We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Silent Riad in a Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #31 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Near Silent Riad in a Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Located in the heart of the ancient Medina, we chose this riad for it's sleek modern looks and glowing reviews for friendly service.

Reservations: Made via email. The owner, Jean, is very friendly and responsive. You'll also need to make a deposit via Paypal to secure your reservation.

Location: About 15-20 minutes from the airport. Definitely secure transportation from the airport to the riad. Once in this walled city, you'll have a very difficult time navigating the streets and tiny, pedestrian-only side streets. Located just steps from the Bahia Palace and 10-15 minutes from the massive Jemaa el Fna outdoor market. Everything important was walking distance.

Accommodations: Very pretty - photos are 100% accurate. Clean modern lines that still feel very Moroccan. We stayed in the "Saint Ex" - long, narrow space with cathedral ceilings and a dramatic Moroccan chandelier in the middle.This riad is very slient--like monastery silent. This can be great when you're returning from the chaos in the Medina. Our power and AC went out the second night due to another guest shorting an outlet. While this isn't the riad's fault, not having AC in 90+ degree heat was difficult. We also battled with the shower daily. The shower head seemed to have a mind of it's own. With no shower door, no matter what we did, water would go spraying and pooling everywhere in the bathroom.

Amenities: Our room, "Saint Ex," didn't have a TV/radio/iPod connector. WiFi, when working, was pretty non-existent. I know we're lame for having to check-in with work while on vacation, but we really needed internet access and also chose this riad based on the that stated availability.

Breakfast: Good. The daily servings of bread/carbs got a little repetitive. Would have loved an egg or any other protein to change it up a bit.

Service: 100% accurate -- very warm, friendly and caring staff. Jean (a French expat) was very nice and informative.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    46
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
51
415
28
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I would return to Marrakech again just to stay in this riad. It was simply beautiful - we had the sirocco room which is the most expensive of the rooms (although still increibly good value) - to anyone wondering whether that room iis worth the extra euros - it definitely is if only for the amazing views of the medina from the private terrace. The location was perfect, 2 minutes from the Bahia palace and the hustle and bustle of the city but once you arrive in the riad it feels a million miles away - it is very peaceful and has an exclusive feel. Breakfast is served whenever which was great for us. The staff are very pleasant- always smiling- and helpful and the service is very efficient and discreet - Jean deserves a special mention for his wonderful hosting - he made us feel very welcome and had a great deal of knowledge to share.

Room Tip: Book the sirocco - worth it for the private terrace. Also it is the only room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Pretty good location (although hard to find the first time), awesome atmosphere and awesome staff. The terrace on the roof is a really nice place to relax.

I was using the tripadvisor offline app for Marrakech and the location was completely wrong there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

When we arrived in Marrakech we were picked up at the airport, which Dar One arranged.
Upon arrival we were greeted at the door by Jean Peres, the owner. He made us feel very welcome. The staff are courteous and polite and made us feel at home straight away. We had a few hours to relax then met with Jean Peres who gave us a detailed overview of places of interest and recommendations on were to visit.
The Riad itself it stunning. Tastefully decorated, with each room having its own character.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

A very good place to stay. Exceptionally friendly staff and very good location. Nice terrace, good wines and a silent neighbourhood.
Good value for the money
Small problems with electricity in our room but fixed quick

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just arrived back from riad Dar one! And WOW is all I can say... Had the best 2 nights ever.

I was blown away as I walked through the main door to the Riad... Breath taking. It's stylist, modern with that Moroccan twist.

I booked this weekend back in aug for a hen weekend. From the start jean was the host with most! Went above and beyond to make sure our weekend ran smoothly.

Everything was perfect. From Airport transfers, Riad, transport during stay, all reservations over weekend.

We have already started to arrange a return visit to this magical Riad in a secret garden!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

On our last visit we stayed at the sister riad (Dar White) but this time we booked well in advance in order to experience Dar One. Wow! What an amazing place. We stayed in the Sirocco room on the top floor with its own private terrace accessed via a spiral staircase. The view over Marrakech was spectacular during the day and magical at night. The service was exceptional yet discreet. The whole riad was stunningly decorated and the food was absolutely delicious - especially the dinner we had one evening on the roof terrace. Unfortunately we didn't get to meet Jean Peres this time as he was away on business but we received excellent advice on where to go and what to see from Abdul and Kaleed. Dar One provides outstanding value for money and we hope to return again soon. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#51 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.