We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely incredible” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Absolutely incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Riad Dar One is absolutely incredible. Jean and his crew bend over backwards to make sure that you are accommodated and happy throughout your stay in Marrakesh. Whenever we were unsure or hesitant about getting to a specific location, one of the staff would escort us. I had an idea of what we wanted to do before we arrived in Marrakesh, and Jean was able to arrange for some amazing experiences- a private tour with an official guide, a full day hike in the Atlas Mountains, a cooking class and a session at the best spa in Marrakesh. I will say that preparation is key and so much of what we did could not have been arranged last minute, so ask early! I can't wait to return.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    49
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
431
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
letchworth garden city
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed for two nights in this riad. It is beautifully restored and it was as lovely as we anticipated. If you book a riad you need to be aware that the rooms tend to be rather dark - we were in Mirage and the lighting was not good enough for the room to be an option during the day (unless you want a dark room) - although there are lots of places to sit and relax around the riad. Mirage has glass doors with curtains onto the central courtyard and is not a large room. I found that I got back-ache from the bed - an occupational hazard when I stay away as I have a weak back. We stayed in four separate places in Morocco and it was only this bed that caused me a problem - although whether a bed suits someone's back is a very personal issue - my husband noticed no difference between any of the beds that we slept on! The bath is immense although surely it is for looking at only - it just felt incredibly decadent to try and fill it up for a real bath - two of the other riads that we stayed in had the same amazing baths? The breakfasts were good with home cooked breads although not served until 8:30 - which we began to realise was the norm in Marrakech. When we left for Imlil our taxi was due at 9:00am and so going up for breakfast before 8:30 did not work - something (rightly or wrongly on our part) that we did not realise would be an issue. We did not meet Jean Peres but were helped by the other staff that we met during our stay - apart from our initial welcome and briefing they kept a low profile, responding when approached. The location is ideal - very handy for the sights including Jemaa el Fna. I have also reviewed the other riads that we stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We arranged transfers directly with the Riad, and they were waiting at airport. Transfer was smooth and we were at our Riad smoothly.
The room we stayed in was the Oasis, lovely bathroom, plenty of hanging space for cloths and bed was comfy with nice bedding and towels.
The Riad is central to all the sites and a good place to base yourself.
There is a roof top terrace to relax where we eat breakfast, breakfast consisted of toast pancakes ect and there was a variation daily.
We also had a meal on the roof top one evening which was fine.
If you choose to stay in a Riad I'm sure this will fit the bill.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Above all, awesome customer service, second to none. Jean and his staff were the nicest and most helpful people, they did everything to make us feel welcome and made sure we would have everything we needed for an unforgettable staying in Marrakesh. The riad is lovely and the location is super - 10 minutes nice walk to Jemaa el Fna, plus a lot to visit "just around the corner". We always felt safe in the neighborhood, even when walking around those narrow dark streets at 1am. The terrace day beds are great for relaxing after a long walk. Breakfast was very good as well. When staying in Marrakesh Dar One is the place you want to go to. I sure want to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and charming, it's hard to pick which one is the most lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Riad-dar-one is stunning Riad in the centre of the Mellah district (the old Jewish quarter) in Marrakech. Surrounded by spice markets, the Riad is a centre of calm and peace and quite in an otherwise non-stop city.

Jean and his team are fantastic - incredibly helpful, they helped us find restaurants, cooked for us, offered advice on where to go and helped us to arrange a cooking class at their sister hotel, a ranch outside of the city called La Vie En Rose.

We were in the Petit Prince - the smallest room, but by no means small. Beautifully decorated (as is the rest of the Riad, with a traditional Moroccan feeling, but touches of French design), with a fantastically comfortable bed and lovely bathroom, it was perfect for my partner and I. In fact, it was so good - I even proposed whilst there!

The bed was supremely comfortable, the room spotless and the bathroom ideal.

Breakfast was great, they even provided rice cakes (being a non-wheat eater), and dinner was spectacularly romantic - on the roof terrace of the Riad, surrounded by candles, eating beautiful Moroccan tagine.

As mentioned above, we booked in to the days cooking course at La Vie En Rose, which is run by Jean and his business partner. The ranch is amazing, about 10 minutes outside of Marrakech, with beautiful grounds, horses and a beautiful ranch building.

Our day started with our guide meeting us at the Riad, before taking us around the markets. Our first stop was the spice market, followed by meat and vegetables, before picking up a few other necessities for the day ahead. Our guide tailored the day for us - we decided to learn how to cook Chicken tagine with lemon, Moroccan salads, and some Moroccan-style pancakes for dessert. After the markets, we were picked up in the Medina and whisked off to the ranch. After tea and a sit down, we started our cooking lesson, which was equally great.

After eating what we cooked, we relaxed for a while in the hammocks surrounding the pool, before being taken back to our Riad, our guide even stopping on the way to help us buy some scarves.

To say we had a good time would be a huge understatement - we had a fantastic trip, one full of memories and experiences. We would recommend Riad dar One to anyone who was looking for a place to stay in the red city.

Room Tip: The petit prince was the smallest, but perfect and ideal for a few days visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in Dar One and their sister Riad, Dar White in January 2012. Staff were really attentive and helpful - they were pleased to assist when organising day trips and excursions.
The rooms were small and cosy, very clean and bathrooms in particular are very luxurious.
The Riad is located hidden away down some dark alleyways, which some may find intimidating, however we never encountered any issues.
Loved Marrakech and loved Dar One / White - would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from three nights at Dar One. It is an oasis in the Medina, and I can't say enough good things about the Riad and its staff. First, the Riad is impeccably decorated and both stylish and comfortable. Second, Jean, the owner, and all of his staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and look after you as if you were their own houseguest. We ate dinner on the terrace one night, and the tagine and spread of morrocan salads were delicious. The highlight of our trip was an excursion to the Atlas Mountains arranged by Jean. Hassan, the Berber guide used by the Riad, took us on a hike through several Berber villages with a stop for lunch in a local home along the way. We saw virtually no tourists, and Hassan was an incredible companion for the day, teaching us about the local customs and language and sharing stories about his life. It was a unique and unforgettable experience.
I highly recommend Dar One and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.