We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

I was recently for one week in Dar One.Verry central next to the
Bahia palace , and on walking distance to the souks and Jemaa el fna . Jean the owner of the Dar organised the taxi from and to
the airport. The Dar is realy an exemple of the perfect renovation,
The interior is very tastefull decoratet . The service of Jean and
his team is the perfection.Your can take a fantastic diner at the
dar,or the owner helps you with the choise of one of the delicious
restaurants in the naberhood . On the roof terrace is the solarium.Rooms,patio,salon are perfect claen. I can recommend
Dar One to everyone how wants a perfect stay in Marrakech.

Ronny Belgium

  • Liked — freindly staff , perfect service , beautyfull accomoddation.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    45
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
408
28
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2009

We have recently arrived back after spending 2 nights at the Riad Dar One. I can only echo what the other reviewers have stated before in that Jean and his staff are a credit to the tourism profession. We were greeted on arrival by Jean himself and provided with valuable advice about the city centre, where to visit, what to see etc all of which are those hidden extras that you really do value.

The accommodation was fantastic, minimalist but in a beautiful style helped by a communal area dominated by a rose petal covered pool and a roaring fire in the other room, complete of course with Jean's two lovely French Boxer dogs.

Being the first time in Marrakech we didn't know what to expect but it didn't disappoint with a complete shock on sight, sound and smell right before our eyes especially in the main square.

We ate at the KozyBar (recommended by Jean) and well worth it and also Le Marrakeshi overlooking the main square on the 2nd floor, lovely and very atmospheric.

We were a little worried by all the begging, pestering and bartering. However as long as you are firm and say no with a wag of the finger than the locals usually understand first time. The souks are very interesting, we managed to barter down for a bag from 300 dirhams to 70 dirhams, great effort!!

Two nights was enough for the centre itself, however if you are stopping longer than there are plently of trips out of the city centre to be had. The view from Jean's rooftop terrace gave a picture postcard view of the snowcapped Atlas mountains, close your eyes and you can almost think you are in Switzerland.

All in all a great stay made by Jean and his team and his fantastic Riad.

Thanks for a great trip, hope to be back soon.

P.S. the baths are like a previous reviewer has said, quite possibly the deepest and most amazing bathtubs I've ever had the pleasure of taking a soak in!!

  • Liked — The style, the roaring fire, the bathtubs, the welcome
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

Marrakech has been on our must see list for a while and so came with high expectations. We booked Riad Dar One through Mr. & Mrs. Smith website which we used for the first time, which we would also thoroughly recommend. As soon as we saw Riad Dar One we knew it was what we were looking for in Marrakech and it did not disappoint in the slightest. The staff are lovely and very helpful in every respect - we got in mid-afternoon from the airport so rather late for lunch and too early for dinner and Abdel (sorry if we spelled it incorrectly!) rustled up the most simple but most amazing omelette we have ever had which we enjoyed on the beautiful and serene roof terrace. We stayed in the Mirage room which is upstairs with the majority of other rooms. The Riad is perfectly decorated - lots of greys and taupes mixed with rich dark velvets and such. Our room was lovely - amazing tall ceilings and great light fixtures. Simple but elegant. The baths are insanely large and deep - if I could have a dream bathroom it would have one of these baths in it. There was always someone on hand to help but equally you feel like you have lots of privacy as they very much leave you to it if you want to be left alone. Sadly we did not meet Jean who everyone raves about. Next time we hope!

We went at an interesting time as it was Eid so the last day we were there was very quiet and only a few restaurants are open. If you find yourself in that situation note that the Le Grand Cafe de la Poste is open even on major holidays - a great restaurant on normal days and even more amazing when most things are closed. We spent a lot of time at Kozybar near the hotel which was great for pre-dinner drinks on the patio. We ate at El Fassia which is traditional Moroccan cuisine and run entirely by women - the salad starter is an amazing array of maybe 10 + small plates of little veggies. It is located in the new town so a taxi ride from the Riad. We also loved Cafe Arabe in the middle of our Souk tour - we recommend following Lonely Planet's souk walk - it is about 3 kms and we saw all the amazing shops and it was a great way for us to navigate it all. They list a great place to buy the Moroccan slippers and it was definitely the best quality we found. We still found it quite hard even with the lonely planet directions to not make mistakes and make a wrong turn and beware of the children offering to help as they all want you to give then some money for their assistance. We also went to Le Comptoir which is fabulous, very cool, but expensive. Great mojitos but you will pay London prices for them. The food is great and the service is excellent. Recommend the whole lamb shoulder for 2 - but beware it is a lot of food!! Two/Three days was the perfect amount of time for just Marrakech and Riad Dar One would be our number one choice next time we go.

  • Liked — The overall ambiance and decoration
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

I stayed in Riad Dar One with my girlfriend In late October and can happlily recommend it as a brilliant place to spend a few days in Marrakech.

The place itself is ideally situated a short walk from the main square, the souks and lots of great places to eat. The place is an idylic retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city offering a tranquil atmosphere to relax in with a lovely roof terrace to enjoy the Morroccon nights.

All of the staff are extremely polite and helpful and happy to assit in any way required. They are also good sources of information as to good places to eat and drink and are happy to make reservations for you if your French/Arabic is not quite up to scratch.

Riad Dar One was such a nice place to stay in and the staff were so great that when we go back to Marrakech we wont bother looking for aywhere else to stay and will book here straight away! Highly recommended

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

I had the pleasure of staying at Dar One from 29 - 2 November 2008. It really is just fantastic. The Riad is run by Jean, who has to be, in my experience (and I've had a lot of them), one of the most gracious, friendly and welcoming hosts of anywhere I've stayed.

The Riad is beautiful inside. It is done out in a modern French/Asian mix, complete with soft velvets in muted tones, takeladikt rooms and bathrooms, comfy chairs and a generally warm and cosy feel to it.

The whole thing has a gloss of absolute professionalism and service, from the perfect balance between friendliness and unobtrusiveness, to the beautiful breakfasts on the terrace and the beautiful egyptian cotton bedding. Jean has two gorgeous French boxer dogs, mother and daughter. I spent a happy few hours in my room, the fire roaring, Tosca the dog by my side with her tail wagging. Perfect.

The location is great and means that you dont have to walk through the souks at night, which is great. I ended up staying somewhere on the other side of town on the last night and nearly got locked in! At Dar One, it is a pleasant stroll home from the main square, past nice boutiques and the Bahia Palace.

Jean will happily recommend spas and restaurants and will make your reservations - do this as it is busy all the time. I particuarly liked Le Tanjia and Cafe Arabe - both great atmosphere and food. Kosy Bar was beautiful inside but the food was poor - quality wise ok (just) but the portions were a joke - not even a breast of chicken for nearly £20. I should also add that the food in the Riad looked AMAZING - a french family who were there when I was had a meal in the Riad, and they had nothing but good things to say - the best food they'd had apparently.

I could rave all day about the place, but I wont. What I will say is go there if you're going to Marrakech - thats if you can get in. Jean said that he is very busy all year round and this is testament to how brilliant this place is.

Jean - I know you read these reviews so thanks again for a wonderful stay - I came back relaxed and replenished. Please thank Hishram too. I miss the dogs already and my dog loved his Marrakech/Peres style collar - he looks great in it and I hope you dont mind me stealing your inspired idea!

Until next time, and will look forward to hearing about the future news.

John Spencer

  • Liked — The impecable and excellent service of Jean and Hishram, and the stunning room/bathroom
  • Disliked — I wouldnt fault any of it at all.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

It is a tall task to write something that has not already been said by other reviewers on this site but I am pleased to say that Riad Dar One is everything you have heard and more. It is a haven of sophistication, charm and cosiness, not easy to find in one package for a fair price. Jean, the owner is welcoming, knowledgeable and respectful never imposing but always on hand to help. The two lovely dogs Tosca mother and daughter Loukoum add to the homeliness of the place despite its refined decor. We spent a weekend there and felt it wasn't enough so hope to return in the near future. We stayed at the Sirocco room at the top leading onto the roof terrace which was lovely and flooded with light in the morning. Daily fresh flowers, tea, excellent food and a smile are guaranteed. Riad Dar One and its staff made our wedding anniversary very special, thank you.

  • Liked — Decor and comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

We loved our entire experience here at Dar One. The riad was beautiful. The owner was great, along with the staff. They gave us wonderful recommendations for restaurants, shopping and sight seeing.

It's a bit on the pricy side....but well worth it.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.