at least if we believe what they told us while they stayed with us).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#51 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.