We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary with fabulous service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sanctuary with fabulous service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Marrakech was the highlight of our trip to Morocco. The Dar One was the finest and our favorite of all of the riads we stayed in. The staff we exceedingly friendly and helpful. They provided excellent service and assistance anytime we needed anything. The riad's rooms were spacious and the towels, linens, sheets and bedding were by far the best quality we experienced. The riad was quiet and tucked away from the noise of the streets but had great access to the Medina and Kasbah. The staff led us to locations and went out of their way to help us and were on duty what ever time we returned and as two women travelling together we felt very safe. Additionally, the internet signal was strong enough through out the property to access it anytime (not true in other places we stayed). The tour guide/driver Monsieur Jean Peres recommended for our driving tour of Morocco, Faycal Benhida, was great. Faycal was knowledgeable about all the different areas of the country and a really safe driver. He went out of his way to pay attention to details and make sure the areas, places and restaurants we went to were somewhere he thought we would enjoy and fit our style. We will most definitely return. Thanks Jean! Karen , Fort Worth, Texas

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    45
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
408
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol UK
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Superb from start to finish, we can only echo the reviews of others. Location, comfort, staff, Riad Dar One has it all and it was a genuine pleasure to stay here. We had the Scirocco room which is on the top floor. Very quiet and of course with the added advantage of a lovely day bed on it's own balcony above excessively for use by people staying in the Scirocco. Just one word of advice though, to reach the balcony above there is quite a steep iron circular staircase, maybe not for those that aren't still spritely? We used the Riads pick up service from the airport as again as most first-timers have stated until you know how to get to the Riad it's best to be taken! The car drops you offf, someone from the Riad is there to help with cases and guide you to Dar One through some pretty amazing alleys. However once you know where you are it's very easy to find your way around. The Riad has an excellent personalised map, again a lovely touch. Our first night we had dinner at the Riad, quite exquisite. Breakfasts are freshly squeezed orange, coffee/tea, lovely toasted bread, tasty yoghurt and various pancakes.
One discovered never forgotten is Dar One. Wonderful. Oh one more thing, superb bedding, beautiful 100% Egyptian Cotton, heavenly.

Room Tip: Scirocco for me because it's on it's own
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My wife and I had a two night stay here and we would echo what previous reviewers have just said. Tucked away off the hectic streets and alleyways we had a wonderful welcome and found the staff very friendly and helpful. Our highlight was having our dinner prepared especially for us, the only diners, served on the rooftop terrace. It was a beautiful meal and was the highlight of our holiday in Morocco.
Great wee hotel. Thanks

Room Tip: Sirocco is very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was our second visit to Marrakech but our first stay in a Riad. Riad Dar One is a very special and unique place to stay. It has a very Moroccon feel with the most wonderful courtyard in the centre. The bedrooms also have a distinctly Moroccon feel but with the most fantastically comfortable beds and amazing bathroooms. The rooftop terrace is wonderful - a great place for lounging during the day on the incredibly comfortable day beds - but also rather magical at night when the whole place just glows with candlelight. Jean and his team are incredibly helpful and hospitable - they provided us on day one with an excellent map which includes recommendations of places to see and some great restaurants. They also arranged taxis, a tour guide, cooking and riding lessons outside of Marrakech. It was all completely hassle free and made for the most wonderful visit. We really couldn't fault the service in any way!

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms on the first floor. One on the right at the top of the stairs and the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Although I'm an experienced traveller and rely on the reviews of my peers, I'm terrible for posting my own opinion. But I felt compelled to share my experience of Riad Dar One with the travelling world. 

It goes without saying, the warm welcome and hospitality of Jean and his wonderful team made our experience truly memorable. Every request or concern we had was addressed with 'no problem' from the Dar One crew. I would whole-heartedly recommend any future guest to take in 'La Vie en Rose'; Jean's luxury private home where we were welcomed like family. We had a wonderful day enjoying a cooking course in the gorgeous and inviting surroundings. Make sure to bring swimming trunks for a dip in the pool afterwards!

I could go on about the beautiful decor, the freshly-prepared tasty food but you need to experience everything Dar One and Marrakech has to offer for yourself.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here upon our arrival in Morocco for only one night before a 4 day desert trek. The people who work at the raid could not have been more hospitable and accommodating. I was a little concerned when we were dropped off because it seemed like a sketchy area and we were taken through a maze of alleyways and buildings to get to the hotel. Once inside, the beauty and charm of the place took over and other thoughts I may have had.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at this riad as a family of three and were made to feel very welcome and comfortable. Jean Peres, the owner, was on hand to great us personally and he's a very nice, helpful and friendly person. He instantly put me at ease, even though there had been a mix-up in communication (our fault) and they weren't expecting our 12 year-old son to be with us. Regardless, everyone was as nice as they could be.

Breakfast was mostly carbs and jams, which seems to be the norm in Morocco, and there was perhaps a bit less variety in the offerings than I experienced at the other riad we stayed at in Fez, but it was still more than satisfying.

The riad itself is very modern and elegant in appearance. Sort of "riad meets 21st century". We really liked the ambiance and the common areas, including the roof, and were comfortable sitting in several different areas. The staff are efficient, friendly and helpful. There was only one glich, upon our departure we stressed several times that we were taking the train, but were driven to the airport instead. This happened even though I spoke to the day manager and driver in English and French to tell them that we needed the train station. Fortunately we allowed plenty of extra time and it all worked out well.

The location of this riad is perfect and they're in the middle of much of the popular sightseeing and attractions. The main square and souks are a leisurely 10 minute stroll away. The riad provided clear explanations and a very good map which we found very helpful. We'd definitely recommend this riad without reservation for couples or families.

The location is tucked-away in a side alley, and I doubt many will find it without detailed instructions or having to call the riad for help. It's a short walk to the main road, but twisty, and there are no signs. Once you know the way this is not a negative, but rather a positive since you feel that you've escaped to a haven after the crazy Marrakesh streets.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.