We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as the reviews suggest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“As good as the reviews suggest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place really is as calm, cool and well run as the reviews suggest. An oasis in an otherwise hectic and bustling city. The rooms are excellently appointed with one of the best beds and easily the best bath we've ever had. Staff were very helpful (although they neglected to mention the change of time due to ramadan) and while the breakfast is decent we were fortunate enough to have them prepare a traditional pigeon pastilla for lunch by the pool which was simply outstanding.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with a bath down by the swimming pool and would highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    599
    43
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
396
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A stunning old Riad, stylishly renovated and interior designed. Service which would put most five star hotels to shame. You would never know you were staying in the heart of the medina, its quiet and peaceful, a calm only occasionally broken by the call to prayer. Jean (the owner) was incredibly helpful before our arrival advising on restaurant bookings, a hot air balloon ride, and quad biking, all of which he booked and arranged on our behalf. The day and night managers, Abdel and Khalid are charming, knowledgeable, gentle and kind and incredibly helpful. All the rooms are stunning. We chose Sirocco which is on the top floor with its own private roof terrace which is secluded. There is an outside spiral staircase to access it, off the main roof terrace, which can be used by other guests, although no other guests did use it! One previous reviewer commented that all the rooms are dark. This is true, only Sirocco has windows to the outside, but this is the Moroccan way, to keep OUT the heat. The rest of our party stayed in the second floor Dune room, which was lovely, but had no outside space, but the biggest bath I have ever seen in my life!! The Riad feels calm and secluded and is an oasis of luxury in this vibrant, chaotic city. Coming back to the Riad at night when the candles were lit was always a treat. This is a truly special place, if you are considering booking, then do not hesitate, you will not be disappointed. Their website is very accurate, the photos are true to life (not always the case these days!) and we considered it good value. Do not miss the treat of dinner on the roof terrace one night. Breakfast is a simple yoghurt, breads, honey/jam affair with wonderful coffee and fresh orange juice. This was varied one day with the addition of pastries and boiled eggs on another. All delicious, all served with a smile. If I had to find fault then its a shame there is no wifi on the top floor which meant we had to go downstairs. Not really an issue, it was such a pleasure to sit in the gorgeous sitting room, or by the internal water feature that it was no hardship! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they made us feel they were there just to serve us, which they did absolutely brilliantly. A wonderful stay in the magical city.

Room Tip: Dune can take an extra bed for a child. Has an enormous bath and very high ceilings. Sirocco on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter (20) and I stayed at this Riad recently and as described below it is an oasis in a noisy busy city of dust and heat. Jean always greets his guests when they arrive and after many email exchanges with him I felt that we knew each other. He is a kind and gentle man with a wealth of knowledge about the area. It was his devoted staff that really made the stay for us. Abdel, Jean's right hand man, was particularly friendly and spoke excellent English. The other staff worked tirelessly to make our stay enjoyable. We'd like to especially thank those who carted heavy breakfast trays to all the guests on the terrace!
Another point about this Riad is it's interior, it has been decorated in a very classy and tasteful way with roses adorning all the tables in the lobby. We both highly recommend this Riad. TRAVEL TIP: take kids tee-shirts with you to give to the local kids as they LOVED the ones we gave them plus our clip on kangaroos. Thanks Jean and his team.

Room Tip: All rooms are great with the biggest one on the ground floor near pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Perfect oasis in the city, beautiful building located within the old city, amazing court yard, quiet, relaxing and the rooms are simply stunning. Staff were great. Would definitely recommend this little gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newbury, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Dar One from 26-30 June 2014, in the Dune room.

Plus points:
It's a lovely Riad, the decor is modern and really we'll thought through
Our room was perfect for us - and we think the best choice overall
The roof terrace is private and very relaxing
The staff are all exceptionally helpful and thoughtful (e.g. Jean notified a restaurant he booked for us that it was my birthday - the staff at the restaurant made a big fuss of me and sang when the dessert was delivered!)
The evening meal we ate there was delicious
The bath in our room was massive - my boyfriend (who is 6'2") could almost lie flat!
It's close to the main square - about a 10 min walk

Down sides:
There weren't really any major ones, but if pushed:
A little more variety at breakfast would have been good (perhaps fruit/cereal/fresh pastries)
The room was quite dark - but I think that you're likely to get that in most places near the square as it's so built up.
We really wanted the Sirocco room when we booked but were glad it was already booked - the room over looks, and opens out onto, the roof terrace. Which is lovely, but the terrace is for all guests to use and people are able to look in when you have the shutters open.

Room Tip: Go for Dune - it's on the middle floor, is super quiet and has a massive bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here in October 2012 during a trek through Morocco. This was the last leg of our trek and what a place to come to! I cant explain the floral aroma that greets you as you walk in or the peace that seems to encase you even though you are in the middle of Marrakech.

Our room was gorgeous, loved the big stone bathtub! We ate at the Riad on the first night, and enjoyed a lovely tagine on the roof terrace under the stars. On the second night the owner recommended a restuarant to us called Le Foundouk. We enjoyed a fantastic meal there after having had massages in our bedroom and manicure/pedicure downstairs in the lounge area (which played the most brilliant French lounge music).

Being able to walk into the medina from the Riad was great, as it meant a quick walk in, and a quick walk back when it all gets a bit crazy and you want to escape.

Do not hesitate staying here if you are in Marrakech!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helena
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed for two nights at the Riad Dar One in Marrakech, and have nothing but the highest praise for the entire experience. The Riad is warm, comfortable, and a real oasis amidst the excitement of Marrakech. It's central location makes it perfect for venturing out into the city, and it a welcoming place to which to return after a busy day. Jean Pere and the staff are exceptional, the food is excellent (and the rooftop terrace is the perfect place to enjoy it). I might add that I arrived late in Marrakech, and forgot to request dinner at the Riad. Unflappable, Jean Pere graciously offered to arrange for a light meal - I have not had that kind of gracious service in a long time! Additionally, my room was impeccably clean and quiet.

For those contemplating a stay at Riad Dar One, I also highly recommend the cooking class. Amina is a charming and talented chef who generously shares her knowledge and passion for Moroccan cooking. A truly enjoyable, and instructive, way to spend a few hours.

Thank you to everyone for making my stay so memorable!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.