We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #20 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Riad Dar One. The service was amazing - the staff cannot do enough for you. Breakfast was lovely, the rooftop was enjoyable and we were able to enjoy drinks/snacks around the hotel. The staff were very knowledgable about the area and provided good advice. The room was spacious, clean and modern while being authentic to the culture.

Our room, Dune, had the added bonus of a little table and chairs right outside our room which we enjoyed sitting at for a drink before going out for dinner.

The hotel is quiet and peaceful which is exactly what is needed after a day exploring the crazy Medina.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    592
    43
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
393
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Located in the heart of the ancient Medina, we chose this riad for it's sleek modern looks and glowing reviews for friendly service.

Reservations: Made via email. The owner, Jean, is very friendly and responsive. You'll also need to make a deposit via Paypal to secure your reservation.

Location: About 15-20 minutes from the airport. Definitely secure transportation from the airport to the riad. Once in this walled city, you'll have a very difficult time navigating the streets and tiny, pedestrian-only side streets. Located just steps from the Bahia Palace and 10-15 minutes from the massive Jemaa el Fna outdoor market. Everything important was walking distance.

Accommodations: Very pretty - photos are 100% accurate. Clean modern lines that still feel very Moroccan. We stayed in the "Saint Ex" - long, narrow space with cathedral ceilings and a dramatic Moroccan chandelier in the middle.This riad is very slient--like monastery silent. This can be great when you're returning from the chaos in the Medina. Our power and AC went out the second night due to another guest shorting an outlet. While this isn't the riad's fault, not having AC in 90+ degree heat was difficult. We also battled with the shower daily. The shower head seemed to have a mind of it's own. With no shower door, no matter what we did, water would go spraying and pooling everywhere in the bathroom.

Amenities: Our room, "Saint Ex," didn't have a TV/radio/iPod connector. WiFi, when working, was pretty non-existent. I know we're lame for having to check-in with work while on vacation, but we really needed internet access and also chose this riad based on the that stated availability.

Breakfast: Good. The daily servings of bread/carbs got a little repetitive. Would have loved an egg or any other protein to change it up a bit.

Service: 100% accurate -- very warm, friendly and caring staff. Jean (a French expat) was very nice and informative.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I would return to Marrakech again just to stay in this riad. It was simply beautiful - we had the sirocco room which is the most expensive of the rooms (although still increibly good value) - to anyone wondering whether that room iis worth the extra euros - it definitely is if only for the amazing views of the medina from the private terrace. The location was perfect, 2 minutes from the Bahia palace and the hustle and bustle of the city but once you arrive in the riad it feels a million miles away - it is very peaceful and has an exclusive feel. Breakfast is served whenever which was great for us. The staff are very pleasant- always smiling- and helpful and the service is very efficient and discreet - Jean deserves a special mention for his wonderful hosting - he made us feel very welcome and had a great deal of knowledge to share.

Room Tip: Book the sirocco - worth it for the private terrace. Also it is the only room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Pretty good location (although hard to find the first time), awesome atmosphere and awesome staff. The terrace on the roof is a really nice place to relax.

I was using the tripadvisor offline app for Marrakech and the location was completely wrong there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

When we arrived in Marrakech we were picked up at the airport, which Dar One arranged.
Upon arrival we were greeted at the door by Jean Peres, the owner. He made us feel very welcome. The staff are courteous and polite and made us feel at home straight away. We had a few hours to relax then met with Jean Peres who gave us a detailed overview of places of interest and recommendations on were to visit.
The Riad itself it stunning. Tastefully decorated, with each room having its own character.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

A very good place to stay. Exceptionally friendly staff and very good location. Nice terrace, good wines and a silent neighbourhood.
Good value for the money
Small problems with electricity in our room but fixed quick

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just arrived back from riad Dar one! And WOW is all I can say... Had the best 2 nights ever.

I was blown away as I walked through the main door to the Riad... Breath taking. It's stylist, modern with that Moroccan twist.

I booked this weekend back in aug for a hen weekend. From the start jean was the host with most! Went above and beyond to make sure our weekend ran smoothly.

Everything was perfect. From Airport transfers, Riad, transport during stay, all reservations over weekend.

We have already started to arrange a return visit to this magical Riad in a secret garden!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.