We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

When we arrived in Marrakech we were picked up at the airport, which Dar One arranged.
Upon arrival we were greeted at the door by Jean Peres, the owner. He made us feel very welcome. The staff are courteous and polite and made us feel at home straight away. We had a few hours to relax then met with Jean Peres who gave us a detailed overview of places of interest and recommendations on were to visit.
The Riad itself it stunning. Tastefully decorated, with each room having its own character.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    604
    43
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
398
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

A very good place to stay. Exceptionally friendly staff and very good location. Nice terrace, good wines and a silent neighbourhood.
Good value for the money
Small problems with electricity in our room but fixed quick

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just arrived back from riad Dar one! And WOW is all I can say... Had the best 2 nights ever.

I was blown away as I walked through the main door to the Riad... Breath taking. It's stylist, modern with that Moroccan twist.

I booked this weekend back in aug for a hen weekend. From the start jean was the host with most! Went above and beyond to make sure our weekend ran smoothly.

Everything was perfect. From Airport transfers, Riad, transport during stay, all reservations over weekend.

We have already started to arrange a return visit to this magical Riad in a secret garden!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

On our last visit we stayed at the sister riad (Dar White) but this time we booked well in advance in order to experience Dar One. Wow! What an amazing place. We stayed in the Sirocco room on the top floor with its own private terrace accessed via a spiral staircase. The view over Marrakech was spectacular during the day and magical at night. The service was exceptional yet discreet. The whole riad was stunningly decorated and the food was absolutely delicious - especially the dinner we had one evening on the roof terrace. Unfortunately we didn't get to meet Jean Peres this time as he was away on business but we received excellent advice on where to go and what to see from Abdul and Kaleed. Dar One provides outstanding value for money and we hope to return again soon. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

100% quiet, though centrally located in this vibrant city. Nice roof top terrace, wonderfully decorated rooms. Perfect service, good breakfast and very comfy bed, all new. I would always come back! Make an airport transfer arrangement and hammam reservation BEFORE you go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Jean Peres welcomed us like family & that atmosphere continued throughout our stay. We rented the Sirocco suite which sits alone on the 3rd floor adjacent to the public terrace. It has a private terrace above, accessed via a circular metal stairwell. Very comfortable & quiet. One caveat: This means 3 flights of stairs . . .

As others have mentioned, do not try to find the riad the 1st time on your own & let a staff member guide you, but once you see the route – through some narrow alleys – it is easy & you will always be warmly greeted at the gated entrance. It is about a 15 minute walk to Jemaa el Fna.

The staff literally went above & beyond to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. My wife had a cellphone issue which they really, really tried to help us with. Kudos to all!

The breakfast was standard Moroccan fare but fresh & good.

Jean also owns Dar White & has opened up his horse farm (with pool) for daily excursions. We did not go but I am sure that he maintains the same attention to detail there as well.

Highly recommended if you are looking for a calm boutique hotel experience in the madness of Marrakech.

Room Tip: The Sirocco Suite is very quiet on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We chose to stay at Dar One for our first trip to Marrakech and we were very impressed. It is very well hidden away and we needed help to find the hotel to begin with. I would definitely make sure you arrange for a transfer from the airport or for someone to meet you from the hotel to show you the way when you arrive. Once there you feel so far away from the noises and busy surroundings of Marrakech and feel like you are entering a retreat. It really feels like a special place to stay. The room was very traditional and clean and the roof terrace was beautiful with places to take breakfast (which was delicious). The staff were very helpful and friendly and I would highly recommend a stay here - we are hoping to revisit soon!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#35 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.