We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service beyond expectation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“service beyond expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Staff amazing, they go out of their way to accommodate any requests. Abdul (day manager) made at least 6 calls to get me in for a massage at the last minute and then escorted me to the Hammam. On the day of check out he took us all the way to our new accommodation and then one day later returned some lost property to us, calling not once but twice until we were in. He wanted to make sure we got it!!
The room was excellent, bed and pillows just so comfortable. We really liked the fact that towelling robes were supplied.
Enjoyed the views and a wonderful breakfast on the rooftop.
The fact that Jean (the owner) replies so promptly to emails should certainly give you a clue that Riad Dar One would not disappoint.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    599
    43
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
396
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The stay was wonderful.
Outstanding staff, and at all times was very attentive and helpful.
We stayed with our room "petit prince", despite being the smallest of the riad, its size was enough for 2of us.
It breathes an atmosphere of peace and serenity, a few meters from the daily bustle. They have taken care of every detail, and is also very welcoming.
Finally, do not miss dinner at the give one, which by the way there to warn him in advance, but we assure you it was the best meal we had in Marrakech, both for the quality of food, and its preparation. Shall pass an unforgettable night.
No doubt this is a good choice to stay in a riad in Marrakech.
cant wait to be back and stay for a long next time. we recommend this to every body wants to stay in marrakech. thank you again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Wow! What a few days we've had in Marrakech and staying at Riad Dar One could not have been a better choice. On arrival you are made to feel extremely welcome and enter an oasis of calm from the bustling street. Jean and the team offer the best service you can hope to find...from the arrival chat with Jean for an overview of the city (complete with mint tea...of course!) to the team helping you navigate your way around the city....nothing is too much!
We stayed in the Petit Prince room, which is the smallest room in the riad but it was perfect for a few days with a large walk in shower and luxurious bedding. Other comments around the rooms being dark during the day are true but why on earth would you stay in your room with an amazing roof terrace at your fingertips .
Breakfast is served at your time of choosing, which is brilliant for those who enjoy a lie in. I would thoroughly recommend eating at the riad for lunch or dinner. The chicken tagine was probably the best one we had in the city (and we tried a lot!) so don't miss out on eating here.
The rooftop terrace is beautiful and a great place to relax during the heat of the day or enjoy the call to prayer at sunset, as this is a real experience. I'm not an astronomy fan but check out the stars from here.
Aside from all of the above (and more!), one of the best reasons to stay is the location. We only took a petit taxi once (to Jardin Marjorelle), as the city is easily accessible from here on foot and to be honest is the best way to explore and experience the vibrance of this city! You also get to walk off the main roads to get to the riad so can greet the locals and enjoy the children's bongo playing!
Amazing! Thanks to everyone at Riad Dar One for making our holiday incredible!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

As has been said by most other visitors, the quality of service is what really sets this riad apart. As soon as you walk into the beautiful 6-bedroom 'house', Jean (the owner) welcomes you, provides recommendations, is happy to arrange your evening and help you navigate the local customs to ensure you have a good stay. His staff are just as helpful and provide an incredible high level of service. Even when we checked out, one of Jean's staff escorted us to where the transfer car was picking us up (which was sent by another hotel and therefore not used to picking up people at the Dar One drop spot), called the other hotel driver to check where they were and waited until we were on our way. Jean and his team made our stay in the medina an absolute pleasure.

The riad has only 6 rooms so you have an intimate experience throughout your stay. Dar One also has a beautiful rooftop terrace where we relaxed and had some nice Casablanca wine. The entire house has been built in 2005 (I think) and is done up to a very high standard. Spotless, high-quality fittings and the biggest bath tub I have seen to-date! If you book early enough and can pick your room, we would recommend the rooftop bedroom which isn't that much more expensive but has its own rooftop terrace! We stayed in the bedroom adjacent to the lounge which was beautiful and cosy but it is next to the lounge.

But in the end, Jean and his team really made our visit an amazing experience to remember and based on their exceptionally high standard of service, I would highly recommend Dar One!

Room Tip: Pick the roof terrace room if you want your own rooftop terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a gem. A total find. It's in the heart of Marrakech yet away from the hustle and bustle. Jean and his staff are simply incredible in terms of the attention and care they give people. From the pre-booking correspondence, right through to the stay Jean was SO helpful. Everything was perfectly executed and organised for us, from the airport pick up, to lunch on arrival at the Riad, to our coach tickets through to Essaouira. We only stayed one night, more's the pity, but it was a wonderful experience. We would love to return. The maids, cooks, manager were fabulous and so lovely in the way they cared for us and made our stay so enjoyable. Can't recommend highly enough. Right adjacent to the Bahia palace and just a short walk to the main square. Location was fab. Thanks everyone at Dar One.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed at Riad Dar One for one night as part of and 8 day tour around Morrocco. We also stayed at the sister riad, Dar White.

Jean, the owner, is just fab. Great email communication and so accomodating, he made time to personally introduce himself to all guests. He got our room ready for 9.30am 9as we had arrived early from Essouria). The rest of the staff were great - they arranged taxis, baggage, directions - and even refused a tip - telling us - it was all part of their job.

I cannot understand the reviewers who have not given this 5 stars. The riad is beautiful, the rooms luxurious and the bathrooms amazing. This is like a 5* experience and such good value. The rooms are slightly dark - but all the riads we stayed in were like this as it is the design of the building. Also, who wants to spend a day in their room when in Marrakesh?!?

Everything was just perfect and staying here really added to our stay.

Room Tip: all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at Dar One for three nights (two 40 something young ladies!). The communication with Jean Peres before our stay was great, he answered all our questions and gave us costs and booked meals, taxis etc. Our arrival at the airport was delayed but we were greeted promptly by the friendly driver and driven straight into Marrakech (its a short very interesting journey). The houseman then took us by foot along the winding alleyways (not too far) to the door of the Riad. Dont be put off by the access, inside the Riad is a complete contrast to the streets outside, a calm quiet luxurious place! It is beautifully decorated and furnished and spotlessly clean. Our room was the Mirage, it was perfect in size, the bathroom was wonderful. We had an evening meal in the courtyard, it was delicious, one of the best during our stay. We ate our breakfast on the roof terrace which again is spotlessly clean and comfortable with lovely loungers and seating with shades. We were given lots of help, nothing was too much trouble. They anticipated our every need, we rarely had to ask for anything because everything was simple and already taken care of. We had a hammam at Bains de Marrakech which Jean booked for us, amazing experience. We wandered the streets around the Riad at all hours of the day and night and we werent worried or frightened at all. Its a very good neighbourhood and the locals were very friendly. Staff accompanied us on the journeys to destinations we werent sure of. In retrospect we feel we couldnt have chosen a better area or Riad to stay in. Jean and his staff are caring, professional and helpful taking pride in their hosting. We will be returning to this Riad as soon as we can free up our diaries.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.