We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location & Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
London
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Perfect Location & Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Riad Dar One for 3 nights whilst in Marrakech to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. Based on the glowing reviews the Riad had obtained, the excellent value for money, and wanting to experience a stay in a Riad this was a top choice.

We booked a airport transfer via the hotel and were met and transported easily, we were then met at the archway which leads through the alleyways to the Riad. (3 Rights then a Left if I remember correctly!) There is a gated doorway to the Riad where there is normally someone sitting keeping watch! On entering the beautiful Riad we were greeted by Jean who showed us to our room. We booked the Mirage room. Lovely, atmospheric room, decent size bed, with bedsides, long shelf on one side of room, armchair and table, double wardrobes, and entrance to, again, lovely bathroom with gorgeous deep, huge marble/granite type bath, shutters/window above to feel the breeze, and lanterns overhead. A modern Morrocan style.

The Riad itself is, overall, beautifully presented. The inner courtyard with waterfall, a seperate living room with cosy fire and sofas. The roof terrace was a good space, but a little dissapointing as there were no views, and the day beds had seen better days. It was nice to sit up here in the morning for breakfast though. After we settled into our room we headed up to the roof terrace, for a glass of wine and Jean followed up afterwards to talk through the city sights and getting our bearings. All appeared straightforward!

We spent our first night at Gastro MK for the five course tasting menu, but got rather lost on the way there when the petit taxi dropped us off in a completely different place. Luckily we called into another Riad to ask for directions, who happened to be associates of Maison MK and promptly gentleman from Masion MK came and got us! We managed to find our way back all ok, it is very easy to locate the Riad as it is near the Bahia Palace gate, so even with the taxi drivers just tell them to drop you at the gate.

Breakfast was included in the hotel rate, and consisted of a selection of breads/pastries/jam/honey, and coffee or tea, orange juice and yoghurt. A decent start to the day. The staff, in general, were very efficient and Jean was very accommodating, we only saw him briefly though after the first day.

We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend this Riad, we thought it was very good value and, as previously mentioned, provided a welcome respite after wandering the sights and souks of Marrakech. It is also perfectly placed, and everything we wanted to see was within walking distance.

I have marked sleep quality down only because for me it was a little noisy. The doors to the room are patio style glass doors which did not keep out (or probably in) the noise. Noise from the inner courtyard and stairs carried up and was heard easily, would have preferred thick wooden doors for our own feeling of privacy, and seclusion from the noise but clearly this is a personal preference and also understand the light to be gained from having the glass doors.

On one another note, we had a fairly early morning flight on a Sunday. Because of this we advised the night before the time we would like breakfast, then again my husband went down in the morning advising we were on the roof terrace and would like breakfast and black tea/coffee. We were brought, a while later, mint tea, then the tea/coffee we were asked for and on asking again about breakfast were told it would be 15 minutes. After another 25-30 minutes we went downstairs as we now had to leave to get our transfer back to the airport. We spoke to someone who had just come on duty and were told the other gentleman had said we said no breakfast required!! We were aggreived because this was clearly wrong, and it was a shame, after such a great stay, to leave on such a bad note. I did email Jean advising of what happened who apologised and said he would look into it, of which we are grateful.

Overall a great place, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    43
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
399
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at Riad Dar One the night we arrived in Marrakech for one night before a desert excursion, and two nights after. Both stays were so very relaxing and comfortable. Jean is a true host, always has an easy smile, and is so great to chat with. The staff reflect his personality as well and are very accessible and attentive to your requests, be it for a beer, an electrical adaptor, directions, etc. For the two night stay my husband and I stayed in the smaller Petite Prince room, yet it was very comfortable and just fine in size. We had such good sleeps at the riad as it's so very quiet at night, and the beds and linens are very comfortable and cozy. Towels and bathrobes are fuzzy and soft.

The entire riad, although still maintaining a sense of Moroccan charm, also has a very subdued spa-like feel. There is soft music playing in the background, there are wonderful diffused aromas wafting throughout the rooms, and there is often a crackling fire in the fireplace.

Every time we made our way through the little maze to get to the riad, someone was there with the riad door open, as there are staff outside to alert them inside that you are arriving. This was a nice touch. We also really liked the positioning of the riad which is on the outer edge of the medina, meaning you can arrive easily by taxi instead of carrying your luggage through the winding paths of the medina. If you haven't been to Morocco before, trust me that this is a great benefit. Within a day we knew our way around easily and could get to the heart of the medina from the riad in a quick comfortable stroll (with many tempting shops along the way).

The continental breakfasts were presented nicely and could be served inside the riad or on the pleasant roof deck (which also has ample lounging space on nice days). And yes, they also have beer and wine! We fell in love with Morocco, and are hoping to return to Marrakech next year. When we do, it will definitely be back to Riad Dar One. There are hundreds of riads in Marrakech, but we found the one just right for us. Thanks again for everything Jean!

Room Tip: Wifi works best in rooms on first and second floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Booking this riad was the best decision we made for our trip to Morrocco. On sunny days, we sat on the roof for breakfast, and when it rained we sat by the open fire downstairs. The room was beautiful: this is the kind of place where they put flowers in your room in the morning. This was a welcome distraction from the hassle of shopkeepers, restaurant owners, and taxi-drivers in the rest of Marrakech. On top of this, it is next to the Bahia palace, just a few minutes walk from Jemaa el Fnah. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Fantastic. Gorgeous interiors. Superb staff. Perfect location. Dream riad. It was my 2nd visit to Marrakech and I wish I came to Dar one the 1st time. The staff are a dream, so friendly and really go the extra mile. Flexible breakfast times were a bonus. TIP! BUY THE MORROCAN ROSE FROM THE RIAD! I practically lived off it. The rooftop terrace was ideal for lie down with a bowl of olives. The living room with the fire was an ideal place to open a bottle of wine and chat to others.

Riad Dar One is so good I have made friends book. I think I may book again very soon.

Thank you so much

Nicola and Robert

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

... if you love authentic architecture, a mix of puristic design & moroccan tradition, subtle colors, oriental scents and a warm-hearted discreet service - than you have to stay in Riad Dar One in Marrakech.

I love the cactus flower scent of the perfume lamp in the patio, the iris bouquet in my room, precious cosmetic products from "Les Sens de Marrakech" in the bathroom, strawberry-mint-salad for breakfast, the lounge music and the birds' twittering during the day and the romantic light of dozens of candles by night, ...

An stylish sophisticated oasis of well-being, harmony and peace in middle of that wonderful crazy city.

Special thanks to Jean, Abdellatif, Ismael and the ladies!

Sure I will be back soon ...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Everything about Dar One from start to finish is sublime. Warm welcome, friendly service where nothing is too much, not to mention the amazing decor and atmosphere of the place. Stylish yet understated, this place is classy. The rooms have a modem design feel but at the same time you know you are in the heart of the Medina. Breakfast is wonderful, and can eat out on the terrace if you like.

Owner Jean is so friendly and kind, he offered us drinks after we'd checked out as we were waiting for our taxi to the train station (unheard of in most places!).

If you come to Marrakech and are looking for something a little different to all the other Riads but not astronomically expensive treat yourself to a few nights at Dar One.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a fantastic riad in a great position. It's close enough to all of the main sights and attractions so that you can do everything on foot.
Really lovely rooms ( Dune has the most enormous bathtub you have ever seen ) and great breakfasts that set you up for the day.
The staff are really helpful and go out of their way to look after you.
Unless you know the city very well, take advantage of the airport pick up. It's tucked away from the hustle and bustle and tricky to find at first.
It's a gem of a place Jean - we will be back.
Vanessa

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#37 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;