We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We agree with the fantastic reviews.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 472 Hotels in Marrakech
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“We agree with the fantastic reviews.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The wonderful reviews are true. The entire staff made sure we had what we needed for not just a great stay but a great trip to Marrakech. We relied on their recommendations several times and appreciated their advice for and patience with newcomers like us -- especially those who don't speak French or Moroccan Arabic -- to the city and culture.
To help other travelers make a decision, I thought I'd try to offer additional details or tips:
-- We stayed in the Dune room, and because we had a longer stay (a week), we really did appreciate the extra space it provides. Like the rest of the riad, it's a beautiful space.
-- The Dune room has a beautiful bathroom. Stunning. I'm 5'9" and could lie down in the deep soaking tub! The shower is hand-held, but before my fellow Americans disregard it, know it ends up not being a big deal because the tub is so big; you can easily make it work. Just in case you're wondering: great water pressure, very hot water, no plumbing issues, etc.
-- We suggest doing the cooking course at the end of your trip. Amina, the riad chef, shared some of her recipes (which are a treasure in themselves), and because you can relax in the gardens afterward, it really makes for a special day after a week in a busy Medina.
-- Be sure to have dinner at the riad too. We chose to do so twice, our first and last nights.
-- We asked Jean to arrange an English-speaking guide so we could visit Berber villages for a day trip in the foothills of the Atlas mountains and appreciated everything we learned. Our guide, Hassan, was friendly and genuinely interested in sharing his culture, and decided what to show us based on our interests.
-- Be sure to hear the call to prayer at dusk from the riad rooftop. Truly a memorable and peaceful experience.
-- The riad is pristine!
Thank you to everyone at Riad Dar One for a making our visit to Marrakech so comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    48
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
425
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Great place with friendly staff. They (the staff) were very helpful all the time. The room we stayed at was fantastic. Dar One is close to some really good restaurants. I'll highly recommend it if travelling Marrakech.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at Riad Dar One.

Jean & his staff were absolutely amazing and we cannot thank them enough for their first class service and hospitality.

Upon arrival we were greeted on the main road and walked down a couple of alley ways to the Riad. The contrast of walking through the old alleys then stepping into the luxurious Riad is brilliant. It makes you realise just how much time and attention has gone into transforming the place into a luxury oasis.

We were given a lovely pot of mint tea as a welcome beverage then shown around the Riad. The living room was so comfortable and inviting. The log fire made you instantly want to curl up and relax. The best materials and designs have been utilised throughout the riad and the lighting and music add to the wonderful ambience of the place.

We stayed in the Sirrocco room which had its own roof terrace and amazing views across the rooftops of the old town. The room was warm and inviting and we had freshly cut roses to match the decor. The bathroom was well appointed with complimentary toiletries and the bed was so comfortable that we struggled to get out of it everyday.

Breakfast is served whenever you want and where ever you wanted. The staff learned our preferences straight away, and as a result we never had to ask for anything. We felt like we were staying at our home away from home.

The Riad is conveniently close to most attractions. During our stay we walked to: Saadian Tombs, El Badi Palace, Jemaa el fna, the souks, Bahia palace, Les Bains de Marrakech and La Foundouk restaurant (the latter was a challenge but Jean made us a special map so we managed to navigate our way quite easily). We also went to La Comptior & L'Avenue both of which were less than a 20 minute ride away in a taxi.

Whenever we came home from dinner, we sat down by the fire and were always offered a beverage no matter what time of the night it was. Everyone was so attentive but in a very homely way.

It was my birthday on our final day and I asked Jean if we could have dinner at 5pm as our flight was leaving at 8pm. When we arrived back from our final run of the souks, dinner was ready and we had arguably one of the best meals in Marrakech. The food was fantastic, the setting was lovely and romantic and to top off our wonderful stay, they made me an amazing birthday cake.

We cannot recommend this enchanting place enough, we had such a lovely stay, we are returning in May.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just had the most fabulous stay in Marrakech, courtesy of Jean Peres & his amazing team at the Riad Dar One. I chose the Dar One on the basis of the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor and fully endorse them. The whole experience was wonderful - mainly because one is made to feel like a house guest of Jean Peres rather than a hotel guest. Much is on offer - golf, a day-trip to the Atlas Mountain foothills (including a most delicious lunch with a Berber family) with a wonderful guide Hassan, horse-riding & cooking lessons at Jean's house, La Vie en Rose. Everything is laid on with a smile and Jean's welcoming Gallic charm.
We had a fantastic time - merci beaucoup Jean!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I stayed here a few months ago, we loved it, Everything about it was brilliant. You walk down these small back alley ways, with children playing games on the street, and then through this old looking gate and into a very narrow alley. There is then a big ornate arch door, and you walk into a fantastic looking lobby area with a small pool filled with roses.

The hotel dogs will give you a warm greeting. The rooms are fantastic. Well designed and decorated. Beds are very comfortable.

Highlight of the the road, was sitting on the roof having a few Casablanca beers, and listening to the call to prayer.

Highly recommended..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavira, Portugal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed for two nights in Riad Dar One and another night in Riad Dar White.
Any of them are great choices for a visit to Marrakech.
We loved both Riads, but we prefer Dar White for the interior design and Dar One for the location.
In both the staff is very friendly and helpful, and we have also to thank Mr Jean Peres for make us a booking for Al Fassia restaurant.

We surely would choose one of this two Riads again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I was going to wait until I got home to write this, but realised I might never get around to doing it, so I write this sitting in the Riad.
This is the most amazingly tranquil place you could hope for in a crazy, crazy city.
The staff literally can't do enough to ensure you have the most memorable stay.
Last time I was in Marrakech we stayed in La Mamounia, which was nice, but if you want five star treatment within 10 minutes walk from the souks and square, this is where you need to be.
We came for my wife's 40th birthday and Khalid, one of the staff, organised her a beautiful cake and we were treated like royalty.
One of the other guys walked us over to the hammam to make sure we didn't get lost, then gave my wife a bottle of argan oil as a gift for her birthday.
Will definitely be back, thanks Jean and his team for the memories!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#41 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Splendia and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.