We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dar One - You are our no 1!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 463 Hotels in Marrakech
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dar One - You are our no 1!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My daughter (20) and I stayed at this Riad recently and as described below it is an oasis in a noisy busy city of dust and heat. Jean always greets his guests when they arrive and after many email exchanges with him I felt that we knew each other. He is a kind and gentle man with a wealth of knowledge about the area. It was his devoted staff that really made the stay for us. Abdel, Jean's right hand man, was particularly friendly and spoke excellent English. The other staff worked tirelessly to make our stay enjoyable. We'd like to especially thank those who carted heavy breakfast trays to all the guests on the terrace!
Another point about this Riad is it's interior, it has been decorated in a very classy and tasteful way with roses adorning all the tables in the lobby. We both highly recommend this Riad. TRAVEL TIP: take kids tee-shirts with you to give to the local kids as they LOVED the ones we gave them plus our clip on kangaroos. Thanks Jean and his team.

Room Tip: All rooms are great with the biggest one on the ground floor near pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    45
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
408
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Perfect oasis in the city, beautiful building located within the old city, amazing court yard, quiet, relaxing and the rooms are simply stunning. Staff were great. Would definitely recommend this little gem.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Newbury, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed at Dar One from 26-30 June 2014, in the Dune room.

Plus points:
It's a lovely Riad, the decor is modern and really we'll thought through
Our room was perfect for us - and we think the best choice overall
The roof terrace is private and very relaxing
The staff are all exceptionally helpful and thoughtful (e.g. Jean notified a restaurant he booked for us that it was my birthday - the staff at the restaurant made a big fuss of me and sang when the dessert was delivered!)
The evening meal we ate there was delicious
The bath in our room was massive - my boyfriend (who is 6'2") could almost lie flat!
It's close to the main square - about a 10 min walk

Down sides:
There weren't really any major ones, but if pushed:
A little more variety at breakfast would have been good (perhaps fruit/cereal/fresh pastries)
The room was quite dark - but I think that you're likely to get that in most places near the square as it's so built up.
We really wanted the Sirocco room when we booked but were glad it was already booked - the room over looks, and opens out onto, the roof terrace. Which is lovely, but the terrace is for all guests to use and people are able to look in when you have the shutters open.

Room Tip: Go for Dune - it's on the middle floor, is super quiet and has a massive bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed here in October 2012 during a trek through Morocco. This was the last leg of our trek and what a place to come to! I cant explain the floral aroma that greets you as you walk in or the peace that seems to encase you even though you are in the middle of Marrakech.

Our room was gorgeous, loved the big stone bathtub! We ate at the Riad on the first night, and enjoyed a lovely tagine on the roof terrace under the stars. On the second night the owner recommended a restuarant to us called Le Foundouk. We enjoyed a fantastic meal there after having had massages in our bedroom and manicure/pedicure downstairs in the lounge area (which played the most brilliant French lounge music).

Being able to walk into the medina from the Riad was great, as it meant a quick walk in, and a quick walk back when it all gets a bit crazy and you want to escape.

Do not hesitate staying here if you are in Marrakech!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I recently stayed for two nights at the Riad Dar One in Marrakech, and have nothing but the highest praise for the entire experience. The Riad is warm, comfortable, and a real oasis amidst the excitement of Marrakech. It's central location makes it perfect for venturing out into the city, and it a welcoming place to which to return after a busy day. Jean Pere and the staff are exceptional, the food is excellent (and the rooftop terrace is the perfect place to enjoy it). I might add that I arrived late in Marrakech, and forgot to request dinner at the Riad. Unflappable, Jean Pere graciously offered to arrange for a light meal - I have not had that kind of gracious service in a long time! Additionally, my room was impeccably clean and quiet.

For those contemplating a stay at Riad Dar One, I also highly recommend the cooking class. Amina is a charming and talented chef who generously shares her knowledge and passion for Moroccan cooking. A truly enjoyable, and instructive, way to spend a few hours.

Thank you to everyone for making my stay so memorable!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

On our first trip to Marrakech, we happened upon this stunning Riad. All the positive reviews on Trip Advisor are spot on. Lovely hotel - staff are immense - nothing is too much trouble. Rooms are great - luxurious and glamorous. Location is marvellous - just a short walk from all the main sights, and just around the corner from some alcohol(in a largely dry country). Amazing roof terrace. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Thankyou to Jean and all the staff.

Room Tip: Mirage room has a beautiful bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have just come home from a weekend in Marrakech and stayed at Dar One, we were blown away with how beautiful it was!
From the minute we arrived the service was absolutely fantastic, Jean the owner and his staff were sooooo lovely and helpful!
We were cooked an amazing meal on the roof terrace on Friday night by the in house chef… the food was absolutely devine!
I will definitely be returning again at some point this year!! A MUST!!!!!

Bonnie

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#51 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.