We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #20 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed from Dec 13th - 15th.
The service was first class, rooms were beautiful and the staff so helpful.
Walking distance from the market, square and the palace.
This hotel feels more like a home and it just make you want to go there again and again.
I cannot wait to return there.
AAO

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    592
    43
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
393
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed in Dar One 13th-17th December.
When we arrived in Marrakech we were picked up at the airport, which Dar One arranged.
Upon arrival we were greeted at the door by Jean Peres, the owner. He made us feel very welcome. The staff are courteous and polite and made us feel at home straight away. We had a few hours to relax then met with Jean Peres who gave us a detailed overview of places of interest and recommendations on were to visit.
The Riad itself it stunning. Tastefully decorated, with each room having its own character. We stayed in Saint Ex, which was a lovely spacious room with high ceilings, a lovely big bed, a large bathroom with a huge shower. The Riad is very clean and comfortable.
Taking breakfast on the terrace was superb. Even for December we had sunshine everyday with temperatures topping 23c.
The Riad is a minute or so walk from Bahia Palace and around a 6-8 minute walk to Jeema El Fna square.
Although Marrakech is a crazy city, it is still an amazing place to visit, from the hustle and bustle of the Jeema El Fna square to the souks and further afield with tours to the Atlas mountains, which were breathtaking.
We chose to eat at various places to experience Marrakech, but one place did stand out that Jean Peres recommended, Le Comptoir, which was just outside the Medina. The is a trendy upmarket restaurant and bar, but still very Moroccan in decor. When we arrived they played live music and we also had belly dancers. The food is a mixture of classic such as Tagines, to modern Mediteranean.
Overall we had a great stay at Dar one. Jean Peres is a lovely host, helpful and friendly. The Riad is located well to everything. Although we had a continental breakfast it was slightly different everyday which was a nice touch. All the staff are always on hand to answer any questions or just to order some of there lovely mint tea. The lounge area with the log fire was lovely just to chill in the evenings. We shall certainly be visiting again!!

Room Tip: We choose Saint Ex room, whish is on the first floor. If you are a couple opt for a room on the 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The riad was absolutely beautiful, the service was brilliant and the atmosphere was just what we needed after a crazy day in the city of Marrakech! Breakfast on the terrace was lovely, I would highly recommend the Moroccan cake. Jean is a great host, and all the staff are lovely and very polite. The room itself couldn't have been better... Perfectly clean and very comfortable. Great attention to detail all round! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Being a well seasoned traveller at both ends of the price spectrum I'm very fussy with hotels that describe themselves as boutique etc but fail to live up to my expectations. I needn't have worried where Dar One is concerned. This is a genuinely wonderful place to stay. The design and detailing are fantastic and wonderfully well looked after. Little touches make this riad stand out from the crowd and well worth staying in. The staff are perfect - available yet discreet - and are willing to help you out in any way they can. Always smiling and willing to put your comfort first. Great location in the Kasbah, a few minutes stroll to the main square and the souks. Really really happy about having chosen Dar One from amongst the many options available.

Room Tip: We had the room on the top floor with our own private terrace from which to enjoy the view and sunsh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon a couple of weeks ago. We had read all of the excellent reviews on tripadvisor and weren't disappointed. The riad is simply beautiful, with simple, tasteful decoration. Jean was so helpful and made us feel at home immediately. All other staff were also so kind and helpful, we could not have asked for more. The location is great and Jean provided lots of information to help us navigate the city. I would happily recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at Dar One toward the end of a 10 day trip in Morroco. The first thing you notice is the tasteful decor that is not just another variation of the tile motif in many places but is still in tune with the Morrocan experience. We stayed on the roof terrace room and it was the most comfortable bed of the trip. There are so many lovely well thought out touches it is hard to list them all
The staff were very helpful assisting in getting to locations, making reservations and recommendatioins that were all very useful. You often did not have to ask they volunteered when you brought something up. We had massage in the room and it was great.
Breakfast is the usual in the area but had interesting flavorful variations.
This Riad is very well located to getting into the heart of Marrarech and not too difficult to find once you have been there the first time in a city that can be very confusing.
I very much recommend this as a place to stay if your travel take you to Marrakech. you can book direct and do not have to go through Smith and Smith.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This riad is just beautiful. From the smallest room, which is Petit Prince, to largest room on top floor with terrace everything is elegant and the decor stunning. Breakfast was excellent and served by the pool in the atrium, due to inclement weather. Jean, the owner, was extremely helpful. He even offered me his phone to call home when my internet would not work, gave us suggestions on dining and made sure we had taxis ready and waiting when needed.
Loved our stay!

Room Tip: Petit Prince is elegant but at night with all the windows closed clautrophobics might have issues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#61 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.