We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Riad Dar One
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Wellington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

5 mins walk from the Square, this Riad is a beautiful place to stay. The staff and owner were lovely, the rooms are spacious and clean, with a wonderful roof top terrace to have drinks on later in the evening. I would highly recommend this place for anyone traveling to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    49
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
56
440
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Only had the chance to stay one night at the Riad Dar One - but it certainly left a positive impression. The service is professional, friendly and helpful, the location handy but quiet and the rooms well sized and very comfortable.

Like most Riads it is quite a small hotel, so you do get the personal touch. The roof terrace is a great bonus for breakfast or a relax in the evening.

The images on their web site give a good indication of the sleek modern decor. My room had a huge bath with a window that opened onto the quiet lane - great place to relax after the heat of the day. See the Mirage room on the website.

I met a member of the team at a nearby landmark to get to the hotel - it is fairly impossible to find on your own! Unlike other parts of the Medina the neighbours are friendly. Lots of eating and drinking options nearby.

Room Tip: Check out the individual rooms on the web site - if available you can pick the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This place was awesome - really lovely riad, great location (close to square and also the souks), and fantastic staff. Our group particularly enjoyed the plunge pool and rooftop area. Would definitely recommend to others going to Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Riad Dar One. The service was amazing - the staff cannot do enough for you. Breakfast was lovely, the rooftop was enjoyable and we were able to enjoy drinks/snacks around the hotel. The staff were very knowledgable about the area and provided good advice. The room was spacious, clean and modern while being authentic to the culture.

Our room, Dune, had the added bonus of a little table and chairs right outside our room which we enjoyed sitting at for a drink before going out for dinner.

The hotel is quiet and peaceful which is exactly what is needed after a day exploring the crazy Medina.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Located in the heart of the ancient Medina, we chose this riad for it's sleek modern looks and glowing reviews for friendly service.

Reservations: Made via email. The owner, Jean, is very friendly and responsive. You'll also need to make a deposit via Paypal to secure your reservation.

Location: About 15-20 minutes from the airport. Definitely secure transportation from the airport to the riad. Once in this walled city, you'll have a very difficult time navigating the streets and tiny, pedestrian-only side streets. Located just steps from the Bahia Palace and 10-15 minutes from the massive Jemaa el Fna outdoor market. Everything important was walking distance.

Accommodations: Very pretty - photos are 100% accurate. Clean modern lines that still feel very Moroccan. We stayed in the "Saint Ex" - long, narrow space with cathedral ceilings and a dramatic Moroccan chandelier in the middle.This riad is very slient--like monastery silent. This can be great when you're returning from the chaos in the Medina. Our power and AC went out the second night due to another guest shorting an outlet. While this isn't the riad's fault, not having AC in 90+ degree heat was difficult. We also battled with the shower daily. The shower head seemed to have a mind of it's own. With no shower door, no matter what we did, water would go spraying and pooling everywhere in the bathroom.

Amenities: Our room, "Saint Ex," didn't have a TV/radio/iPod connector. WiFi, when working, was pretty non-existent. I know we're lame for having to check-in with work while on vacation, but we really needed internet access and also chose this riad based on the that stated availability.

Breakfast: Good. The daily servings of bread/carbs got a little repetitive. Would have loved an egg or any other protein to change it up a bit.

Service: 100% accurate -- very warm, friendly and caring staff. Jean (a French expat) was very nice and informative.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I would return to Marrakech again just to stay in this riad. It was simply beautiful - we had the sirocco room which is the most expensive of the rooms (although still increibly good value) - to anyone wondering whether that room iis worth the extra euros - it definitely is if only for the amazing views of the medina from the private terrace. The location was perfect, 2 minutes from the Bahia palace and the hustle and bustle of the city but once you arrive in the riad it feels a million miles away - it is very peaceful and has an exclusive feel. Breakfast is served whenever which was great for us. The staff are very pleasant- always smiling- and helpful and the service is very efficient and discreet - Jean deserves a special mention for his wonderful hosting - he made us feel very welcome and had a great deal of knowledge to share.

Room Tip: Book the sirocco - worth it for the private terrace. Also it is the only room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Pretty good location (although hard to find the first time), awesome atmosphere and awesome staff. The terrace on the roof is a really nice place to relax.

I was using the tripadvisor offline app for Marrakech and the location was completely wrong there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#24 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#27 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#12 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#7 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#15 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 445 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#34 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.