We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven of peace and tranquillity away from the mad hustle and bustle of the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar One to your Saves list
Riad Dar One
19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Warwickshire
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
127 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
236 helpful votes 236 helpful votes
“A haven of peace and tranquillity away from the mad hustle and bustle of the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed at Riad Dar One for 6 nights at the end of February/beginning of March 2011 and had a wonderful stay. Unfortunately, our flight was over 3 hours late and we arrived at 1.30 in the morning. Jean Peres, the owner had arranged for us to be met at the airport by a taxi, which we were very grateful for. Due to our delay the poor driver had been waiting for us for hours but did not complain when we eventually arrived. However, the charge for this on our hotel bill was quite high, so I think we had been charged for his troubles. One of the riad’s staff was up waiting to welcome us and to show us to our room. After a bit of a lie-in we got up and had breakfast on their roof terrace served by a girl with the most beautiful and warm smile. My husband still talks about her lovely smile.
We had the Oasis room, which was on the ground floor. I was a bit worried that it may be a bit noisy with people coming and going but, perhaps due to the thick walls, other guests did not disturb us. Or perhaps we were lucky that there were only considerate guests there during our stay. However, with the stone floors, I do think, it you had a guest in the room above in high heels, the noise would carry. Our room was very smartly furnished and very comfy and plenty of room to hang your clothes. There was a huge vase of red roses in the room. It was my husband’s birthday while we were there so I am not sure if it was for him or if they would have been there in any case. In fact, there were huge vases of fresh flowers everywhere plus lots of beautiful candles and subtle, atmospheric lighting around the riad. We had a large bathroom, which had a huge stone bath with a shower. My only complaint was that there was no shower surround and it was difficult to take a shower without getting the surrounding floor a bit wet. There was a long his ‘n’ hers washbasin, lots of huge fluffy towels, bathrobes, candles around the bath and a hairdryer. We had fresh towels every day. Our room also had a nice little open fireplace, which looked like it had been used – perhaps in the depths of winter. Although our room had lots of lighting, most of these gave out soft lighting and I felt the room was a bit dark for reading (or putting on my makeup). Maybe the rooms on the other floors were lighter. However, it is my experiences that riads are often a bit dark as a lot of them only have windows that look out into the inner courtyard. Some evenings when we returned to our room we found that the staff had lit a perfumed oil burner in our room – delightful! The roof terrace was nicely set up with seats and loungers. It also had a large lounging area, which had a huge shade over the top for if you didn’t want to sit in the direct sun. There was also a shower to wash yourself down after sunbathing. You could have breakfast or dinner out here if you wished.
We often took breakfast on the roof terrace. Alternatively, you could eat in the riad’s inner courtyard area on the ground floor.
The riad was beautifully decorated in a typical Moroccan style and I was told that most of the building’s features were original.
The staff were all so very friendly and obliging. Breakfast on the roof terrace mean carrying heavy trays up many flights of stone stairs but they never complained or made you feel guilty. They always had a genuine cheery smile especially Hicham and Abdel. They were attentive at all times. In fact, the warmth of the staff really added to the enjoyment of our stay.
Breakfast comprised of lovely freshly baked Moroccan breads, pastries and pancakes of different kinds with pots of conserve and honey plus English tea or lovely freshly brewed Moroccan coffee. In fact I did not have a cup of bad coffee the whole time in Morocco. Everywhere their coffee was lovely.
The courtyard had a lovely water feature with cascading water flowing into a pool, which had delightful rose heads floating on the surface. The courtyard was open to the skies most of the time but they do pull a cover over it if threatens to rain. There was an elegant lounge to one side of the courtyard, which also had a t.v. and an open fire.
Although they don’t have a restaurant as such at the riad, they will cook you dinner in the evening if you ask them that morning and you decide on your menu with them. We had dinner there on our last evening at the riad and it was wonderful and great value. They make the courtyard romantic and atmospheric with subtle lighting, candles, and the cascading water feature. We had a fish tagine for our main course and the whole meal was delicious. They also serve wine here if you wish.
Other places we ate at were:
Le Fondouk – great experience and lovely décor. Nice food. Staff very attentive but not particularly ‘warm’.
Le Tanjia – great experience, lovely décor, lovely food. Great belly-dancer floorshow.
Kosybar - not very Moroccan – more for tourists but a great place to go for just a drink or for a meal. Nice surroundings and live music most evenings.
Palais Chahramane – good Moroccan food and friendly staff. Very ornate Moroccan decor.
Riad Dar One is in a great location very close to the main sights of the Medina. It is located down a maze of alleyways with a final private alleyway, which is locked and manned in the evenings so you feel very safe.
The owner Jean Peres was often there and he would give you a map of the city and instructions on how to find your way home at the end of the day. He even gives you his mobile phone number in case you get horribly lost. He would also give you suggestions of what to see etc. He also organized a trip out into the Ourika Valley for us with a guide, Houssaine. Our guide was very knowledgeable and very interesting to talk to. For part of the trip he took us for a walk through the lovely countryside, through some interesting hill villages and we had lunch with a real Berber family. Worth doing if you have time!
The weather early March was perfect for sight seeing. Nice and warm with beautiful blue skies and not too hot for walking around. However, the temperatures does get close to freezing at nights so take a jacket for the evenings.
To get to anywhere in Marrakech you have to go down a winding maze of alleyways where you feel no sensible person would wander. But, in Marrakech, that’s where all the interesting places are. At no time did we feel unsafe or vulnerable. Marrakech is not like other cities. We did not see or hear of any petty crime. It’s a safe place to wander around.
While in Marrakech, enjoy the experience of the souks and the main sights, the noise, the chaos, the colours, the smells and the locals trying to sell you things you don’t want. Accept that you will get fleeced at some point during your stay and ‘give in’ to it. It’s a part of what a holiday in Marrakech is all about and you will go home with some tremendous memories.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    47
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
54
422
28
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

Riad Dar One is tucked away in a quiet little street which makes it a perfect escape after a day's sighseeing, yet it is only a short walk to any part of the city. We had a fabulous lunch and dinner on the terrace during our stay. Both the food and wine/beer is very reasonably priced and there is always someone available to bring a botlle of wine or cold drinks to the terrace. Jean, the owner, visits often to make sure everything is running smoothly and will provide advice on sightseeing/restaurants etc. An absolute gem and we will certainly stay here on any return trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Me and a friend stayed at Dar one for 3 nights during the weekend of the Marrakesh Marathon. Jean Paul and the team made us feel at home and we enjoyed mixing with the other guests in the salon. Nothing is up much for them and they will help with any arrangements or advice on the local area. Jean Paul even telephoned the marathon organiser to confirm some final arrangements.
I would also recommend the food and local wine, as its a great way to relax after a marathon. Would recommend this Riad to every one.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We stayed at Riad Dar One because of all the excellent reviews and we were not dissapointed.The staff are very friendly and helpful.The Riad is such a tranquil and attractive space and our room was perfect.
Access to the Riad is through some narrow alleys but we felt safe at all times.
The location is very good as you are within walking distance of the main square and other places of interest.
This is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Having been informed by my wife 2 years ago that I needed to arrange something special for her 40th I decided to go for Riad Dar One, Marrakech. Well, she wasn't disappointed and thanks to Jean, Abdel, Hicham and the rest of the Dar one team I have earned some serious points!

This Riad is amazing, from the moment you open the front door (after going through a series of alleyways that felt like you where in a scene from Indiana Jones) to when you leave, you are made to feel so welcome.

Jean and his team have created a hidden gem and have done this by excellent service and a very impressive Riad. I simply communicated via e-mail with Jean and he arranged everything including the pick up from the Airport.
The accommodation is clean, comfortable and very stylish and if you stay in the Dune room the bath tub is massive! Ideal for Valentine’s Day!

Excellent value for money and even with the additional drinks we had every night.

The roof terrace is fantastic. A great sun trap with very comfortable loungers and cushions.

You must stay here if you can. Well done Riad Dar One.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

Wonderfully located Riad with stylish interiors and very attentive staff.
Wish I'd have splashed out and upgraded but our standard room was still more than lovely.
The riad was impeccable clean and the owner has great taste (he is also extremely lovely and very helpful).
Lovely roof terrace provides ideal location for a delicious breakfast in the sunshine. Sumptuous lounge and crackling fire made the evenings a delight.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

We just returned from Morocco and while I have never written a review on Trip Advisor, I was more than compelled to do so for Riad Dar One in Marrakech.

We spent 3 nights at Dar One and it was one of the best experiences I have ever had. Dar One was an oasis within the glorious craziness of Marrakech and was always such a calm and peaceful place to return to. On our long and treacherous drive back from Erg Chebbi, all we could think about was getting to Dar One.

Jean Peres and his entire team were amazing from start to finish. Jean communicated with us so well from my first email and upon our arrival, had a driver at the airport and then once we got to Dar One, everything was perfect. Abdel, Amina, Meriam, Asma, Hicham and everyone made us feel so at home. From the food to the rooms to the riad itself, It is truly a wonderful place to stay. I can't imagine what our time in Marrakech would have been like without them!

I cannot say enough about how great this place is. Dar One will forever be our home in Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.