We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Riad- like a boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Riad- like a boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This was an amazing find! Located right next to the Bahia Palace (so easy for taxi's to be directed to), it was an excellent location to explore the city. Just a few minutes walk from the Souk and the main tourist sites, yet was very quiet and relaxed once inside. This is one of the best places we've stayed. The Riad was beautiful and modern, from the sun drenched roof top terrace (yes even in the middle of winter) which had awesome sun beds, to the beautiful rooms with fluffy towels and matching bathrobes. This was truly a fantastic find that I can't recommend highly enough. The staff were extremely friendly, even coming out to meet us at the taxi when we arrived to take our bags in. It was like staying 5* boutique hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    604
    43
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
398
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Not much to add here, as we found all the positive comments here to be completely accurate. Loved our stay and will return.

Room Tip: We stayed in a couple of rooms, and "Dune" was our favorite for it's size and bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

delightful riad, lovely owner and staff, great breakfasts, lovely roof terrace, laid-back vibe, beautifully renovated and designed. can't fault it. definitely going back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed here for one week in the Sirrocco Room on the roof. The Riad was magical and relaxing. The staff were great and the meals wonderful . Even when we accidently tried flooding our room they were helpful and forgiving. Being off the Terrace was good and convienent. Marrakesh itself is an acquired taste. The zooming motorbikes, constant haggling and trying to find a clean place to eat is a bit of a challenge but worth going at least once in a lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is an excellent Riad in a great part of the city and they offer a fantastic room, brilliant service, with great people who work there. This is highley recommended and we will be staying there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We planned a trip to Marrakech for 10 people for my boyfriend's 40th birthday, and booked Dar One on the basis of the very appealing photos on the Riad's website and the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. The property owner, Jean Peres, organised everything for us, all requests were dealt with quickly and efficiently, and results were perfect; the success of the weekend is owed to Jean.
The staff, Abdel and Khalid (and the kitchen and cleaning staff), were also excellent, they catered to our every whim. Food was amazing, breakfasts included in the price were great, lunches of mixed salads with meats and koftas were arranged for each day either taken on the roof terrace or main courtyard; so much food, at excellent prices. A special dinner was organised for the evening, with excellent tagines.
The rooms are individually designed, and have a running theme of cool and contemporary with nods to the traditional elements of Morroco. Water, hairdryers, towels, shampoo/shower gel in all the rooms - definitely luxury hotel standards.
Transfers and taxis, these were all organised by the staff at the Riad, we all felt safe with the drivers, and were given an idea of the cost of the journeys.
Marrakech, the Riad is only a short walk from the main square, and also a short walk from Les Bains des Marrakech which Jean recommended (and organised for us) for Hammam and treatments, it was amazing. Entering the Riad through the private entrance from the crazy main square was a wonder each time.
For fear of repeating everyone else's reviews, the Riad is amazing, Jean and his team do a brilliant job.
We will definitely be visiting Marrakech again and there is no doubt we will stay at Riad Dar One.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Most people would think of me as anal and I would have to agree. But try as I might, I couldn't find anything wrong with this riad. It was an oasis amid the madness that is Marrakech. As a matter of fact I would have preferred to not leave the riad at all but my travel companion (unfortunately) had other plans.

There were two MINOR flaws maybe: the lighting in the bathroom is seriously dark (which goes well with the atmosphere of the place though) and the birds use the chair pillows up on the roof terrace to go about their business which isn't really what you want to look at first thing in the morning whilst waiting for breakfast. Unfortunately, turning the pillows over doesn't help as they are equally stained on both sides.

Other than that: PERFECT!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.