We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing - more than lived up to our expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“amazing - more than lived up to our expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

Have just returned from a fantastic three night stay in Dar One. It's hard to say something that has not already been said about this stunning riad. Stylish, chic with friendly, attentive (but not intrusive) staff - we really couldn't fault it. We especially appreciated the little extra touches - the candles, the flowers and how we didn't even have to knock to get back in but were greeted by an open door and a smiling face (they must have heard us walking down the alleyway outside) Jean assisted us with ideas for restaurants and visits and on one occasion his inside information allowed us to name drop and get in to somewhere where we didn't quite meet the smart dress code! Although tucked away down a tiny alleyway there is a supervised gate at the top so we felt quite safe and it's an easy walk to the souks and the main square. Recommend getting Jean to arrange the pick up to and from the airport. I spent hours trawling through all the reviews for the different Riads whilst booking this trip - save yourself the trouble - just book this one!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    599
    43
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
49
396
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Stayed at riad dar one in march for 4 nights, a real gem in the medina, the hotel was beautiful, the staff were fantastic, particularly Abdul, and Jean was exceptionally helpful with any tips for meals out, trips worth doing. Ate at the riad on arrival, the food was also amazing.
I would highly recommend this riad if you're looking for a guaranteed beautiful hotel to spend your time in Marrakech. Thanks Jean and team.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011 via mobile

As we lie here on the terrace sipping mint tea looking up at the night sky we wish we weren't flying home in the morning. However long our stay at Dar One is, it is never long enough. This riad could not have been more appropriately named for here in this is definitely House One! Again we thank our Moroccan "family" for the unbeatable hospitality and look forward to seeing you all in June.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Jean the owner arranged for transfer from the airport into the city which took us to the stunning Riad he owns. The Riad is a tranquil oasis that has been lovingly restored, decorated and furnished. Staff were helpful and polite during our stay serving breakfast on the roof terrace. Rooms are jaw dropping in design and very clean. Jean was a helpful guide telling us where to go on the map and suggesting areas and restaurants to visit. He also arranged for a visit to a Berber village that was very special in the Atlas foothills. Definitely plan to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

Me & my boyfriend stayed here for a week and had a really good time. Both Jean and his staff are superb. They helped us out with everything. From transfer til and from the airport, which restaurants to eat in, which place on the nightmarket to eat, to trips outside this city. We stayed in the Sciroccoroom, up on the terrace. A perfekt place if you want to be alone and far from the other guests. The room has its own terrace where you can take fabulous pictures of the Atlasmountains and the town, but the weather wasn´t that great so we didn´t used it very much.
The Riad itself is a stunning place, set in the Medina on a small street near Bahia Palace and it takes you about 10-15 minutes to get to Jamaal El Fna (the big square) and the souks depending on the traffic.They even have a big room downstairs where you can see TV, use the the WIFI, have a glas of Marrocan wine in front of the fireplace or just relax at the fountain. You can choose to eat your breakfast down in the inside courtyard or on the terrace.
As the trip to mention, we went to the Ourikavalley up in mountains to see the waterfalls and it was a really nice trip and we really recommend to do it. Thinking of buying lamps go to the square near the Riad. The prices are MUCH better than in the souks. With this little review we just want to say THANK YOU GUYS FOR MAKING OUR TRIP TO MARRAKECH A TREMENDOUS ONE FROM PETER AND KATARINA

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed at Riad Dar One for 6 nights at the end of February/beginning of March 2011 and had a wonderful stay. Unfortunately, our flight was over 3 hours late and we arrived at 1.30 in the morning. Jean Peres, the owner had arranged for us to be met at the airport by a taxi, which we were very grateful for. Due to our delay the poor driver had been waiting for us for hours but did not complain when we eventually arrived. However, the charge for this on our hotel bill was quite high, so I think we had been charged for his troubles. One of the riad’s staff was up waiting to welcome us and to show us to our room. After a bit of a lie-in we got up and had breakfast on their roof terrace served by a girl with the most beautiful and warm smile. My husband still talks about her lovely smile.
We had the Oasis room, which was on the ground floor. I was a bit worried that it may be a bit noisy with people coming and going but, perhaps due to the thick walls, other guests did not disturb us. Or perhaps we were lucky that there were only considerate guests there during our stay. However, with the stone floors, I do think, it you had a guest in the room above in high heels, the noise would carry. Our room was very smartly furnished and very comfy and plenty of room to hang your clothes. There was a huge vase of red roses in the room. It was my husband’s birthday while we were there so I am not sure if it was for him or if they would have been there in any case. In fact, there were huge vases of fresh flowers everywhere plus lots of beautiful candles and subtle, atmospheric lighting around the riad. We had a large bathroom, which had a huge stone bath with a shower. My only complaint was that there was no shower surround and it was difficult to take a shower without getting the surrounding floor a bit wet. There was a long his ‘n’ hers washbasin, lots of huge fluffy towels, bathrobes, candles around the bath and a hairdryer. We had fresh towels every day. Our room also had a nice little open fireplace, which looked like it had been used – perhaps in the depths of winter. Although our room had lots of lighting, most of these gave out soft lighting and I felt the room was a bit dark for reading (or putting on my makeup). Maybe the rooms on the other floors were lighter. However, it is my experiences that riads are often a bit dark as a lot of them only have windows that look out into the inner courtyard. Some evenings when we returned to our room we found that the staff had lit a perfumed oil burner in our room – delightful! The roof terrace was nicely set up with seats and loungers. It also had a large lounging area, which had a huge shade over the top for if you didn’t want to sit in the direct sun. There was also a shower to wash yourself down after sunbathing. You could have breakfast or dinner out here if you wished.
We often took breakfast on the roof terrace. Alternatively, you could eat in the riad’s inner courtyard area on the ground floor.
The riad was beautifully decorated in a typical Moroccan style and I was told that most of the building’s features were original.
The staff were all so very friendly and obliging. Breakfast on the roof terrace mean carrying heavy trays up many flights of stone stairs but they never complained or made you feel guilty. They always had a genuine cheery smile especially Hicham and Abdel. They were attentive at all times. In fact, the warmth of the staff really added to the enjoyment of our stay.
Breakfast comprised of lovely freshly baked Moroccan breads, pastries and pancakes of different kinds with pots of conserve and honey plus English tea or lovely freshly brewed Moroccan coffee. In fact I did not have a cup of bad coffee the whole time in Morocco. Everywhere their coffee was lovely.
The courtyard had a lovely water feature with cascading water flowing into a pool, which had delightful rose heads floating on the surface. The courtyard was open to the skies most of the time but they do pull a cover over it if threatens to rain. There was an elegant lounge to one side of the courtyard, which also had a t.v. and an open fire.
Although they don’t have a restaurant as such at the riad, they will cook you dinner in the evening if you ask them that morning and you decide on your menu with them. We had dinner there on our last evening at the riad and it was wonderful and great value. They make the courtyard romantic and atmospheric with subtle lighting, candles, and the cascading water feature. We had a fish tagine for our main course and the whole meal was delicious. They also serve wine here if you wish.
Other places we ate at were:
Le Fondouk – great experience and lovely décor. Nice food. Staff very attentive but not particularly ‘warm’.
Le Tanjia – great experience, lovely décor, lovely food. Great belly-dancer floorshow.
Kosybar - not very Moroccan – more for tourists but a great place to go for just a drink or for a meal. Nice surroundings and live music most evenings.
Palais Chahramane – good Moroccan food and friendly staff. Very ornate Moroccan decor.
Riad Dar One is in a great location very close to the main sights of the Medina. It is located down a maze of alleyways with a final private alleyway, which is locked and manned in the evenings so you feel very safe.
The owner Jean Peres was often there and he would give you a map of the city and instructions on how to find your way home at the end of the day. He even gives you his mobile phone number in case you get horribly lost. He would also give you suggestions of what to see etc. He also organized a trip out into the Ourika Valley for us with a guide, Houssaine. Our guide was very knowledgeable and very interesting to talk to. For part of the trip he took us for a walk through the lovely countryside, through some interesting hill villages and we had lunch with a real Berber family. Worth doing if you have time!
The weather early March was perfect for sight seeing. Nice and warm with beautiful blue skies and not too hot for walking around. However, the temperatures does get close to freezing at nights so take a jacket for the evenings.
To get to anywhere in Marrakech you have to go down a winding maze of alleyways where you feel no sensible person would wander. But, in Marrakech, that’s where all the interesting places are. At no time did we feel unsafe or vulnerable. Marrakech is not like other cities. We did not see or hear of any petty crime. It’s a safe place to wander around.
While in Marrakech, enjoy the experience of the souks and the main sights, the noise, the chaos, the colours, the smells and the locals trying to sell you things you don’t want. Accept that you will get fleeced at some point during your stay and ‘give in’ to it. It’s a part of what a holiday in Marrakech is all about and you will go home with some tremendous memories.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Riad Dar One is tucked away in a quiet little street which makes it a perfect escape after a day's sighseeing, yet it is only a short walk to any part of the city. We had a fabulous lunch and dinner on the terrace during our stay. Both the food and wine/beer is very reasonably priced and there is always someone available to bring a botlle of wine or cold drinks to the terrace. Jean, the owner, visits often to make sure everything is running smoothly and will provide advice on sightseeing/restaurants etc. An absolute gem and we will certainly stay here on any return trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.