We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A deal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #17 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011 via mobile

Well we come to this review with a difference
We found this hotel after using tripadvisor whilst staying at the hotel we originally booked The Terre Resort and Spa.
We had spent 1 night at the Terre and were desperate to find somewhere else. Jean whose English was excellent offered us a room for one night at a push at the Riad at slightly reduced rate when we explained our predicament.
We said we would happily stay the whole duration at Dar one. But he was fully booked and explained he could only give us his smallest room.
We took it anything to get away from the Terre.
Jean arranged taxi to pick us up from Palmerie.
Upon arrival and a short walk away we were ushered into the quiet beautiful surroundings of the Riad.
Taken to the room by the excellent Abdul Latif the day time staff who works there.
I'm not going to gash but his service was excellent and super courteous.
He really made the place.

The room was fantastic loved it and small yes but not really.
Such a haven. Very thoughtfully decorated and the hanging lights by the bed were such a nice touch

The food was hand made on our first night and romantic place setting made up all part of the exceptional service at Dar one.
My only comment is that the food does require a sweet tooth and if you have a preference you need to express it before the meal is prepared.

The ambiance and dipping my aching feet in the pluge pool as it starts to get dark candles going and glass of wine served to us by Abdul at the plunge pool was my most memorable image from staying there.

Service is super top notch the staff are excellent and they make Dar One reputation.

Value was excellent for the style of hotel and can't recommend enough this jewel.

It says a lot that I loved it so much considering we had to pay twice for the duration of our stay. Leaving our original hotel the The Terre.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    43
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
400
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cartagena, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

There is nothing to add to other reviews of this Riad - it really is good. Small, friendly, excellent location, stylish and peaceful after the buzz of Marrakech. To nitpick, the rooms, though comfortable, have very small windows so do not have much natural light, an issue perhaps for the claustrophobic!

The best thing about this riad however is the management and the staff. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a genuine, happy smile. This is a place with the 'feel good' factor. To be recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

What can I add to what has already been written about this amazing place??? It is everything and yet so much more than you will read about it - the photographs really cannot do it justice. The aromas that you wake up to in the morning and the sounds of the birds make you believe that you are in a kind of sanctuary. After being in the Medina and returning to the tranquillity of Dar One, it is like entering a relaxing spa. Abdul and Khaled cannot do enough for you, bringing glasses of the excellent rose wine up to the roof terrace at any time of day or night. Abdul took my husband for a wet shave near to the riad and, I am told, that even though the place was busy, my husband was "pushed" to the front!!! We ate at Dar One on our first night and the food was truly excellent. I cannot finish this review without mentioning the owner Jean who is the most charming man who made us so welcome and took great care in ensuring that our stay was extremely memorable. We will definitely be returning to Dar One!!!! Susan and Gary Henison

Room Tip: We stayed in Dune room which I chose because it has the most enormous bath and a lovely high ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Riad Dar One is a perfect antidote to the hustle and bustle of the Medina in Marrakech! From the minute you step through the doors nothing is to much trouble for the fantastic staff who really endeavour to make your stay pleasant and comfortable.
The Riad itself is simply stunning with tasteful furnishings and atmospheric candles and water features.
We stayed in the smallest Petit Prince Room which was still very well proportioned and perfectly met our needs- the pillows were particularly fabulous!
The location of the Riad can not be matched for convenience- 10 minutes straightforward walk to the main square and the Bahia Palace is literally on the doorstep of the Riad.
We have already recommended Jean and his fantastic Riad to 2 other couples who are planning on making the trip to Marrakech early next year and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone else!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I highly recommend this riad, which is in a great position. close to the medina and the palace. Jean is a very interesting host and extremely helpful. He arranged a cheap car rental for us and we stayed at his other place, Dar White, on our final night in Marrakech. That is really fabulous, too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Wien, Austria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

If you are looking for a small, quiet and very romantic and "detail-loved" riad you are exactly right with the the riad dar one. its centrale, but i a quiet little street where at the entrance a nice doorman already wellcommes you, and the hotel it self is lovely. rooms are all different and very confortable, (bed, bathroom,...) the service is excellent and very very friendly and helpful with everything you need. you have a nice terasse on top which is the best place to relaxe and have a drink in the evening.
there is nothing which was missing at the riad dar one!
it s such a lovely and nice place, so you don´t want to leave again.
convince your self!!!!!

M&A from Vienna

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We have recently returned from a 7 day holiday in Marrakech. We stayed at Dar One for the first three nights, and it was fabulous. Jean had forgotten to book the chef to prepare our meal for the first night, and arranged for us to go to a nearby restaurant. He then gave us a complimentary meal (for 3 of us) on our second night to make up for the mistake which was delicious, and extremely generous of him. The Riad itself is an easy (and safe) 10 min walk from the main square, and feels like you are actually living in a spa. The candles, waterfall, furniture, lighting and most beautiful aromas have to be experienced to be believed. The roof terrace is great, and it's nice to chat to other guests and exchange experiences and tips. We were three ladies from Scotland and we stayed in Dune room which was lovely and had a very large bathroom. I have to pay particular mention to Abdel and Khaled, who helped to make our stay very special. Nothing is too much trouble for these boys, and I can't praise them enough. They will help with tips of good shops to buy from, unlocking my friends suitcase (she left her padlock at home!!) to bringing you drinks up three flights of stairs with a big smile!! Jean also made calls for us to the spa to sort out a booking (Le Bain de Marrakech - recommended) and to our hotel that we were moving to (Sirayane - see seperate review). In short, if I was returning to Marrakech, I would not stay anywhere else but here - it's fabulous, and I have nothing whatsover negative to say about it. Thanks Jean to you and all of your staff for a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: I only saw Dune, which had a double bed and a put up bed. My friend assured me the put up bed was c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.