We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Riad.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Riad.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Loved this place. They organised a transfer from the airport so we got there easily and were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was extremely comfortable, well made and stylish, while the living room and foyer looked amazing, especially at night. The roof terrace is a great place to unwind, their food is excellent, while the whole lot is good value for money. Definitely go here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    604
    43
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
398
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Just returned from a weekend here with 4 other girlfriends. What can I say? The whole experience was fantastic! We were met at the airport and transported to the riad. When we arrived we had lunch on the gorgeous rooftop terrace. Very reasonably priced at E 12 each and good priced wine, and the food was plentiful and delicious. Jean Peres the owner then gave us some tips on where to go and booked our restaurants and taxis. He made it so easy for us all.The riad is perfectly located near Bahia Palace so easy for taxi drop offs and access to the main square.
The riad was stylish, cosy and had a great ambience. There are staff available 24 hrs to cook your food and provide drinks. We would sit in front of the fire in the cosy sitting room and have drinks before going out and when we returned in the evening. Nothing was too much trouble. Khalid was especially warm and friendly and always had a smile on his face.
All of our rooms were gorgeous with amazing bathrooms (on par or better than many 5 star hotels I have stayed in). The only slight issue was the shower attachment would not stay fixed and had to be used by hand but otherwise everything was perfect!
Our stay there was magical and cannot wait to return! Could not stay anywhere else now that we have found it!Amazing!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Dar One is truly an oasis of peace in the middle of Marrakech.

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights in December and loved it. The service was phenomenal, the atmosphere is welcoming and comfortable, the staff are fantastic (including the owner) and the location is great.

We stayed in the Oasis Room which is on the first floor. It is by no means big but certainly a good size and the bathroom was beautifully designed and styled. The entire Dar has a modern, simple, Moroccan style to it and has been very tastefully decorated. There is also a very comfortable lounge area with a running fountain and another quiet room on the first floor with a fireplace and couches. Our bed was very comfortable.

The staff were truly a highlight of our stay. We requested an airport pick-up and Fwed (spelling?) greeted us and was wonderful from the start. Dar One is very close to the Bahia Palace and because the streets are so narrow, you can't drive right up to it. Staff greeted us and walked with us through the labyrinthine streets. They had also helped us make dinner reservations, provided us with a map and very good directions for getting to the souks, and our first night walked us out to find a taxi and advised on pricing.

In the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, I can't emphasize enough just how wonderful it was to have a place that was quiet and really easy to relax in. We also ate breakfast up on the roof one of the mornings which was very nice as well as downstairs in the lounge area. The breakfast was like any Moroccan breakfast with plenty of bread, crepes, yogurt, fruit and juice.

Our entire experience at Dar One was wonderful. The staff are incredibly gracious and available. It is a very small building and there was always someone around in case you needed something and there is no question they would go the extra mile in service and hospitality. They were incredibly friendly and we can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: We only saw our room, the Oasis. The bathroom is sizable and one of the best parts of the room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Pretty much agree with all the positve comments. Our stay in early December was magical. Wonderfully clean, stylish and hospitable service. You could spend twice as much and not have as wonderfully an authentic experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed from Dec 13th - 15th.
The service was first class, rooms were beautiful and the staff so helpful.
Walking distance from the market, square and the palace.
This hotel feels more like a home and it just make you want to go there again and again.
I cannot wait to return there.
AAO

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in Dar One 13th-17th December.
When we arrived in Marrakech we were picked up at the airport, which Dar One arranged.
Upon arrival we were greeted at the door by Jean Peres, the owner. He made us feel very welcome. The staff are courteous and polite and made us feel at home straight away. We had a few hours to relax then met with Jean Peres who gave us a detailed overview of places of interest and recommendations on were to visit.
The Riad itself it stunning. Tastefully decorated, with each room having its own character. We stayed in Saint Ex, which was a lovely spacious room with high ceilings, a lovely big bed, a large bathroom with a huge shower. The Riad is very clean and comfortable.
Taking breakfast on the terrace was superb. Even for December we had sunshine everyday with temperatures topping 23c.
The Riad is a minute or so walk from Bahia Palace and around a 6-8 minute walk to Jeema El Fna square.
Although Marrakech is a crazy city, it is still an amazing place to visit, from the hustle and bustle of the Jeema El Fna square to the souks and further afield with tours to the Atlas mountains, which were breathtaking.
We chose to eat at various places to experience Marrakech, but one place did stand out that Jean Peres recommended, Le Comptoir, which was just outside the Medina. The is a trendy upmarket restaurant and bar, but still very Moroccan in decor. When we arrived they played live music and we also had belly dancers. The food is a mixture of classic such as Tagines, to modern Mediteranean.
Overall we had a great stay at Dar one. Jean Peres is a lovely host, helpful and friendly. The Riad is located well to everything. Although we had a continental breakfast it was slightly different everyday which was a nice touch. All the staff are always on hand to answer any questions or just to order some of there lovely mint tea. The lounge area with the log fire was lovely just to chill in the evenings. We shall certainly be visiting again!!

Room Tip: We choose Saint Ex room, whish is on the first floor. If you are a couple opt for a room on the 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The riad was absolutely beautiful, the service was brilliant and the atmosphere was just what we needed after a crazy day in the city of Marrakech! Breakfast on the terrace was lovely, I would highly recommend the Moroccan cake. Jean is a great host, and all the staff are lovely and very polite. The room itself couldn't have been better... Perfectly clean and very comfortable. Great attention to detail all round! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;