We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe The Hype” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Believe The Hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I was going to wait until I got home to write this, but realised I might never get around to doing it, so I write this sitting in the Riad.
This is the most amazingly tranquil place you could hope for in a crazy, crazy city.
The staff literally can't do enough to ensure you have the most memorable stay.
Last time I was in Marrakech we stayed in La Mamounia, which was nice, but if you want five star treatment within 10 minutes walk from the souks and square, this is where you need to be.
We came for my wife's 40th birthday and Khalid, one of the staff, organised her a beautiful cake and we were treated like royalty.
One of the other guys walked us over to the hammam to make sure we didn't get lost, then gave my wife a bottle of argan oil as a gift for her birthday.
Will definitely be back, thanks Jean and his team for the memories!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    591
    43
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
392
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had stayed in various places throughout Morocco and ended our holiday here. It was the best way to end our trip. Jean, Khaled and Ismail were fantastic hosts. They made us feel welcomed, well informed and they made all parts of our stay as comfortable as they possibly could. They were very nice as well as highly competent. The riad itself is beautifully decorated and the room we stayed in was lovely. The dinner we had at the riad was also the best meal we had had in Morocco - we wish we had stayed longer to eat there again!! If/when we come back to Marrakech, we will definitely come back here. We highly recommend this riad.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our second stay at Riad dar One excelled our previous experience, which surprised us. Two years on many of the staff are the same and the beautiful riad is as relaxing as we remembered. Jean and his team, inc Abdel and Miriam, are welcoming, accommodating, generous and helpful. They book tables at restaurants, help with taxis and general information - all without hesitation and always with smiles.

The entrance to the riad is 'guarded' by a wonderful woman and her family and entering from the busy road beside the Bahia Palace (through an arch you turn right, right and right and you are inside within seconds) you go from sensory overload to instant relaxation. Mint tea, open fires in winter, sunny terrace and great bathrooms.

If you feel like doing something other than staying in the city then the cookery course organised by Riad dar One at COOK (the owner's home) was amazing - Amina taught us wonderful Moroccan salads and tagines and then we ate together out on the terrace. Great value for money.

Email any worries in advance and Jean will reassure you and pre book a taxi from the airport to meet you.

Room Tip: Sirocco is private off the terrace upstairs, for bath lovers the ground floor one (can't remembe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Well located in the Medina, this Riad is a very good choice in Marrakesh. The rooms are nice and comfortable. There is also a nice terrace and nice patio in which you can have the honest breakfast. The Staff is very kind and the owner does whatever is possible to make you feel at home.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing stay here for 5 nights, with our 2 year old.

We stayed in the suite with the private terrace which I recommend- especially if you have a child with you.

The Riad has been beautifully restored and the rooms are lovely and impeccably clean.

A short walk to Djemma el fna, but a completely tranquil escape from the busy medina.

The staff were amazing! So helpful and welcoming. They all went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed and to make our stay easy and enjoyable.

We will certainly return to Marrakech one day and the Riad was a huge part of our experience in the amazing city!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon a couple of weeks ago. We had read all of the excellent reviews on tripadvisor and weren't disappointed. The riad is simply beautiful, with simple, tasteful decoration. Jean was so helpful and made us feel at home immediately. All other staff were also so kind and helpful, we could not have asked for more. The location is great and Jean provided lots of information to help us navigate the city. I would happily recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Staff amazing, they go out of their way to accommodate any requests. Abdul (day manager) made at least 6 calls to get me in for a massage at the last minute and then escorted me to the Hammam. On the day of check out he took us all the way to our new accommodation and then one day later returned some lost property to us, calling not once but twice until we were in. He wanted to make sure we got it!!
The room was excellent, bed and pillows just so comfortable. We really liked the fact that towelling robes were supplied.
Enjoyed the views and a wonderful breakfast on the rooftop.
The fact that Jean (the owner) replies so promptly to emails should certainly give you a clue that Riad Dar One would not disappoint.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.