We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa-like experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Vancouver
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spa-like experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed at Riad Dar One the night we arrived in Marrakech for one night before a desert excursion, and two nights after. Both stays were so very relaxing and comfortable. Jean is a true host, always has an easy smile, and is so great to chat with. The staff reflect his personality as well and are very accessible and attentive to your requests, be it for a beer, an electrical adaptor, directions, etc. For the two night stay my husband and I stayed in the smaller Petite Prince room, yet it was very comfortable and just fine in size. We had such good sleeps at the riad as it's so very quiet at night, and the beds and linens are very comfortable and cozy. Towels and bathrobes are fuzzy and soft.

The entire riad, although still maintaining a sense of Moroccan charm, also has a very subdued spa-like feel. There is soft music playing in the background, there are wonderful diffused aromas wafting throughout the rooms, and there is often a crackling fire in the fireplace.

Every time we made our way through the little maze to get to the riad, someone was there with the riad door open, as there are staff outside to alert them inside that you are arriving. This was a nice touch. We also really liked the positioning of the riad which is on the outer edge of the medina, meaning you can arrive easily by taxi instead of carrying your luggage through the winding paths of the medina. If you haven't been to Morocco before, trust me that this is a great benefit. Within a day we knew our way around easily and could get to the heart of the medina from the riad in a quick comfortable stroll (with many tempting shops along the way).

The continental breakfasts were presented nicely and could be served inside the riad or on the pleasant roof deck (which also has ample lounging space on nice days). And yes, they also have beer and wine! We fell in love with Morocco, and are hoping to return to Marrakech next year. When we do, it will definitely be back to Riad Dar One. There are hundreds of riads in Marrakech, but we found the one just right for us. Thanks again for everything Jean!

Room Tip: Wifi works best in rooms on first and second floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    48
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
424
28
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Booking this riad was the best decision we made for our trip to Morrocco. On sunny days, we sat on the roof for breakfast, and when it rained we sat by the open fire downstairs. The room was beautiful: this is the kind of place where they put flowers in your room in the morning. This was a welcome distraction from the hassle of shopkeepers, restaurant owners, and taxi-drivers in the rest of Marrakech. On top of this, it is next to the Bahia palace, just a few minutes walk from Jemaa el Fnah. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Fantastic. Gorgeous interiors. Superb staff. Perfect location. Dream riad. It was my 2nd visit to Marrakech and I wish I came to Dar one the 1st time. The staff are a dream, so friendly and really go the extra mile. Flexible breakfast times were a bonus. TIP! BUY THE MORROCAN ROSE FROM THE RIAD! I practically lived off it. The rooftop terrace was ideal for lie down with a bowl of olives. The living room with the fire was an ideal place to open a bottle of wine and chat to others.

Riad Dar One is so good I have made friends book. I think I may book again very soon.

Thank you so much

Nicola and Robert

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

... if you love authentic architecture, a mix of puristic design & moroccan tradition, subtle colors, oriental scents and a warm-hearted discreet service - than you have to stay in Riad Dar One in Marrakech.

I love the cactus flower scent of the perfume lamp in the patio, the iris bouquet in my room, precious cosmetic products from "Les Sens de Marrakech" in the bathroom, strawberry-mint-salad for breakfast, the lounge music and the birds' twittering during the day and the romantic light of dozens of candles by night, ...

An stylish sophisticated oasis of well-being, harmony and peace in middle of that wonderful crazy city.

Special thanks to Jean, Abdellatif, Ismael and the ladies!

Sure I will be back soon ...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Everything about Dar One from start to finish is sublime. Warm welcome, friendly service where nothing is too much, not to mention the amazing decor and atmosphere of the place. Stylish yet understated, this place is classy. The rooms have a modem design feel but at the same time you know you are in the heart of the Medina. Breakfast is wonderful, and can eat out on the terrace if you like.

Owner Jean is so friendly and kind, he offered us drinks after we'd checked out as we were waiting for our taxi to the train station (unheard of in most places!).

If you come to Marrakech and are looking for something a little different to all the other Riads but not astronomically expensive treat yourself to a few nights at Dar One.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a fantastic riad in a great position. It's close enough to all of the main sights and attractions so that you can do everything on foot.
Really lovely rooms ( Dune has the most enormous bathtub you have ever seen ) and great breakfasts that set you up for the day.
The staff are really helpful and go out of their way to look after you.
Unless you know the city very well, take advantage of the airport pick up. It's tucked away from the hustle and bustle and tricky to find at first.
It's a gem of a place Jean - we will be back.
Vanessa

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This Riad is a haven of calm and style in the hectic centre of the Medina. Decorated in a chic contemporary European style Jean, the owner, and his staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. This included resturant recommendations, breakfast on the roof terrace in the morning sun and wood fires in our room at night. The Riad's chef is fantastic and I would suggest an evening meal at the hotel is a must which can be catered to suit your taste.

I would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#43 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.